Public Opposes SalaZoos

New Press Release:

Public Opposes Salazar Plan to Move Wild Horses East

TAKE ACTION HERE (your comments will be faxed to committee members -thanks to In Defense of Animals)

Read all our press releases online, please share with your local media

76 Responses to “Public Opposes SalaZoos”

  1. Sandra Miller Says:

    I have already participated in this new initiative. Here is the material I wrote to introduce and personalize the message written by IDA:

    Below you will find a letter drawn up by the organization, In Defense of Animals, concerning the funding for the Bureau of Land Management. I have read over this document carefully and I absolutely agree with every word written. Furthermore, since discovering last August about the terrible treatment of our wild horses and burros (which I thought had been living quietly and safely on our Public Lands since the passage of the Wild, Free Roaming Horse and Burro Act of 1971) at the hands of that rogue agency of the DOI, the Bureau of Land Management, I have become an activist in this matter. No amount of spin will talk anyone’s way out of this mess – I have spent hours researching every aspect of the BLM’s treatment of our wild horses and burros, and I have only one statement to make about this agency. These people should be fired, and some of them belong in jail! Do you realize that if I or any of my fellow citizens treated any animals this way, we certainly WOULD BE in jail?! I hold each and every one of the members of this committee fully responsible for any decisions made by the committee as a whole in this matter. I do not take it lightly when my elderly friends refer to the BLM as the “Western Mafia”. There is absolutely no reason in the world to move these horses anywhere. THEY BELONG ON OUR PUBLIC LANDS WHERE LEGISLATION PLACED THEM ALMOST FORTY YEARS AGO, AND THAT IS WHERE THEY SHOULD REMAIN. Please read the following document carefully. Sen. Salazar’s idea of moving the horses to new pastures in the Midwest and Northeast is the most preposterous suggestion I have ever heard. The only reason he wishes to do this is to provide more room for his friends to run more Welfare Cattle and Welfare Sheep on our Public Lands. I expect my elected representatives to fight the dominance of special interests and corporate America, not throw in with them! I certainly hope I have given you some food for thought and some spine in this matter.

  2. sandra longley Says:

    Excellent sandra, I am working on my personal letter and am trying to include all links to stories and research..in hopes they have interns who will look it up and get it to the senators….make it easy for them..I would also encourage everyone to watch the actual comittee meeting online on the 3rd..Entry is on the website for the natural resourses and energy comittee.

  3. Janet Ferguson Says:

    HELP HELP

    How do you use the “personalize” feature — is the stuff in the box the main letter that you add to or is there a main letter somewhere that you can add the stuff in the box to?

    ?????????

    HELP HELP

  4. Janet Ferguson Says:

    Thank you both Sandras, above for letter and info!!!!!

  5. Sandra Miller Says:

    Janet, just put your cursor into the box which has their “prepackaged” message in it wherever you want to insert information and click it to move their information up or down or over. The “stuff in the box” is their main letter that you want to add to – yes. You can move everything around exactly as you can in this box. So, to use this message as an example, I would put my cursor in front of “Janet”, click “enter” a couple times to give myself some room, and just start typing my message. I try to make a transition sentence of some sort at the very end into the content of the form letter. I put all my comments in one lump at the very beginning so the reader is alerted to the fact that this letter is different from the form letters they have been receiving. I suppose they just count those.

  6. Janet Ferguson Says:

    Here’s my first response from contacting the senators: (please note I received this within 20 min or so of sending my IDA letter per this article.) He strongly supports adoption. He doesn’t seem to be cognizant (sp?) of the contents of the letter.

    I think calls to aides would probably be the best route which I shall attempt before the day is over.

    Dear Mrs. Ferguson:

    Thank you for contacting me regarding the euthanasia of wild horses. I appreciate your taking the time to write.

    I understand your concerns and opposition to the euthanasia of wild horses on public lands. It is my understanding that private individuals have come forward to help the BLM with the adoption process and my staff has contacted the BLM to raise these concerns. Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar recently proposed a plan to relocate many of the horses and burros to the Eastern part of the United States, and I assure you that I am monitoring the situation as it progresses. I strongly support the adoption of wild horses as a method of regulating their populations on public lands, and your comments are helpful as we evaluate this issue in the Senate. I would also like to encourage you to make your comments known directly to the BLM. To leave a comment with the BLM and to learn more about the National Wild Horse and Burro Program, please visit, http://www.blm.gov/wo/st/en/prog/wild_horse_and_burro.html.

    Again, thank you for writing. I hope you will continue to keep me informed of issues of importance to you and your community.

    Sincerely,

    JEFF BINGAMAN
    United States Senator

    Phone: (202) 224-5521
    Toll-free in NM: 1-800-443-8658
    Website: http://bingaman.senate.gov
    Subscribe to my e-newsletter.
    Look for me on Facebook and YouTube.

  7. Janet Ferguson Says:

    Here’s my first response from contacting the senators: (please note I received this within 20 min or so of sending my IDA letter per this article.) He strongly supports adoption. He doesn’t seem to be cognizant (sp?) of the contents of the letter.

    I think calls to aides would probably be the best route which I shall attempt before the day is over.

    “Dear Mrs. Ferguson:

    Thank you for contacting me regarding the euthanasia of wild horses. I appreciate your taking the time to write.

    I understand your concerns and opposition to the euthanasia of wild horses on public lands. It is my understanding that private individuals have come forward to help the BLM with the adoption process and my staff has contacted the BLM to raise these concerns. Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar recently proposed a plan to relocate many of the horses and burros to the Eastern part of the United States, and I assure you that I am monitoring the situation as it progresses. I strongly support the adoption of wild horses as a method of regulating their populations on public lands, and your comments are helpful as we evaluate this issue in the Senate. I would also like to encourage you to make your comments known directly to the BLM. To leave a comment with the BLM and to learn more about the National Wild Horse and Burro Program, please visit, blm.gov/wo/st/en/prog/wild_horse_and_burro.html.

    Again, thank you for writing. I hope you will continue to keep me informed of issues of importance to you and your community.

    Sincerely,

    JEFF BINGAMAN
    United States Senator

    Phone: (202) 224-5521
    Toll-free in NM: 1-800-443-8658
    Website: bingaman.senate.gov
    Subscribe to my e-newsletter.
    Look for me on Facebook and YouTube.

    • Karen L. Says:

      Yes, I was just about to post something on this myself. After personalizing and sending that nicely crafted from IDA, a response like the above is frightening. He or his aides are not informed enough on the WH&B issues to “get it”. Have we written to the BLM??? Do we need to inform ourselves on the WH&B Program??? We are light years ahead, and euthanization was a small part of the intent of the letter. If only the other Committee members could be less obtuse and have a better grasp of the letter’s content…

      • Karen L. Says:

        Sorry, the second sentence should read “nicely crafted letter from IDA”. After being greeted with Mr. Bingaman’s e-mail this A.M., my brain is causing me to leave out words.

    • LoriProphoto Says:

      Janet I just got the exact same response from him. Frightening isnt it? I actually personalised my e-mail to them all with my own little bit of diatribe but it looks like everyone will get this. Lets just hope that the sheer volume of e-mails they receive will be enough to get them to actually take notice and not just automate replies, a pipe dream I am sure but we can hope.

    • Margaret Says:

      Darn it was so personal that I thought someone was actually writing me! Glad I came here before I sent my response. Hey, its better than the stupide S1579 letter we were getting. Seems like someone from the office actually wrote it.

      Okay, time to get offline, rewrite my letter and then send.

    • jan eaker Says:

      Janet, I received the EXACT SAME REPLY after i signed and personalized the letter, these are the people that WE pay salaries for to represent us in governemnt and THIS is the best they can do, am glad I waited to respond to him, I’ll copy and paste so you can see it.
      And also received the SAME response as you from the Michigan Senator,
      I really am tired of canned responses,

    • LoriProphoto Says:

      The only difference with mine is that I was addressed in the opening part of the letter as :

      “Dear friend” What the hell is that????? Didnt even have the courtesy of using my name.

  8. Janet Ferguson Says:

    Here’s another e response (since she didn’t find a Michigan address on my “letter” she has issues with it — time contraints, not a constituent, etc. etc., etc.) However, she does provide other options for contacting her. . .

    This issue affects ALL constituents! From every state!

    The following is Ms. Stabenow of Michigan’s e response:

    “Thank you for contacting my office via email. You are receiving this autoresponse because our computer system was unable to find a Michigan address in your letter.

    Please rest assured that my staff keeps me appraised of all incoming emails,

    but because of the enormous volume of mail received daily,

    I am only able to send responses to my constituents at this time.

    If you continue to see this message even after including a Michigan address, please visit my website (stabenow.senate.gov) and send me an e-mail through the available online form. Once you have done that once, your email address will be recognized and you will not receive this message again in the future.

    If you would like a response, please take a moment to contact me via my website at stabenow.senate.gov/email.htm. There you will find useful information, including some of my positions on current issues. This is usually the fastest way to contact me.

    Again, thank you for taking the time to contact me. If ever I can be of assistance to you or your family, please let me know.

    Sincerely,
    Debbie Stabenow
    United States Senator

  9. Karen L. Says:

    Yeah, sandra longley and I discussed this one on Saturday here on the blog. That’s a common way to respond to citizens in other states—it’s really benign, not “scary” like Bingaman’s.

  10. sandra longley Says:

    I have decided to use this action means over and over..I deleted the original message which I had sent once and inserted Senator Boxers letter(which many of you have already read) and had it auto.sent to al comittee members..I have decided my course of action will be to do this over -using each seperate issue-and- fully explain its ramifications, findings, lawsuits ect-instead of trying to combine it all in one letter-in order to give full justice and attention to each issue involved..Some may not read it..but they will do a COUNT on letters in support or against funding of the BLM…DO NOT stop at sending one statement…flood the e-mails of these comittee members. I will be spending the next 24 hours-on multiple sends in this manner

    I urge all senators on this comittee to read this letter from Senator Barbra Boxer of Calif, to Ken Salazar. These are very valid questions that Mr. Salazar must answer before you should even consider his request for the millions in extra funding . We Americans must demand an accounting. NO BLANK CHECK.

    WASHINGTON, DC, (Horseback) – California’s Sen. Barbara Boxer released a letter demanding answers from Interior Secretary Ken Salazar regarding the embattled Bureau of Land Management. It’s Wild Horse and Burro Program is under fire after the deaths of scores of horses in a mid-winter “gather” in Nevada’s Calico Mountains.

    The horses were stampeded into holding pens after a grueling chase by a roaring helicopter over rockey ground in freezing weather. Two foals died after losing their hooves in an excruciating lingering death.

    Dear Secretary Salazar:

    I am writing to thank you for your recent attention to the Bureau of Land Management’s (BLM’s) Wild Horse and Burro Program and to seek information that would help me evaluate your proposed reforms to this program.

    Wild horses and burros are majestic symbols of the American west and are beloved by many people for their remarkable intelligence, grace, beauty, and power. Unfortunately, these charismatic animals have also been at the center of great controversy for many decades.

    Commercial harvesting once threatened wild horses and burros until public outrage led to their protection under the 1971 Wild and Free-Roaming Horses and Burros Act. After working to recover these species for many years, the BLM has recently begun trying to reduce populations once more due to concerns that the animals are now overpopulated. The BLM contends that unchecked population growth has led to decimation of forage, starvation, competition with native animals, and land use conflicts. However, many animal rights advocates contend that the animals are healthy when left alone in the wild and that the BLM’s efforts to control populations are jeopardizing the survival of these iconic species.

    To better understand your recent proposal for reforming the BLM’s Wild Horse and Burro Program and evaluate these different arguments, I would appreciate it if you could answer the following questions:

    What techniques are used to estimate wild horse and burro populations, assess the genetic viability of herds, and determine appropriate management levels? Has there been any independent verification of the BLM’s techniques or data to ensure that they are based in sound science?

    What are the disadvantages of allowing wild horses and burros to remain unchecked in the wild? Has there been any independent documentation of the BLM’s claims about the health of these animals, their impact on environmental conditions, and the need to remove them?

    How does BLM ensure the humane treatment of wild horses and burros during roundups and retention in holding facilities? Has there been any independent confirmation of the humaneness of the BLM’s treatment of these animals? Are there any alternative methods for rounding up the horses that might be less disruptive to these animals and possibly make them more suitable for adoption?

    Do you have any specific sites in mind for the National Wild Horse Preserves that would be established under your new proposal? How many acres would be needed for these preserves? How many preserves would be federal and how many private?

    How much would it cost to establish and manage these National Wild Horse Preserves? Can you provide me with a cost-benefit analysis comparing this proposal with the status quo and with leaving the horses where they are currently found?

    This is a complex and emotional issue with important long-term ramifications for the future of our wild horse and burros. I appreciate your attention to this matter and your look forward to your timely response.

    Sincerely,

    Barbara Boxer

    United States Senator

    • Karen L. Says:

      Of course your idea is valid. However, in order for them to do a count on letters in support or against funding of the BLM, they have to exhibit some understanding of the content and point of the given letters. I think I am going to write very concise new letters consisting of one or two sentences. (I’m afraid an aide just glanced at the letter and thought, ‘Wild horses…hmm. Must be about euthanization.’

      • sandra longley Says:

        I think they look at the -SUBJECT-line..and that determines into what category it falls..And you are absolutely right..most people in DC have never seen nor probably ever will see a wild mustang..but we have to convince them they are worth saving. A paragraph or two is about all you can keep their attention for(studies have shown that) Too much info at one time…and they drift off…. Think of commercials and how they get their message across..your first phrase either catches their attention or loses them…put alot of thought into that part.

      • Karen L. Says:

        Oh, yes, the subject line would be a good indicator! The IDA letter had “funding” in its subject line, and I edited mine to say, “Funding for the DOI/BLM for 2011.” Can’t get more specific than that—frightening.

    • sandra longley Says:

      I think Mrs Boxer has done an excellent job of formatting the questions involved..we can expand on each of her questions…Provide some of the answers and information we have uncovered…a sample of each issue might be:

      Grazing land management-use theThe western watersheds project; their lawsuits won, their greenfire Preserve, doing the kind of research on their own dime that BLM should be doing.and done by 1300 members/volunteers…BLM has 67,000 paid employees!!

      Water issues; is the BLM actually causing the water shortage..As in the case of The Shoshone Defense Funds lawsuit-which stopped the Barrick gold mine from expanding..the loss of the 50 water seeps and springs and 1 perennial stream forever.

      Cattle grazing leases and the damage done(thats a book in itself!

      BLM:not following their own protocols for the roundups and holding

      The BLM Not following their own science provided by the US Geological Survey in their 10 year outline for the “WH&B management plan”. the outline of using PZP in conjuction with the technology available using military satellite imagery to count horses…Stated ” utulizing these two methods..would virtually eliminate the need to do roundups.

      Don’t forget the Ruby Pipeline and all the energy projects that are going to be initiated in the next few years..Removing the horses in order to do them is not neccesary nor is it acceptable management procedure..One should not exclude the other.
      In cases like this it would be of great help…to have one place we could go to link to all stories and information we have found..Providing links to our information shows the powers that be…that we have made the effort to educate ourselves on the issue and solutions..

  11. Audrey C Says:

    I received the same from Stabenow & Bingaman…believe it is just automated email response….so very out of touch. Perhaps calling is the solution.

  12. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    I AM SO GLAD TO SEE THAT SENATOR BOXER TOOK A STAND!

  13. Sandra Miller Says:

    Had I arrived home earlier, I would have told everyone to be calm, but as it all turned out, I see you figured that out for yourself! These are canned letters you are receiving. The form letter from Sen. Debbie Stabenow of Michigan is the same one I sometimes receive from my Representative, Joe Donnelly, of Indiana! Earlier I got another type of form letter from Claire McCaskill of Missouri, one which is about the horse issue, but is still obviously a canned letter, like the one Janet received from Jeff Bingaman of New Mexico. Staffers take care of these things. Do you know that many senators and representatives will not accept mail on their web sites from anyone except their constituents? In their defense, they probably don’t have time. If you have listened to some elected representative give a stirring speech on the floor of the Senate on C-SPAN and want to email him to congratulate him on his excellent speech, you may find no way to do so! Don’t worry about all this. Nothing is done in vain, but the hearing before this committee may be tomorrow, so I wish we had been given more time. Next time IDA will do better. Everyone is scrambling and trying to land on their feet. There is a lot to do suddenly. I always send fiesty (but respectful) letters because that’s what my father, the old football player, liked. He would say, “You get right in there, Sandra, and straighten those people out! Don’t you let them get away with that! Tell them how you want things done and why!” One thing that I liked from the very beginning was the fact that everyone here started their personal letters to the BLM and etc. with “Dear Public Servant”. Yes! Remind of them of that! That’s exactly what they are and exactly what we need to remind them of repeatedly. Everything you do helps, you will never know how it helps or why it helps, but in the end, if you work hard enough, it helps! An excellent legal aid lawyer from Tucson, Bill Morris, a close friend of my sister’s, and someone who tragically died of a massive heart attack at the age of 50, taught me that!

  14. Sandra Miller Says:

    Janet, I just got the same Bingaman letter, too, He is WAY BEHIND in this issue. His letter sounds like something his office was sending out months ago! He will get up to speed before his correspondence does, I’m sure!

  15. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    HOW ABOUT TOMORROW WE ALL HAVE A CALL IN DAY TO THE COMMITTEE OF ENERGY AND NATURAL RESOURCES.

  16. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    REMEMBER–TUESDAY NIGHT VIGIL.

  17. sandra longley Says:

    Well, this is getting to be fun-I am on my 5th round of letters..its kind of when you go to add a little dash of paprika to the stew and the lid falls off-and you get magical cajun, fire water hash!

  18. jan Says:

    my turn for comment – you know those guys in washington ARE NOT GOING TO EVEN SEE YOUR LETTERS – most go to automated computer system for email and then the computer spits out a return letter to you – they are all alike because they have been created to send to you, the consisteustie – cant spell – or person living in that senator whatever district – i doubt if they ever see any original letters from any of us – they go to their aides who then decide whether it is worthy of their particular congressman’s attention – this is how america operates these days thanks to the internet – anyplace online that you send an email – all you get back is a company form letter – why should congress be any different – and sorry they dont have the time to read thru zillions of emails – only the important ones – so yes call and write and see if you can get some aides real names to write to – and most congress people have offices in other places besides washington – those would be manned by a real human being – like barbara boxer – has office down the hill from me in san bernardino and people work there – dont know what they do, guess attend to her business in my area – but they have so many sticks in fires they cant be everywhere at once – how did wild horse annie ever batten down the hatches to congress – maybe real mail is the answer – email you can delete – a real letter with a stamp and a valid address would show up on somebody’s desk

  19. jan Says:

    i wonder if BARBARA BOXER is aware that the next big roundup planned by the blm IS RIGHT HERE IN CALIFORNIA – boy after that letter i am going to forward that page from cloud to her – i have her email address in calif – then i bet she will come down on blm

  20. Sandra Miller Says:

    But don’t forget, Jan – one thing they can do is count! They can tally up the number of letters on a given issue, and if it’s a flood, then its, “Whoa – maybe someone needs to look into this.” AT THAT POINT individual letters probably take on more importance. Every day I go through my email and figure out what animal/environmental organizations’ petitions I need to sign. Sometimes I individualize the letters with the petitions (they always ask you to please do that) and sometimes not. All these organizations would not be functioning this way if doing so wasn’t ranking somewhere on the scale of “helpful” to “really useful”! I have decided I probably have more clout if I join with a group effort than if I just send my solo letter. Notice, the BLM obviously stopped reading the letters they receive from horse advocates long ago. They make it a habit of commenting that “there’s nothing new here – we’ve heard all this before”. BUT THEY STILL COUNT THEM – and report the tally.

  21. jan eaker Says:

    Please vote on this issue through the link, it only needs about 90 votes to move into the top 10 important issues,

  22. sandra longley Says:

    I actually got a 1on1 reply back from the junior democratic senator from my state when i signed the moratotium petition and asked him for his help in getting the roam bill out of comittee..He wrote back (or a staffer) and said he did not sit on that comittee but that he supported the protections offered under the 1971 bill..I meant to write him back and thank him for his response and remind him that after the burns rider-those protections don’t amount to a hill of beans.

    • LoriProphoto Says:

      Maybe we could create a bit of interest if we can suggest a place where they can save $70 million (If I remember correctly that is what “SalaCzar” is asking for) of unneccessary expense by kicking his request out and using the money elsewhere where it is needed more i.e. on healthcare, unemployment etc. Might get their attention maybe?

  23. sandra longley Says:

    My senior senator Ron Wyden-sits on the comittee tomorow..he was quoted during the bush years -saying the BLM was corrupt and morally bankrupt..lol can’t wait to hear what he has to say tomorrow at the hearing..I think we have to keep in mind these senators are getting hit daily with complaints about health care, the economy, the national debt, taxes, unemployment, the wars,faulty cars, bailouts, corporate greed, I wouldn’t want their job except for about 2 hours to be in this comittee meeting…and vote

  24. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    JAN, I THINK REAL MAIL IS THE ANSWER. I THINK I READ SOMEWHERE THAT ONE LETTER COUNTS FOR 10 VOTERS–SOMETHING LIKE THAT. LETTERS ARE HARDER TO IGNORE. IT IS PROBABLY GOOD TO KEEP THEM SHORT AND TO THE POINT.

  25. sandra longley Says:

    Well, senator Landrue, brought the WH&B situation up in the first round…and before Salazar could respond..senator Murkoski broke in with another statement and he NEVER adressed the question of the WH&B..it almost looked like a set up..normally he addresses the questions and concerns each senator brings up….there is a second round of questions..hopefully it WILL get an answer from Salazar…Good for the senator from Louisiana! a first round question elevates it in terms of priority..I may not be able to catch the second round..hope someone else is watching it..but it will be online as a transcript at some point.

    • Karen L. Says:

      Landrieu addressed the issues more strongly in the second round. Among other things, she challenged the assertion that there are too many horses on public lands, and asked for an accounting of acreage removed from the ranges since 1971. She demonstrated good knowledge of the issues (as always) and seemed (to me) to imply that she would personally like to further educate Salazar.

  26. sandra longley Says:

    Ya hoo! she brought the question up in depth at the end of the comittee meeting-she did not directly address his plans for zoos but did address-many of our concerns..he didn’t have his happy face on..however he did say he was not wedded to his current plan..and she said she and others would work with him to come up with a plan..(he said the senator from florida had told him that horses came to the americas with the spanish thru florida and were not native and that we had to keep that in mind)Only 3 senators had stayed the rest left after their questions.

    • Karen L. Says:

      It seems to me that Salazar is not familiar with the natural history of equines. We can help with that.

    • Janet Ferguson Says:

      I missed all that watching the webcast. Were you watching CSPAN?

      Where is all that stuff? (Landrieu’s wild horse comments, etc.)

      • Karen L. Says:

        I watched the webcast. She brought up the wild horses again toward the end of the second round of questioning and got in some good comments. She specifically asked what the plan was to RESTORE land taken from horses since 1971. I took several pages of notes.

      • Janet Ferguson Says:

        thanks — I shall have to revisit the webcast to find it!

  27. sandra longley Says:

    I think we should continue to send letters to this comittee..They still have to vote to fund this budget-and stress the amount of taxpayer money that is being wasted on this zoo idea-atho getting rid of the wild horses is a long time pet project of Salazars.(overpopulation and starving as he said) and he said this decision has been kicked down the road too long.

  28. LoriProphoto Says:

    Like suggesting that people who actually know horses and what they are doing and the FACTS should be handling this and that the $70 million odd that he wants can be better spent elsewhere, just let the people who know what the hell they are doing fix their darned mess and it wont have to be kicked down the road anymore!

  29. sandra longley Says:

    http://energy.senate.gov/public/index.cfm?FuseAction=Hearings.ByMonth

    they archive these hearings and have a transcript..I don’t know how long before it gets posted..Its worth looking at just to see the change in his attitude when he is asked the question..i watched most of the meeting and Q&A and I thought his expression hardened when his was asked that question..just my take

    • Karen L. Says:

      I agree. I posted on the other thread that Salazar seemed ill at ease with the wild horse subject matter in general.

  30. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    JANET, I AM BRINGING ONE OF KAREN’S POSTINGS FORWARD SO THAT YOU CAN SEE IT. YOU MIGHT HAVE BEEN GONE WHEN SHE POSTED IT:
    Karen L. Says:

    March 2, 2010 at 9:19 pm | Reply
    Another FYI—You should be able to view these Committee proceedings tomorrow on C-SPAN or at the Committee site. Here is the link; then click on Webcast at the bottom of the left column. Hope it works!
    http://energy.senate.gov/public/

    • sandra longley Says:

      Loie, it is up now on the link I posted, click on the archived webs..the meeting starts at 17 min. so you have to drag the bar below over to that point..or wait

  31. sandra longley Says:

    In going back to watch the first part-which i missed..our much discussed Senator Bingaman gave the opening remarks…where he said ” the land and water aquistion fund..is devoting to much of the funds for that departement to the BLM for the purchase of holding facilities for WH&Bs and that…is not an authorized use of those funds!!!YEAH…so bigmans auto responses to our letters did not indicate his lack of concern for the issues we raised..THANK YOU Sen. Bingaman( the start of the meeting is 17 min in..you will have to drag the bar over to that point

  32. sandra longley Says:

    I hope it is appropriate to take this momment to celebrate a small victory for all our dedication and hard work…hugs and kisses to everyone who kept at it..even when we were not sure we were being heard!

  33. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    SANDRA, THANK YOU. I’M NOT SURE THAT I HAVE BEEN ON THE RIGHT PAGE ANYWHERE TODAY. IT IS GOOD TO KNOW THAT ALL OF YOU HAVE. I GUESS WHAT WE KEEP HAMMERING ON IS THE RESERVE DESIGN THAT CRAIG DOWNER SPEAKS OF. WE NOW NEED TO GIVE THEM CORRECT OPTIONS.

  34. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    WE HAVE BEEN TELLING THEM WHAT WE DON’T WANT. NOW WE NEED TO START TELLING THEM WHAT WE DO WANT.

  35. Janet Ferguson Says:

    Thanks LC and all — I agree: keep contacting the committee! I like the idea of sending the Boxer letter — snail mail perhaps? Should we write/call and thank Sen. Landrieu for her scuffle at the end!!!

    Today I went looking for the R.O.A.M. Act. Googled it and then filtered by “news” (on search results). Found this article regarding Humane Society’s awarding Rahall of WVa an award — it’s against Rayhall because he allegedly supports blowing tops off mountains in WVA.

    http://blogs.alternet.org/speakeasy/2010/03/03/cruelty-humane-society-gives-top-honors-tonight-to-champion-of-mountaintop-removal/

  36. Sandra Miller Says:

    If you have time, read “Thinking about Wild Horses – Animal Blawg”. It is a good article, but we have all been preoccupied with other things. I left a comment.

  37. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    I SEE IN SENATOR BOXER’S BIO THAT SHE WAS A JOURNALIST AT ONE TIME. I LIKE THAT.

  38. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    I WONDER–SHOULD WE WRITE COMMITTEE MEMBERS NOW, OR WAIT UNTIL RIGHT BEFORE THE NEXT MEETING SO THAT IT IS FRESH IN THEIR MINDS?

  39. Sandra Miller Says:

    As I understand it, Louie, this is the same committee that has the R.O.A.M. bill tied up. That is another thing we might look into. Do you have a senator from your state serving on the committee? If so, that is the one I would target with a letter now. You should get an answer from him. Don’t forget to read the article posted quite recently. “Thinking about Wild Horses – Animal Blawg”(whatever that’s supposed to be).

  40. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    SANDRA, I DID SEND EACH OF THE SENATORS ON THAT COMMITTEE A HANDWRITTEN LETTER AND PICTURES. THAT WAS CONCERNING THE ROAM ACT. NEITHER OF MY SENATORS ARE ON THAT COMMITTEE, SO I DID START CALLING AND WRITING AND EMAILING THEM. CALLED EVERY DAY-BOTH OFFICES, D.C. AND HOME OFFICE FOR SEVERAL WEEKS AND CALLED THE COMMITTEE EVERY DAY, ALSO. NOW I HAVE STARTED CALLING THE WHITE HOUSE COMMENT LINE EVERY DAY, SINCE ELYSE URGED US TO DO THAT. SHE SAID THAT WE ARE BEING HEARD.

  41. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    I READ SOMEWHERE THAT A HANDWRITTEN LETTER CARRYS MORE WEIGHT. IS THAT REALLY TRUE?

  42. Sandra Miller Says:

    I receive letters from my senators, particularly Evan Bayh, regularly about other issues, but never a reply about the horse issue. The same is true of the President. The only thing I can conclude about this is that they do not know enough about the issue – and their party has not taken a position – so that they know HOW they want to/should respond. Maybe they expected that Sec. Salazar would lay out a new plan, move forward on that, and solve the problem for them! I think there is a “wait and see what develops” attitude here. So, everything that we do, calling, writing, faxing, going to Washington, is being absorbed, monitored, weighed and measured. The frustration is that every day that we wait, more damage is done to the horses. I know that’s true, but I don’t think there is any way to force a conclusion to this situation. I have not ever concluded that our elected representatives are anti wild horse and burro – but I have concluded that they are poorly prepared to deal effectively with this issue and just have to be educated about it like everyone else in the United States of America! You know, Louie, we are demanding, expecting, asking for a sea change in how the wild horse and burro is run. We are not expecting some minor changes (ramp up the adoption program, for instance) – we are expecting these wild horses and burros to be returned to and managed on the range. There are hundreds of people just working in the the horse and burro program who are totally unprepared for even the MINDSET to have this happen! As I have said, everything we do helps, but I don’t think a handwritten letter carries more weight. A letter, handwritten or typed, probably does carry more weight, but most people have given that up because all the mail has to be screened carefully before delivery and it may take 2 weeks to reach anyone!

  43. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    HOW ABOUT POST CARDS–SHORT AND TO THE POINT. LAY OUT CLEAR, POINT BY POINT STEPS AND GOALS. THE DETAILS CAN BE HAMMERED OUT ONCE WE GET THEM TO THE TABLE. THE BILL OF RIGHTS IS PRETTY MUCH THAT. IT HAS STOOD THE TEST OF TIME.

  44. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    THE LEGISLATION PART IS WHERE IT WILL GET MORE LENGTHY.

  45. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    ONE THING THAT IS NEEDED, IS TO INFORCE THE PART OF THE ORIGINAL 1971 ACT THAT CLEARLY STATES THAT NO AIRCRAFT ARE TO USED. HOW ARE THEY GETTING AWAY WITH THAT?

  46. Sandra Miller Says:

    I’m on my way out to the country, Louie, but I returned to say that obviously this is a blog that you all know about and I don’t! I just go through what TCF has posted every day to see if anything is new that I can react to. This was a new posting and I thought it was worthwhile. I wrote something positive and optimistic to cheer you all up – but nobody else commented! I was thinking, “Hmmmmm – strange.” Now I think I understand what happened.

  47. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    I MEANT “ENFORCE”. I’M TRYING TO HURRY TOO MUCH.

  48. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    SANDRA, DON’T STAY AWAY TOO LONG–WE ALL NEED YOU!

  49. Sandra Miller Says:

    Postcards would work. They aren’t in an envelope that needs to be inspected. I have no idea how they are getting away with using aircraft, because I thought the first law passed under Wild Horse Annie’s urging, around 1959, was banning using any kind of motorized vehicles to chase the horses. Laura Allen could probably answer that question. I am waiting for a reaction from IDA about the committee meeting just held in the Senate. I wonder how many people participated in sending comments.

  50. Janet Ferguson Says:

    A few months ago we watched the appropriations meetings with Salazar when Landrieu engaged him on behalf of the wild horses and burros. . .remember, anyone?

    during that meeting, I heard mention that the current Long Term Holding facilities were being incorrectly funded from an account set up by Kennedy. Here is a recent article about that fund: it is under intense scrutiny since the oil spill, as I anticipated (in my feeble 2-celled brain) that it might become:

    http://www.nytimes.com/2010/07/20/opinion/20tue2.html?ref=opinion

    Perhaps we are going to see a rapid implosion of BLM’s little WHB empire with the horses being the ones “caught in the middle” and the beaurocrats and Catoors the LAST ONES STANDING.

    DEPRESSING THOUGHT!

Leave a Reply

