Blade’s Story: A Carter Reservoir Mustang by Jean Bilodeaux

It was May 6, 2007 when we first saw him, while finishing an afternoon horseback ride on the public lands east of Cedarville. Several bands of mustangs were ranging in this part of

the BLM’s 23,000+ acre Carter Reservoir Wild horse herd management area.  Colts cavorting with their peers, mares munching on the dried grasses, while the lead mare and stallion kept

watch for danger was a sight to watch. It was a comforting sight to see these “families” of buckskins, bays, blacks and paints existing so well in this high desert wilderness.

Riding back to our trailer he was spotted, an unusual movement on the hillside in front of us that didn’t quite fit in. Mingling with a group of five cows was a slightly taller, browner

shape, watching us. Studying the shape, we could see he was a young bay stallion. He appeared to be about two years old, probably run off from his parent herd by the alpha stallion….

This amazing story by Jean Bilodeaux of one wild horse stallion is continued here:  Part 1, Part 2 Part 3, Part 4 with photos by Darice Massey and Jean Bilodeaux

58 Responses to “Blade’s Story: A Carter Reservoir Mustang by Jean Bilodeaux”

  1. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Well, that about does me in. I can’t stop BLM. They kill our horses. They kill our spirits doing it. mar

  2. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    What really got me a couple weeks ago was when BLM shot the stallion who had managed to survive a broken leg. Imagine destroying a survivor like that! Blade was a survivor and in the hands of BLM he died. Too many wonderful individuals are dying. Let’s end the reign of BLM this Spring once and for all. mar

  3. sandra longley Says:

    Thank you Jean, these individual stories are so very important..as in any “war” there must be a face and a life and a picture-so that people can identify with an atrocity…..because it is truly a ‘war” -everyone must remember wars are won by individual battles-taking one hill at a time-and sometimes taking it more than once..and thats the way this will be…When the public finally becomes so sickened by the pictures, that politicians jobs are threatened..someone will stop it..But lets keep in mind-the war will not be won at that point until we change the “whole system” of managing the wild horses-there is alot of work to do after that-lands, grazing and water are going to have to be preserved-not destroyed-so that all the wild animals can survive.

  4. true15 Says:

    Thank you for sharing. Blade’s spirit as well as his family will be forever in my thoughts and prayers.
    Although a person familiar with the horse makes a plea to save the animal, BLM ignores the request and kills him anyway.
    Cruelty at its best.
    Blade’s spirit runs free to inspire us all.

  5. LoriProphoto Says:

    I just dont have any words .. these stories just break my heart. How much more do we have to see these horses endure before we succeed in our struggle to have them free and for people that can do something or have the means to stop these things to see what is happening.

  6. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    THE ONLY WAY WE CAN HELP IS TO TAKE THESE STORIES TO THE PUBLIC. WE HAVE THE POWER AND RIGHT IS ON OUR SIDE.

  7. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    THIS STORY CAN BE SENT OUT TO NEWSPAPERS AND CAN GO INTO LETTERS TO THE EDITOR.

  8. Michelle Anderson Says:

    The first story about Blade brought tears to my eyes and then anger in my heart. This is totaly wrong. These horses have a right to live and not be bullied by the BLM helicopter piliots. I can almost imagine how that pilot thought he was above all and having a gay ole time scaring and running all of these horses to their death. I realize we do need some and I use the word lightly, organization. But murdering these horses is wrong and is not the answer.

  9. jan eaker Says:

    These horses absolutely embody what is “supposed” to be the true spirit of America. Unfortunately, there’s more of the BLM ways in America than what this country should be.
    Why won’t this end?

  10. Sandra Miller Says:

    Jean, I hope you will sometime find the time in your life to turn the story of Blade into a full fledged novel for young readers. It would not need to be confined to the real story as you have told it here, but it could soar into other adventures for Blade which would be true to his character as you have developed it in this account. You would make us all so much happier if you would do this, because the story as it really exists is so painful for everyone to read. Blade should live on to have other heroic adventures or my heart will simply break! You would feel better, too, to lift him up from death and return him to his range with his family on the printed page. It would be justice for Blade!
    Blade is the kind of horse my sister and I read about many, many years ago in late elementary school. How else do you think someone from Indiana came to know about the mustangs of the West and would be sitting here tonight writing this to you? Reach the children and you will create a protective army for years for the wild horses and burros of the West! We must keep the stories going, because it is all too apparent that the wild horses and burros will always need protection, always need defending, and always need advocates if they are to survive! Thank you for sharing – on a more pragmatic and practical level, I am sure what you have written will help win what Sandra Longley so aptly calls “the war”.

  11. Jennifer Gage Says:

    Thank you for sharing Blade’s amazing life. We everyone who has these stories to keep coming forward to give us the continued inspiration to keep moving forward. And Sandra is right about the war being won one battle at a time. By giving this war its individual “heroes” the public will identify with the plight of the mustangs. Heartwrenching story but these must be told. I will forever remember this tough little mustang and his family. If only we as humans could take lessons from our majestic wild horses, we would be so much wiser.

  12. Lisa LeBlanc Says:

    I have to say it here so I don’t do it there:
    Violence, my friends.
    I am a nice lady – got dogs & cats & horses & kids & grandkids; all of them seem to find my company appealing. I have, on one occasion or another, stood up for another human without too much thought because I am how God made me, and I do as I am bid.
    But these people – these evil, soulless bastards – make me weep with rage and I can feel the blood pounding in my ears and I hate them and their mindless cruelty and idiocy. And I want to do violence.
    I have chosen a course to fight for these animals, and so I can’t do the awful things I would like to.
    I apologize for saying this here, but you are my friends and we are kindreds and if I can’t tell you, who can I tell?
    I have decided that, when I am too old to be of any use, I’m going to get a slingshot and ping Bob Abbey and Ken Salazar in their heads. Then I’m going to walk into the Calico Complex and never be heard from again.
    And again, my apologies.

    • sandra longley Says:

      We all have those momments lisa..and its why I so admired Elyse for her work at the Calico roundup..I would have blown my top..And instead of getting those videos out and telling their story..It would have been about the crazy horselover-who went beserk…!!!!

    • LoriProphoto Says:

      Lisa I completely understand, no apologies needed. As Sandra says, I so admire these people who can control their emotions, there are many of them Elyse, Carol Walker, Ginger, Craig Downer and too many to mention who must die inside every time they see these awful things but they stand fast, control their emotions and record them so that we can use the information. I would have been a raving lunatic by now. As it is I sit and cry most of the day while I read and write and I am sure my friends think I am a bit crazy but this is such a strong mission for me that they will just have to live with it. I refuse the change my beliefs for others and I believe that we can make a difference.

      • Marilyn Wargo Says:

        Lori and sandra, everyone cries at the roundups. . mar

      • LoriProphoto Says:

        Mar I have no doubt that they do, but I fear that I would not be able to do it quietly and with control, I dont have their strength, I am just too emotional, I would probably make a spectacle of myself and that would not do the horses any good 😦 .

      • Marilyn Wargo Says:

        I do understand… most people are so traumatized by these things they would not dream of going and watching. It is trauma you feel. People who are extremely dedicated, some have been to roundups and some have not, have been sickened by the the constant news of the deaths from Fallon. It is what we must experience to get through to the world to make change. All of us have been hurt by this. BLM be damned… imo, mar

      • Kathleen Says:

        God bless those who go to witness and tell the truth. I know I am not strong enough to do that but I can and will continue to tell their stories.

        Thank you for all you give, for all you endure, for the heartbreak you bear up under, dear observers. Without you, these horses would not have a whisper of a chance – you folks all deserve gold medals for the very heavy burden of your work.

  13. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    THE HORSES AND FOALS THAT THEY HAVE KILLED CAN NO LONGER BE HURT OR FEEL PAIN. THE ONES THAT HAVE CAUSED THE ABUSE WILL HAVE TO LIVE WITH WHAT THEY HAVE DONE. THEY MADE THEIR CHOICE. WHEN THEY ARE OLD AND HELPLESS THEY WILL HAVE SOME LOVELY MEMORIES, WON’T THEY, BECAUSE THAT IS ALL THAT WE TAKE WITH US FROM THIS LIFE.
    WE HAVE TO KEEP PRESSING ON AND NOT LET UP. WILD HORSE ANNIE DID AND SO WILL WE.

  14. Sandra Miller Says:

    Lisa, you will never be so old to be of no use! And this is going to be a long battle! We may all outlive the tenures of Bob Abbey and Ken Salazar. They are only figureheads representing a whole culture of cattlemen in the West who will protect the use of our Public Lands for their Welfare Cattle in every way possible. Go through Jean’s calculations. In her final analysis the whole 23,000 acre Carter Reservoir Wild Horse Herd Management Area, which had 157 wild horses before the roundup, has been reduced to a population of 36 wild horses. The 157 ” extremely destructive” wild horses were sharing this area with 4,000 antelope, 2.500 mule deer, 110 big horn sheep, and a few elk, the equivalent of 1000 cows in big game animals (BLM uses 6 antelope/deer= 1 cow or horse) – as well as 758 head of Welfare Cattle.
    These 157 unbelievably destructive (and I emphasize the word, “unbelievably”, because, in reality, this is unbelievable!) had to be reduced to 36 wild horses to save the range and water of 23,000 acres from utter destruction! You see, these people are not even sane when it comes to the wild horses and burros. These are crazy people! This is exactly the conclusion I came to about the BLM weeks ago when I read the notes obtained through the Freedom of Information Act from their meetings in recent years about killing all the wild horses in holding (these notes are published on the Animal Law Coalition site). Getting rid of Bob Abbey and Ken Salazar will not solve the problem. This is a whole culture of craziness. We sane citizens of the United States, who also happen to love horses, will win this battle in the courts and by education of the general public. In the meantime, Lisa, I understand everything you have said. I just sit in front of my computer and type and cry as I go.

    I have an idea. Defender’s of Wildlife has now launched (as of this morning) a new campaign to save the reintroduced wolves, no longer on the endangered species list – which the same crazies are now having competitions in their states to shoot on sight. I am going to write to Rodger Schlickeisen, President of Defenders, and tell him that I will send him five dollars a month for a year in one lump sum(which is what he wants from me today) if he will prove to me that he has a real commitment to saving wildlife by joining our campaign to save the wild horses and the burros of the West. This like throwing a large stone into the center of a pond – who knows what kinds of ripples it may create!

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      Sandra, A a member of Defenders since the early 70s I am glad to hear you will try this. There is a description of wild horses at the Forest Service web as a reintroduced native species. At some point the consensus must be acceptance of this fact. But if you can find it, as we had it on the blog maybe in October, use it if you want. RT has a post on the prehistoric evidence and DNA. Defenders are resisting this and should say why they do not accept scientific evidence. With the world shrinking and habitats disappearing I do not understand where wildlife proponents expect the horses will go. They are here to stay. You can also throw in that many of us are strong wolf and bison supporters and we recognize the use of helicopters to abuse and kill them as well. Just suggestions… mar

    • Karen L. Says:

      Here’s the paper by Kirkpatrick and Fazio presented to Congress in support of equines as a native species.

      Click to access Wild_Horses_as_Native_North_American_Wildlife.pdf

    • Kathleen Says:

      Sandra,
      Who is Jean and where can I read her analysis? Also, may I quote your comment here on my facebook page and within a group of nearly 900 advocates on a facebook group? I think it’s very well written and a specific example of BLM lunacy that could translate well for those not deeply involved yet still concerned. I’d friend you facebook but there are a bazillion Sandra Millers on there…. wish there was a way advocates here could easily connect in other places, but there is that publishing of emails that is so problematic…

  15. Sandra Miller Says:

    This is what I have just posted on Defenders web site. I had to create an account for myself, but it was not difficult. Marlyn, maybe you could do the same. Bring in the ideas you have presented above – I was working on the Defenders site when you posted them and so was not able to take your ideas into consideration. I said:

    Dear Mr. Schlickeinsen:
    I have just received your latest email about saving the reintroduced wolves in the West from competitive contests to shoot them on sight. I have signed your petition. You have now asked for $5.00 per month. I still have my Wolf Adoption Certificate of many years ago posted on my bulletin board. I recognize wolves as an important predator, necessary to control the growth of wild populations. Unfortunately, agricultural interests (cattlemen and sheep men)in the West dominate the western landscape and do not agree.
    I have been working with Cloud Foundation to help save the wild horses and burros that were assigned to the Public Lands in 1971 in 10 western states from total destruction by the DOI/BLM. For some reason that I do NOT understand, wildlife organizations (for example, the Sierra Club of Nevada) refuse to recognize these animals as wild and extend to them the same activism they give to other wildlife.
    I have been a supporter of wildlife all my life. Right now the Giant Canada geese
    in my suburban neighborhood are arguing over nesting areas in my backyard. Would you trust my judgment and at least look into the issue of saving the wild horses and burros of the West from total annihilation under the management of the BLM? If you will look into this matter and consider supporting the existence of the wild horses and burros on our Public Lands, where they legally belong but where they are being managed to extinction by the BLM, I will pledge to you a lump sum of 1 year of $5.00 a month, or $60.00, for your wolf campaign. The wild horses and burros must come under the same natural control as all wildlife, and the wolves are part of this control. I have always understood this. Please give the issue of the wild horses and burros your attention. Do not discount these wild animals for exactly the same reasons they are detested by agricultural interests (who think of them as “range maggots”). In Defense of Animals is challenging this issue in court. We are fighting for the wild horses and burros on every front. Please consider helping us!

  16. Ronnie Says:

    Please Lord…my Guardian Angels…help me to be able to get to Washington, DC, March 25, 2010.

    Make this the largest number of protesters…in their face…

    In DC where the brutality to our wild horses, pregnant mares, foals, burros, originates by the stroke of a pen on paper in plush offices.

    The writers never to see the brutality of the helicopter, a mare and foal with umbilical cord still attached chased low by helicopter. Foals and injured foals chased. Pregnant mares chased. Horses lame from running chased. All by helicopter with those at the controls getting their kicks terrorizing the animals…flying low…”buzzing” the terrorized innocents. I wonder how many horses have been nicked by the helicopter platform?!

    ~Horses immediately penned and onto trailers. Terror, fighting to GET OUT and return to HOME.
    ~”Freedom’s” drastic, with all his will and strength, up and over and through the barbed wire, running FREE back to the hills. But (!) stopping to look back for his family.
    ~Cloud freed, but herding his mares trying to get the rest from the BLM pens.
    ~The stallion escaping the pens but risking capture waiting, looking towards his herd, penned by BLM.
    ~The white horse fighting getting into the trailer.

    This is NOT animal “instinctual” behavior!
    This is animal INTELLIGENCE!
    This is animal REASONING!
    This is animal CARING!
    This is animal FAMILY!
    This is animal DESPERATION!
    This is animal COURAGE!

    Let us take from these Wild Horses. They are showing us the way.
    COURAGE!

    Let those in power in DC see from our huge banners what happens. The MORE GRAPHIC THE BETTER.
    No more concerned about “touchy-feely” emotions of those seeing REALITY! Let them see terror, blood, dying…dead!

    ~A screen up to show videos of what happens!
    ~Huge Banners.
    ~Huge Placards/Posters.
    ~Speakers with microphones telling of the injustice, cruelty, DC!
    ~Audio of sounds of horses/foals in pens…terror…
    ~OF THE CATTLEMEN & CATTLE TOO!
    ~Horses dying outside of a fence where cattle drink!
    ~Horses waiting for water purposely not provided by the BLM to the man-made ponds and aluminum water basins.
    ~Mare fallen from exhaustion, lame, bloody face>>>shot.
    ~Foals dying. Hooves ripped off like fingernails. Agony. Abandoned.
    ~Mares aborting…sacks intact, foal unable to get out…dies.
    ~Vet with a smile, hitting just captured, terrorized, horse in pen!!
    ~BLM WITH GUNS! GUNS! FOR THE PUBLIC!! DARK AGES. THIRD WORLD MENTALITY!

    Pray we can go to DC in massive numbers. In March 2008 over 200 met in DC for anti-horse slaughter. We can do this too. Not easy, I know. But it is time. And with the back-ups of all the previous protests across the country, TV coverage (Good Morning America), great articles, petitions, petitions, petitions, calls, letters, Steve Long, George Knapp, celebrities… We are well-prepared for a massive show in DC. All stops out! This is a holocaust. The “Trail of Tears.”

    It-Is-Time. The Wild Horses are OUR horses. The Public Lands are OUR lands. The Public Lands are the Wild Horses Stolen Lands. The BLM, DOI, Salaczar all employed by us!

    Amen & Amazing Grace
    Very Sincerely

  17. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Ronnie, the time for a Big Rally is coming…

    But if you cannot be in DC March 25th have a protest where you are in support of the DC efforts…mar

  18. sandra longley Says:

    http://www.theprairiestar.com/articles/2010/02/25/ag_news/opinion/edit12.txt
    this is an article by a paper in Montana..that you should read-out this morning..and comment on..this is the kind of disinformation being put out by the cattle industry..Take them on…every time a story like this is published..it says there is a 48 hour moderation..who knows if they will print our comments…make them anyway

    • LoriProphoto Says:

      Sandra they have already posted yours, it will be interesting to see if they post mine. Hope we get more takers on this one, this guy is really a piece of work!

  19. sandra longley Says:

    I think we MUST demand that no pregnant mares be processed until after they have foaled..The added stress of being run in the chutes is sure to be causeing more abortions. I am going to talk to T. Thompson, who is talking to the BLM personel and ask that she pass that on, and ask that they hold off.

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      We have been, they are being processed by area they came from. I do not know if BLM will be cautious and wait or not. I doubt it. We are expecting more foals lost and mares, too. This is ugly and BLM is killing our horses for expediency. mar

  20. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    I AM POSTING THIS HERE SO YOU WILL ALL SEE IT–IT IS FROM SEPT

    This was on an Idaho blog called:Idaho Samizdat
    In Montana the uranium mines are in the Pryor Mountains of Carbon County and include 1,400 acres. There are five previously productive mines; Dandy, Marie, Old Glory, Sandra and Swamp Frog Mines.

    The company said it will buy back outstanding stock and change the name of Uranium Mining & Exploration Projects to Skyline Uranium Corporation and will reorganize a board of directors by March NOW WE ARE LEARNING THAT SKYLINE IS AFFILIATED W/ UNITED EMIRITES. SEE LINK BELOW HERE FOR MORE INFO:

    http://www.venturereturns.com/company_deals.php?mandaid=14855

    .

    AS YOU CAN SEE SUPPLY AND DEMAND CAUSE THE URANIUM MARKET TO FLUCUATE IN PRICE:

    ‘Security of supply’ premium with focus on U.S. uranium projects. President-elect Barack Obama supports greater nuclear energy production in the U.S. There’s just one problem: Virtually all uranium – a strategic metal – has to be imported today. The U.S. is using 55 million pounds
    One measure of this move is the Toll Cross Junior Uranium Index, a broad-based index. It peaked at about 1,000 in April 2007.
    The next 1-1/2 years brought a ferocious downturn which ended with the Index at 106 on November 20, 2008. Now it’s back up to 164 as of January 16 — a 55% move in the last 2 months. Really quality uranium stocks might well have exceptional blue sky just now, and might make a lot of money for smart investors who can make the right pick.annually, but producing only 4 – 5 million pounds
    ] Resources and reserves
    Current economic uranium resources will last for over 100 years at 2006 consumption rates, while it is expected there is twice that amount awaiting discovery. With reprocessing and recycling, the reserves are good for thousands of years.[41] It is estimated that 5.5 million tonnes of uranium ore reserves are economically viable at US$59/lb,[41] while 35 million tonnes are classed as mineral resources (reasonable prospects for eventual economic extraction).[42] An additional 4.6 billion tonnes of uranium are estimated to be in sea water (Japanese scientists in the 1980s showed that extraction of uranium from sea water using ion exchangers was feasible).[43][44]

    Exploration for uranium is increasing with US$200 million being spent world wide in 2005, a 54% increase on the previous year.[42] This trend continued through 2006, when expenditure on exploration rocketed to over $774 million, an increase of over 250% compared to 2004. The OECD Nuclear Energy Agency said exploration figures for 2007 would likely match those for 2006.[41]

    As you read below-you can see why uranium is so attractive for a US source if energy.The question in conflict has been how safe is it really?Esp. when handling the waste.

    scale of energy is simply amazing. Here’s a breakdown you might remember from before:

    1 kg of firewood equals about 1kWh of electricity.

    1 kg of coal or oil comes out to about 3 or 4 kWh of electricity.

    And 1 kg of natural uranium equals nearly 50,000 kWh of electricity

    As you read this article below(from 2003) you can se they tell of High Radiation levels in the Pryor Mountains.That isn’t good for anyone to be near!

    Abandoned mines in Pryor Mountains
    High radiation levels from abandoned uranium mines also found in Pryor Mountains (Montana) near Bighorn Canyon
    High levels of radioactivity found at abandoned uranium mines in the Pryor Mountains has prompted the Custer National Forest to close one area and the Bureau of Land Management to consider closures at other nearby sites.
    The Forest Service took radiation readings at the Sandra and Old Glory mines after an abandoned mines inventory suggested they may have high radiation levels. The mines are just west of Crooked Creek above Demijohn Hollow and southeast of the Red Pryor Ice Cave. At the Sandra Mine, the Forest Service found readings that ranged from 1.8 times the natural background level to 369 times.
    After finding the high radiation levels, the Forest Service notified the BLM. BLM lands in the Pryors also contain abandoned uranium mines. On July 1, the BLM took readings at the Marie, Lisbon and Dandy mine sites, which are just south of the mines on Forest Service land. The highest readings were found at the Lisbon Mine, where radiation near the mouth of the mine measured 2 rems per hour presumably should read 2 millirems per hour], said Chuck Ward, a BLM ranger.

    FOLLOW THE MONEY TRAIL AND YOU WILL FIND THE TRUE “CULPRITS” IN THIS STORY:

    IF YOU WANT TO BLAME SOMEONE FOR URANIUM EXPLORATION-LOOK NO FURTHER THAN YOUR LOCAL LEGISLATORS ( .THEY USE THE BLM OFFICIALS AS “PATSIES”SINCE EVERYONE DISLIKES THEM ALREADY.)THE BLM ARE ‘ APPOINTED ‘OFFICIALS WHERE AS OUR POLITICIANS ARE’ ELECTED ‘OFFICIALS.AND WE KNOW WHO PULLS THEIR STRINGS.THEY ARE BASICALLY “PUPPETS” OF THE GREEDY, CONTROLLING LOBBYISTS.THE SEARCH/DRILLING FOR ENERGY IS THE REAL REASON THIS ADMINISTRATION IS CLEARING OUR LANDS OF WILDHORSES. I CLEARLY BELIEVE THIS IS WHY THE PRESIDENT DOESN’T “STEP UP TO THE PLATE.”CALL YOUR SENATORS AND REPRESENTATIVES-THEY MAKE THE LAWS-NOT THE BLM!

    As you’ll read below in this link-Salazar( AN APPOINTED OFFICIAL) actually did a “2 yr block” on mining leases in Grand Canyon area.It was several members of Congress(ELECTED OFFICIALS) who were trying to push it through. Today-We import 90% of all the uranium that we currently use in this country.You can see why Congress is so attracted to exploring/mining it here.

    http://www.ask.com/bar?q=how+much+uranium+does+the+United+States+import+our+year%3F&page=1&qsrc=19&ab=2&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.cattlenetwork.com%2FSalazar-Delivers-Devastating-Blow-To-Utah—Arizona-Economies%2F2009-07-20%2FArticle.aspx%3Foid%3D484246

    As you will read below here-Russia (one of our big suppliers of uranium-will quit exporting it to us in the yr 2013) and our demand will keep increasing every year.I don’t think I have to spell it out for everybody.It is obvious what a valuable commodity that uranium as become.

    Resolved Question

    How much of our uranium does the United States import?
    Since uranium is a finite resource, where will we get it when numerous other countries also want it? How many of these countries are our friends? What will be the cost? What will these other countries do with their waste?

    The simplest answer is “almost all of it”. Canada and Russia are our biggest suppliers with each having about half the market. Fortunately, Russia’s uranium is coming from their dismantled nuclear weapons while Canada is getting it out of the ground. The known reserves in the world are adequate for hundreds of years. Reprocessing spent fuel will extend that for hundreds of more years. Breeding U-238 in fast reactors will extend that indefinitely.

    If you are desperate enough, you can get uranium out of ocean water where it exists at about 0.5 ppb.

    Canada is our friend and so is Australia. Kazakhstan is trying to enter the market, China has some reserves, so does Brazil, Nigeria, South Africa, and various other countries. As minerals go, it is fairly easy to find. Russia will stop supplying the US in 2013 when the current agreement expires. Some of these countries are our friends, some aren’t, but we do business with them anyway.

    The cost of uranium is less than 10% of the operating cost of a nuclear power plant. Paying the salaries of the workers is the highest cost.

    Countries will handle their waste however they decide. Uranium came from the ground and can very easily go back into the ground without putting anyone at risk any more than it did before it was dug up. There is nothing magic about it. If a country mishandles their waste, chemical, biological, or nuclear, they will have many more problems with their chemical wastes than anything nuclear.
    Source(s):

    • Janet Ferguson Says:

      It would be interesting to get an objective reading of those high levels of radiation they are talking about in the Pryors.

      Any excuse to clear out horses & people so they can do whatever they want?

      This is quite interesting!

  21. sandra longley Says:

    http://www.southbendtribune.com/article/20100227/Opinion/2270350/1064/Opinion

    new article today by Kaye Bauer-an observer- in Indiana paper..give support with comments..It is good to see articles starting to spred across the united states

  22. Sandra Miller Says:

    You have scooped me, Sandra! I just read Kaye Bauer’s “Viewpoint” in this morning’s “South Bend Tribune” and came to the Blog to report it to everyone. When Cloud Foundation posted the information on the Blog (last month, I think), encouraging everyone to contact their local newspapers, Kaye commented that she had not had success getting anything into the “Tribune” and was glad to hear that my “Voice of the People” contribution had been accepted (it was published 2/10/2010). It was very interesting to read that her son, Bob Bauer, has been in Nevada and Wyoming as a volunteer monitoring wild horse roundup and holding conditions. Therefore, as you can imagine, her long article is 100% favorable to the wild horses and burros. She is from the small town of Bristol, Indiana, which is in Elkhart County, one county east of St. Joseph (South Bend). Both South Bend and Bristol are very close to the Indiana-Michigan State Line. It has been my hope that everything presented in the “Tribune” about this issue will attract those who will support us, but not serve as a magnet for those who just want to argue and be nasty. So far, my submission did not generate any bad vibes, and I am hoping the same will be true for Kaye’s!

  23. sandra longley Says:

    Nasty comments give us the opportunity to counter their arguments-with good hard facts and common sense…You know when they quit coming…we are winning the argument..but there will always be knuckleheads!

  24. Sandra Miller Says:

    I know that, Sandra, but all that “noise” confuses the poor citizen who knows NOTHING about the issue, and that is a very good description of most of the people in the “Tribune’s” distribution area. In the West it is much different – people have heard about this issue lots over the years, I’m sure, and a good, spirited argument lets those listening evaluate and come to their own conclusions. We have so much good information from research over the months that our arguments are pretty effective – I notice, for instance, that “Ray” disappeared from our Comment section and never returned. I don’t know what he learned, though – he probably continues to believe as he always has, but has learned not to argue with people who are so well prepared!

    • Janet Ferguson Says:

      But don’t forget the “noise” will help the undecided DECIDE TO SUPPORT THE WILD HORSES AND BURROS! This is how they will learn, reading all the “noise!”

  25. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    JEAN’S STORY–SO ELOQUENTLY WRITTEN–THOSE THAT CAN, COPY IT AND SEND IT TO THE NEWSPAPERS. THAT WILL HELP END CONFUSION. HERE IS THE STORY, COMPLETE EYEWITNESS ACCOUNT. FACT AND EMOTION COMING TOGETHER IN SUCH A WAY THAT NO ARGUMENT NEEDS TO BE MADE.

  26. Sandra Miller Says:

    Louie, if you really want to submit a poignant story to the paper, the photo of Blade confined in holding after the roundup with his yearling pressed against his left side and his palomino mare pressed against his right side should go too. It is in Part 2. You know, I assume Jean was right there in order to take that picture – how terrible to be so close, know so much about this horse family which was not known or cared about by the BLM, and be helpless to do anything about it. Yet, Jean has continued to do something about it after all – write a report which I have used a couple times now to drive home the point that it is absolutely ludicrous to accuse 157 horses of ruining the range and water sources on 23,000 acres used by 4,000 antelope, 2,500 mule deer, 110 bighorn sheep, a few elk, and 758 head of cattle. I can’t help but think, and now I’m getting upset, that Blade’s death was actually divine intervention. After the pounding his shoulder had taken in the roundup, would it have been possible to repair that even if one wished to do so? They would have put him down. He had already lost his family. I just see the Hand of God closing over Blade in a way of saying to the BLM, “Now he is Mine, not yours.” If I were part of the BLM, I would take that death as a warning!

    • sandra longley Says:

      LOL..yeah and it kind of dispels the myth, we are just a bunch of do-gooders looking for any cause to snivel over..he might have thought he stepped into a wad of rattlesnakes….

  27. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    SANDRA– HAVE SENT THE WHOLE THING. PROBABLY THERE ARE MANY THAT ARE DOING THE SAME. JEAN’S CHRONICLE NEEDS TO GO IN AS MANY DIRECTIONS AS POSSIBLE.

  28. Sandra Miller Says:

    Good thinking, Louie. I agree!

  29. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    ALSO, I THINK IT WOULD BE GOOD TO ADD THE PIECE THAT IS POSTED ON THE DECEMBER BLOG–GIVES THE BACKGROUND. FOR THOSE THAT ARE NEW HERE:
    Stealth Roundup Conducted by BLM while Advocates Sat in Advisory Board Meeting
    December 13, 2009

  30. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    SANDRA, SPEAKING OF DO-GOODERS–HAVE YOU RUN INTO THE ARGUMENT THROWN OUT THAT WE SHOULD BE FEEDING HUNGRY CHILDREN? I FORGET WHICH ONE THAT WAS IN. WHEN THERE IS NOTHING ELSE TO COUNTER WITH, THEY USE THAT. I BELIEVE IT IS THE MOTHER INSTINCT THAT IS DRIVING THIS MOVEMENT–THAT INSTINCT THAT FIGHTS LIKE A TIGER FOR SOMETHING THAT IS VULNERABLE AND CAN’T FIGHT BACK.

    • sandra longley Says:

      There are organizations across the world including the united nations, that address that issue, and rightly so, the horses have few to look out for their rights…That is what the BLM is supposed to do already getting our tax dollars to do so..we are demanding better management of our funds, use that money to improve the forage and put up windmills for water, if they are really lacking in those areas-do not use our money to warehouse them..that would be like taking children away from their parents and putting them in an orphanage because there parents couldn’t feed them.

  31. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    DO YOU EVER WONDER IF ANY OF THOSE PEOPLE HAD MOTHERS?

  32. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    SANDRA, I COMMENTED IN THE MONTANA PAPER THAT YOU MENTIONED–COMMENT HAS TO BE CHECKED OUT FIRST–DON’T KNOW WHETHER THEY WILL PRINT IT.

  33. Barb S Says:

    PBS just had an excellent program concerning the wolves and their endangered species status. Bison were mentioned but nothing about wild horses. Good place to make some comments at this site about the wild horses since most of the wolve’s problems seem to stem from the ranchers also.
    http://www.pbs.org/now/shows/609/index.html#viewerComments

    • jan eaker Says:

      Barb, went to this site and commented, also inserted horses into the mix, hope they post it, good story though

    • LoriProphoto Says:

      I also just went there and added my 2 cents worth, drawing a bit of attention to the Mustangs and the parallels namely Our very own Ken “SalaCzar” and total disregard for animals wild or other.

  34. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    TAKING A HARD LOOK AT THINGS–JUST ABOUT ALL OF THE PROBLEMS LEAD BACK TO THE SAME SOURCE–THE SAME CABINET AND ALL OF THE DEPARTMENTS UNDER IT.

  35. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    CHECKED BACK ON THE PRAIRIE STAR–THEY STILL HAVE NOT PRINTED MY LETTER, BUT I SEE FOUR OF OURS.

  36. Sandra Miller Says:

    Kathleen, Jean is Jean Bilodeaux and her 4 part report is the subject of this posting – “Blade’s Story: a Carter Reservoir Mustang by Jean Bilodeaux”. Scroll down to the end of the article, just above the two horses pictures, where it says “Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4”. It is a four part series of articles, starting with the story of Blade himself. It will break you heart – prepare yourself. We have two Sandra’s commenting, Sandra Longley and I, so I am always like the student in class who says, “Do you mean me?’, but you have used my last name – good! Anyone may use anything I write with my name – anything. I have always felt like writing on the Internet was like putting a message in a bottle and throwing it into the ocean – you will never know where it will end up, so write for publication! I am not on Facebook – I have so many irons in the fire and have no time for anything except the projects I choose, like this one. You can email me, though – semiller12@gmail.com. I have commented several times under this posting – which one did you mean? I think you must be referring to the BLM’s assertion that the 157 horses had to be reduced to 36 because they destroyed the land and water resources on 23,000 acres of land also inhabited by a large number of wild animals and 758 cows. It is simply ridiculous. I think it is a good example of determined people starting out with an agenda and trying to make all information fit into their preconceived notions – only, that whole process has gotten so out of hand at the BLM that we can only marvel that they would even say such things, to say nothing of believing their own information!
    The only concern I have about my email address is getting a lot of junk! I try to lead a very quiet, uncomplicated life so I can do worthwhile things like this without being bothered. I don’t feel threatened by anyone having my address.

  37. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    THE PRAIRIE STAR DID PRINT ALL OF OUR LETTERS. I MADE MYSELF MAD ALL OVER AGAIN JUST READING THEM.

  38. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    LORI, IF YOU FEEL LIKE IT, SUBMIT IT AGAIN.

Leave a comment