The Tale of Two Cremello Colts

New blog post from Carol Walker- Wild Hoofbeats

13 Responses to “The Tale of Two Cremello Colts”

  1. Jan Says:

    like that cute little one on the right – reminds me of cloud

  2. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    CAROL, WHAT A WONDERFUL STORY. THANK YOU FOR HELPING THOSE HORSES. IT IS SO GOOD TO HEAR SOMETHING UPLIFTING–WE ALL NEED HEAR ABOUT THE GOOD!

  3. Janet Ferguson Says:

    Thank you for these beautiful images. I think so often of the people who produce beautiful images and am so thankful that so many of you who do so do not take more than they give to these wonderful animals. Enjoy your life with Claro and . . . the darker one. .lol

  4. Linda Says:

    Beautiful story, beautiful images, beautiful families. Thank you Carol. I look forward to many updates on your life with your new “herd”.

  5. Michael J Ahles Says:

    I was out at the Palamino Gulog yesterday where many of the horses that once crowded this terrible place have disappeared. I somehow doubt they have been taken to a better place.
    They like the carrots I bring them and are most curious obout me. I noticed that One horse’s number tag roped around his neck was so tight it was choaking him. They are so afraid of humans from our inhumane treatment of them that even though they eat carrots out of my hands they are understandably quite afraid of being touched. It took me an hour to teach the young choaking horse that I was there to help her if I could and allow me to not only pet him but to loosen the noose around her neck.
    I was a great day for me, and perhaps a better day for horse numbered 6202 as well.

    =
    MJA

  6. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    MICHAEL–YOU ARE DOING SO MUCH GOOD. THANK YOU. YOU DEFINITELY MADE A DIFFERENCE IN THAT HORSE’S DAY.

  7. joette Says:

    Michael you are great, thanks for helping 6202. I wish I could be around to help too. I am stuck in SFV, CA. And thanks to all that can help our mustangs with documentation of this mess!!!

  8. sandra longley Says:

    There are many stories of white mustangs passed down thru the ages..I have been in pursuit of “old” materials books and articles as well as photos of mustangs from back in the day..and recently read the book “The Mustangs” by J. Frank Dobie, which I recomend to everyone interested in the history of mustangs, written in 1934, by Mr Dobie who was born in 1888, and lived during the times of mustangers and who interviewed those born in the 1800s-it is well researched and written in the words and first hand knowledge of the times..I didn’t think I had the time to read it, but could not put it down once i started it..you can find it online at any of the bookdealers..

    • Karen L. Says:

      sandra, I purchased that book in 1976 as part of a research project for a history class. I did not expect to have it pull me in the way it did! As you say, I could not put it down once I started reading. One thing noted fairly early in the book is the fact that “panthers” were known to be mustang predators at that time. I hadn’t thought of that again until just now. Thanks for bringing the book to the attention of the blog.

  9. Jan Says:

    i think the white mustang color originally probably came from spain with the anduslan horses – they are born dark and then turn white – but the cream color is a recessive gene from the chestnut – read that and posted about how cloud was a palomino so it must be the same gene – amazing how nature mixes the genes and produces such a wide variety of color in our wild horses – each one is a masterpiece from the Creator’s hand

  10. Jan Says:

    hi went to amazon and they have the dobie book for sale – 20 dollars new and some are 3 dollars used – paperback i think so you can still buy a copy

Leave a Reply

