Wild Horses Saved From Slaughter

GREAT NEWS! New AP article: ‘Activists keep Nev. wild horses from going to slaughter!’– these are the ‘estray’ horses BLM rounded up and turned over to NV dept. of Agriculture last month. Due to fast action and the generosity of Ellie Price Phipps these horses have a bright future. Bravo all and thank you. http://bit.ly/savedFromSlaughter

15 Responses to “Wild Horses Saved From Slaughter”

  1. Lisa LeBlanc Says:

    Absolutely Awesome.

  2. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    THERE ARE ANGELS ON THE EARTH–HARD AT WORK.

  3. jan eaker Says:

    This is absolutely wonderful news, saw it this morning on the internet, Great also that these stories are making headlines in major outlets.

  4. Good News: 175 Wild Horses Saved from Slaughter « Straight from the Horse's Heart Says:

    […] Wild Horses Saved From Slaughter (thecloudfoundation.wordpress.com) […]

  5. Barbara Warner Says:

    I great deal of credit goes to Layra Bell who I think took the photo that is posted. She took pictures until she was ordered off of the propert. Many of these horses have dorsal and leg stripes and other wild horse characteristics.

  6. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    THESE WOMEN WARRIORS HAVE MORE GUTS THAN DO THE MEN WHO ARE WORKING FOR THE GOVERNMENT–THEY HAVE ARMED GUARDS BACKING THEM, DON’T THEY?

  7. true15 Says:

    Great news from wonderful people.

  8. Margaret Says:

    Fantabulous!

    There is another horse warrior in Montana who managed to talk some guy into donating his mustang to her ranch.

    He had just lost his property and was going to send his mustang to slaughter. Fortunately the brand inspector intervened cause the guy didn’t have title yet (a month shy). Because of this woman’s relationship with local BLM she was able to take the horse–as long as the horse would remain in the county until title has been formerly transfered.

    It was a TOTAL WIN for all parties. BLM came off looking good (hurrah for this particular office in Montana–they thought of the welfare of the horse before anything else), the cowboy learned that rehoming was a possibility he had NEVER considered and barb was able to save a wild one from a totally ugly fate.

  9. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    MARGARET, GLAD YOU’RE BACK. YOU ARE MUCH NEEDED HERE. ARE YOU TYPING WITH BOTH HANDS NOW? HOW DID YOUR SURGERY GO?

  10. Margaret Says:

    I’m doing okay. Yes, I’m typing with BOTH hands. Man at first it was hard. Then my muscles started loosing up and getting stronger–and now I can type. I can even drive with just my left hand!

    I have the best ortho in my county. I knew I was in safe hands–LITERALLY. It would just be a matter of time before I could do things again.

    I’m off to Cloud in a few weeks. I can so hardly wait. I even named the Bolder’s little white colt–Thunderhead. Thunderhead is the fictional son of Flicka. Ken’s mom names the white colt that. He was born white, the son of a black tb stallion and Flicka. He got his coloring from his maternal grandpa.

    One of Ginger’s last posts was about the birth of about 20 new babies up there. I can hardly wait to see them. I swear I won’t know who is who so I’ll need lots of help deciphering who is who when I get back. Heck it’ll be a lot of fun!

  11. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    MARGARET, ENJOY! YOU DESERVE IT. YOU CAN SEE, FIRST HAND WHAT YOU HELPED TO SAVE.

  12. jean Says:

    A great big THANK YOU for answering our prayers!! We do have some wonderful people in this world who have the compassion and respect for all of our beautiful innocent creatures. They go out of their way to do what’s right and they deserve our most respect. Great Job!!

  13. Nora Morbeck Says:

    This is such great news!! HUGS to all involved with saving these horses!!!
    I’m not sure if I fully understand the circumstances, though. If these weren’t BLM horses on public land, why did the BLM round them up? With the BLM’s dismal budget, I was just wondering why it is that they footed the bill for this specific round up. Or wasn’t it the BLM who paid for it? Just curious…

  14. Parker Lewis Says:

    In an issue that is constantly plagued by corruption, backwards logic, and lies, this is some AMAZING news that brings a HUGE smile to my face!

    Congratulations to ALL involved and keep up the good work!

  15. Janet Ferguson Says:

    Did anyone notice a “Carla” (among the comments in this article) who wants to put together a confidential wild horse and burro database?

Leave a Reply

