March for Mustangs- Ride Share – Connect with Those Driving to DC!

This site will help you connect with other advocates in your area to come to Washington DC for the March for Mustangs on Thursday, March 25th- click here for details and to create a user account and carpool.

*please use your best judgement and be safe when carpooling and driving to this event* RIDE SHARE SITE

More details on this Rally here

60 Responses to “March for Mustangs- Ride Share – Connect with Those Driving to DC!”

  1. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    I PULLED THIS COMMENT FORWARD–I THINK IT NEEDS TO BE LOOKED AT–NEVER SURE WHERE TO POST THINGS SO THAT EVERYONE SEES:

    Kathleen Says:

    February 15, 2010 at 9:49 am | Reply
    Roxy,
    re #2, I did some research trying to figure out if there were already any studies in existence on the economic impact of wild horses in Arizona (as a starting point). I found some extensive studies have been done at the U of A on the horse industry (not including wild horses & burros) so I contacted the professor. His response was a link to two studies in this area he knew of (NV and WY, both old). His suggestion was that to truly find details like the economic impact of tourism, arts, sciences related to wild horses would entail an expensive commissioned major research project to collect that kind of data that apparently does not exist in collected form now. He called this a “study aimed at determining the existences value of the horses.” I will share the large pdfs of the studies with anyone interested who posts a reply here (I’ll be notified of follow ups).

    I was so sure at the time (months ago) that this data existed (I knew about the domestic horse studies) and this conclusion took the wind out of my sails. I still feel strongly that there is already a significant positive economic impact to having wild horses in the wild – it’s just not quantified. Small towns, and large cities nearby, are getting international visitors, art is being made in every medium, science and medicine studies them for insight into the multi billion $ domestiic horse business. Those are all adversely impacted by removing them. And could all be significantly strengthened through proper value, management, marketing.

    We need a professional statistician advocate I’m sure many of us would volunteer to do data collection.

    • Kathleen Says:

      Louie, I feel the same – never know where to share info so that the largest audience of advocates will see it.

      I still feel strongly that if we could get economic impact data, it would only help the horses. And we know that people like Madeline P and Arlene G are thinking about very viable ideas about expanding eco-tourism while arts and sciences expansion could also very well be developed as well. The big obstacle with this is finding the statistician and finding enough volunteer data miners as we all know this is not a deep pockets movement. Funding a big study would be great but it’s not very realistic given the grassroots nature.

      I don’t want to publicize my email here but if you or anyone else would like to discuss this further, please ask Makendra at thecloudfoundation.org to refer you to me by email. She and I have been in contact in the last few months and I’m sure she would forward a request on.

    • Barb S Says:

      Here is what Virginia says about economic horse impact on it’s economy. Not shabby by any means.
      http://www.vhib.org/virginia-horse-country.html

  2. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Have Truck, Will Travel… from Pagosa Springs, Colorado. Good sound Ranger xtra cab with new tires and brakes. Had it 5 years and take care of it. Will set up bed in camper for resting driver and can take maybe 3 others, 4 total. Must leave Tuesday. Can arrange overnights in midwest and while in DC area at advocate friends. Save money, no need for motels.

    Please contact me here, then we can exchange emails. I am an experienced cross country driver. Need people with gas money… mar

  3. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    whoops, mar

  4. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    JANET AND LISA–DO YOU HAVE SAMPLE LETTERS FOR THE TWIN PEAKS PROPOSED ROUND-UP? I WOULD LIKE TO SEE YOUR’S SO I CAN SEE WHETHER MINE IS FIT TO SEND.

  5. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Cloud Foundation, I put up a request for riders to DC… it is gone, How Come??

    • Jill Says:

      Hi, Marilyn,

      I was looking to see how the ride share is working and saw your post and wondered if your request for riders was under the blog section?

      Are there several different areas pertaining to the Protest?

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      Jill, Are you looking to go to DC? Are you in Colorado?? mar

    • Jill Says:

      No, I am in North Carolina. Yes, trying to go to DC!!!

      Where I first posted the other day, and was talking to you and your friend from Colorado about sharing a ride together, wasn’t that in a different section than we are in right now?

      I may be the only one listed in the Rides to Share site that Makendra set up for us.

      • Marilyn Wargo Says:

        This is the site set up for ride share, yes we were at the site about the DC protest… I am the only one here so far. If you are looking for a ride or riders like I am then you should comment here and maybe we can draw some people here… good luck, hope you get a ride. I seriously doubt I will get riders. It is just worth a try. mar

    • Jill Says:

      I am totally confused…

      This is what I am talking about that she set up:
      http://www.rideshare.us/page.php?next=eventdisplay&lookup=march4mustangs

      If you want, I could try posting on ABR where I have a thread going for the DC Protest, to see if anyone is thinking about going from Colorado?

      Let me know and I will do that. It’s worth a try!

  6. Sandra Miller Says:

    Louie, I told you I wrote the introduction to IDA’s Twin Peaks’ petition from the viewpoint of the “angry citizen”. Here is what I wrote – it was EASY to write!

    I have been studying and researching the issue of the care and management given to our wild horses and burros by the DOI/BLM since August 2009. Prior to that, I was like most citizens east of the Mississippi River – blissfully unaware that our wild horses and burros were systematically being removed by the BLM from our Public Lands to facilitate and increase the grazing of welfare cattle and welfare sheep. Please believe that I strongly object to removing self-supporting wild horses and burros from their legal ranges, as assigned by the 1971 Wild Free Roaming Horse and Burro Act, and substituting for them on that range a heavily subsidized cattle and sheep industry that costs me a great deal of money as a taxpayer. It is way past time to get the hands of special interests and corporate America out of the pockets of Uncle Sam. It was one thing to have FDR allow the cattle industry to graze on the Public Lands during the Depression so that Americans could eat cheaper beef. It is quite another to allow that same industry to cost the taxpayer millions of dollars so that 97% of the beef so raised can be exported to other countries. Therefore, I agree with the following proposals in this letter set forth by In Defense of Animals, who I sincerely hope will clean the clock of the DOI/BLM in federal court, as is so justly deserved! Your mismanagement of our wild horses and burros is criminal. If private citizens treated their animals as the BLM has treated these wild horses and burros in recent roundups, they would be jailed. I do not believe you people will be able to escape the justice you so justly deserve much longer. It would be far wiser for you to stop rounding up wild horses and burros NOW and start developing a sane, legal, financially sound plan with the help of reasonable people like those of In Defense of Animals, the Humane Society of the United States, and the many, many horse and burro advocates who have been as traumatized as the wild horses and burros by the events they have witnessed on our Public Lands while you have mismanaged our wild herds.

  7. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    SANDRA, CAN I JUST PUT “DITTO”?
    THE OTHER THAT I AM SENDING WILL GO DIRECTLY TO THE FIELD OFFICE IN SUSANVILLE. HAVE MODIFIED THAT A BIT, AS THEY PROBABLY JUST DO WHAT THEY ARE TOLD. I DON’T THINK THEY HAVE ENOUGH POWER TO DO MUCH ELSE.

  8. Sandra Miller Says:

    Louie, sure!
    Kathleen, in reading your discussion with Roxie, above, it reminded me of the information that was posted here (somewhere) about the roundup that had everyone so upset in New Mexico. A lot of that information had to do with economic impact, because this area actually has people buying homes so they can be near the wild horses. I’ll try to find that and post the web site.

  9. Sandra Miller Says:

    Kathleen, here is the web site. You may find something useful. I thought it sounded like a very interesting area, and I was struck by the fact, at the time, that this was not just a matter of loving horses – the existence of the horses was intertwined with the life of the community, or, should I say, the life the community wanted to have!

    http://www.whoanm.org/PlacitasProject/PlacitasProject.htm

    • Karen L. Says:

      That information needs to go to Senator Landrieu’s office! If she is not aware of its existence already, it would give her talking points as she works for the horses through her committee assignments.

  10. true15 Says:

    Absolutely gorgeous poster. Who did the artwork?

  11. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    KATHLEEN, DID YOU SEE THAT SEN. LANDREIU HAS AT LEAST ONE GEORGETOWN UNIVERSITY LAW/INTERN STUDENT HELPING HER WITH THIS–HELPING OUR WILD HORSES AND BURROS. ADVOCATES HAVE BEEN IN CONTACT WITH HER. YOU COULD CONTACT HER OFFICE. WOULD THAT BE OF ANY HELP? THEY MIGHT BE ABLE TO HELP MAKE SOME KIND OF LINK WITH OTHERS IN THE UNIVERSITY.

  12. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    SOMETHING ELSE THAT I MEANT TO POST–GO OVER TO AMERICAN HERDS AND ON THERE ARE THE INTERNAL DOCUMENTS THAT WERE OBTAINED THROUGH THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT. TELLS OF PLANS TO GET RID OF MUSTANGS.

  13. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    I hope that other people wanting to go to DC will be able to get in touch with each other here. This page has got a bit off subject… too late now… mar

  14. Sandra Miller Says:

    Marilyn, I am sorry and you are right, but I don’t know what to do about it. You probably know how to handle these matters. Could there be another posting for “political activism suggestions” or something like that? Then we could move everything that is not related to ride sharing there. It would unclutter things for those looking for transportation, which I think is very important and should not be made difficult for people to use.

  15. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    WE NEED A METHOD FOR POSTING–NO ONE IS EVER QUITE SURE WHERE TO POST. SOMETIMES THE CORRECT PLACE IS SO FAR BACK THAT NO ONE WILL SEE IT UNLESS THEY ARE INCLINED TO REVIEW. I POST THINGS FORWARD SO THAT THEY DON’T GET MISSED OR FORGOTTEN.

  16. Sandra Miller Says:

    Think about it, though. We are just in the beginning of the ride share process and that may need LOTS more room. We don’t want people to be confused! Perhaps it could be handled in the “Related Posts” list??

  17. Jill Says:

    The link is also above in the text, but this is what I was talking about:

    http://www.rideshare.us/page.php?next=eventdisplay&lookup=march4mustangs

    It’s just me and one other person who has posted.

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      Jill I did not see this… thanks. Louie, I do understand… maybe if we vacate to this link and if people coming here will go there, then we will be OK.

      Louie, i know how you feel as I have to try to get Craig to write a letter of intent and hope we can get a whole post for raising money for the truck, otherwise we have to keep posting the info over and over… I am also trying to raise money to go to the burro roundup in Kingman which is a 1200 plus mile roundtrip over 4 to 6 days and will cost at least $425. and all the photos would go to Cloud Foundation. Cattoors are doing this. I do want to go and am hoping to get this money raised off the blog. mar

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      Jill, I am signed up at Ride Share now… Thanks for telling me as I had missed it… mar

  18. Kathleen Says:

    OK, here is a transportation idea: What about a bus going from LA to DC? Lots of stops could be made on the way, would be fun and could be cost effective. Maybe there is an advocate with a party bus or someone connected to get a good contract price?

    On another note, I’m sorry for my part in derailing this blog post off the transportation issue. I have felt this way too — like I’m grasping straws trying to recall where something was being discussed, expounded upon – for months. My gmarks/bookmarks are bursting at the seams. What advocates need is an organized PRIVATE member only bulletin board. A place protected from trolls and opponents by required approval membership where ideas can be categorized, stored for ease of retrieval so they can be studied and developed over time. I’m going to look into this….

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      Kathleen amybe it is good we talk about all this. there have been ideas about a data base as Jan had said she is at a sight that has one… then there is the private member only info… i do believe we have been in need of this a while. there are pockets of us off blog but then there will be someone we cannot get to… I am certainly for this as the Spring comes and I think there will be many projects in the fiels and people will be needing help and info and also getting new infi that we Do NOT Want the enemy to get… I was asked to get on a private yahoo group and it has yet to accept my info… So, please do not choose yahooo!!!

      I am not sure about a bus… I would go if I had the money, but I do not and am about to go to Arizona for 5 or 6 days to watch the Cattoors roundup wild burros. mar

    • Kathleen Says:

      Mar, I also cannot go on the bus, have commitments at home that won’t allow me to go. The thing about the advocate gathering place is that I was actually encouraged to come here to post about my bus comment on Facebook (FB) when I replied to a friend’s post there. There are far too many places with pockets of advocates here and there and seemingly no main collecting place for all of them. I am a voracious reader and this issue is on the top of my list. Still there are so many places to check, I know I miss stuff. TCF is a largest group, perhaps the biggest, but this blog is mainly for dissemination of info and not for storing it for reference and future work. That is the nature of blog structure. A bulletin board begins as a discussion but if set up correctly ends up being a searchable reference site.

      This splintered group structure is something that plays against strength in numbers and hampers communication as well as making duplication of effort a waste at least some of the time. For example, I am on FB and in a dozen or so groups and fan pages that are focused on wild horse advocacy. I also have dozens of advocate friends on FB. We all post the same things over and over to the groups and our own profiles when really time might be better spent spreading the info to new people/advocates who support but who are not quite active yet/other similarly aligned advocacy groups and also lobbying the government mainly while encouraging each other just a bit.

      Seems a central repository for reference info, a way for advocates to share emails, etc. without fear of spamming/targeting and a safe place to work on plans is sorely needed. I’ve already begun looking further into this…. Is there anyone here experienced in actually setting up a bulletin board?

      • Barb S Says:

        I participate in a chat board that was set up by a friend at a campground. Here is the link–It seems to work well. You have to have somebody or bodies that are moderators.
        Barb

        http://www.proboards.com/

      • Marilyn Wargo Says:

        Yes, Kathleen, and I left face book for that reason. Too time consuming yet there are new things found by those with time and patience. This blog has been a powerful experience for the group that came from the beginning and for new advocates to learn the issues. We are widely read and by BLM, too.

        Those of us who have contact off blog have been gearing up for more projects and activities as we head out of winter. Yet The Cloud Foundation has remained our center.

        We had talked seriously about a bulletin board months back and it still sounds like a good and necessary idea. In time we can use it for many projects and cross referencing.

        We have been very supportive of each other and have continued to carry out the original goals to inform reps and the public of what is going on while contacting officials and the White House about our concerns and outrage, too. When we get upset and angered by events BLM hears us loud and clear.

        The friendships I have made here are profound. mar

  19. Sandra Miller Says:

    A couple things:
    Louie mentioned the internal documents from the BLM gained through the Freedom of Information Act. That is also posted at Animal Law Coalition, under Horse Slaughter>>Article>>Final Solution for the Wild Horses and Burros, Posted Dec. 21, 1009 by Laura Allen. Everyone should at least skim through that information – it defines the enemy (as in, “Know thy enemy!”

    Kathleen, I think I can say with confidence that no one here needs protection from trolls and opponents. They really are not a problem. Such types who appear occasionally either convert or leave, under a barrage of correct information! I mention this because I have noticed at other places where comments are left, such as with articles in local newspapers, comments are not so polite, or so pro-wild horses and burros. This is a wonderful Blog! – and very serious-minded, too!

  20. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    ACTUALLY, I THINK WE ARE DOING QUITE WELL. THIS WAS MY FAULT AS I SHOULD HAVE WAITED TO POST LATER AND LEFT THIS FOR JUST RIDE SHARING. I AM VERY NEW AT THIS. THERE ARE PROBABLY A LOT OF UNSPOKEN RULES OF BLOGGING THAT I DON’T KNOW–BUT I AM LEARNING. I THINK THE OPEN FORMAT WORKS WELL AND IT IS THE FREEDOM THAT WE ALL LOVE SO MUCH. THERE ARE PROBABLY ONLY A COUPLE OF TOPICS THAT NEED TO BE KEPT FOR JUST ONE CATAGORY AND THAT WOULD BE THE RIDE SHARE AND THE FUND FOR CRAIG AND ELYSE. THE FUND WOULD BE EASY TO FIND AS IT OFFICIALLY HAS STARTED ON MARCH 1–RIGHT? PERHAPS THEY CAN KEEP US POSTED AS TO HOW THE FUND IS DOING.

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      Louie, All I know is that Makendra is very very busy but she said to send money to them and you will get a receipt. Just mark it for the 4×4 or Craig/Elyse. I am not sure when she will get a post up, so this is unofficially… mar

  21. Jill Says:

    Are you going to be able to go to DC for the Protest?

  22. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    JILL, I HAVE TO STAY HOME. MUCH OF MY TIME IS SPOKEN FOR. I AM PROBABLY MORE HELP HERE “AT THE RANCH”. I ONLY HAVE SO MUCH FREE TIME EVERY DAY AND I USE ALL THAT I HAVE ON THIS. WHEN I DO GET A GOOD BLOCK OF TIME I REALLY DIVE INTO IT. I KNOW THAT SOME ARE WORKING FULL TIME ON THIS. THIS IS A DYNAMIC GROUP AND I SEE MYSELF SORT OF LIKE “BARNIE FIFE SINGING IN THE CHOIR”. DO YOU REMEMBER THAT EPISODE OF MAYBERRY? MAKES ME FEEL AS THOUGH I AM REALLY DOING SOMETHING.

  23. Kathleen Says:

    Barb, thanks for the lead to Proboards, checking it out.

    Mar & Sandra, agreed, this is a wonderful community, smart, educational, inspiring, and TCF is a central focus. I just see a fracturing kind of pattern to how to find info from comments/interaction because it’s spread over all these different blog posts rather than being gathered by topic for ease of retrieval. Eventually one forgets where they read something, perhaps a good idea, and it fades off. Just like a library helps with more efficient use of data, so does a system for online communities. It builds the community ties stronger in the process as a bonus. I will see about what options are available and check with TCF about this idea.

    As for being read by “the enemy”, it has advantages and drawbacks, chiefly being mischief and putting advocates on the defensive to defend their position rather than stay on task to advocate. Through other environmental advocacy experience I know that not all sides “play nice” all the time – some use dirty tricks and aggression and open access plays a role in facilitating that. I haven’t seen that in this issue…. But pressure rises when livelihoods are seemingly threatened and that happens with the public lands grazing issue that is inextricably connected to the wild horse issue. Just sayin’….

    Louie, good you “started this”. Maybe more good will come from the discussion.

    Now I’ll shut up and leave this for transportation comments. Wish I could go too…. 😦

  24. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    ONE MORE COMMENT AND I WILL STAY OFF OF THIS PAGE–I THINK WE ALL ARE SENDING DIRECTLY TO CRAIG AND/OR THE ANDEAN TAPIR FUND–NO NEED TO ADD ANY MORE TO MAKENDRA’S WORKLOAD.

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      Louie, NO!! You misunderstand, I just do not know when it will be posted…. Makendra has Accepted the fund raising for the 4×4 Already… I have been writing you and telling you….. ????

      Why stay off the page when we can go to the Ride Share site??? I did not know about it until Jill told me and I went, Then I posted here that I was there.

      Please send any 4×4 money to the Cloud Foundation earmarked for 4×4 or Craig/Elyse…

      I am sorry for the confusion…. mar

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      Louie the whole point was to not bother Craig with it!! He can get in Trouble if you send money to him directly… I do not have a way to head you off… no email address of yours where you would have been informed about this simple little thing and why TCF is doing it. mar

  25. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    CRAIG IS A FRIEND AND A GIFT CAN BE SENT TO FRIEND–I DO IT ALL OF THE TIME.

  26. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    IF IT IS A PROBLEM FOR HIM, HE CAN JUST RETURN IT AND IT WILL GO THROUGH THE CLOUD FOUNDATION. I THOUGHT FROM THE ORIGINAL COMMENTS–WAY BACK–THAT THE INFORMATION ON THE POST WAS WHAT WE WERE TO GO WITH AND IT SEEMED THAT WE NEEDED TO MOVE FORWARD WITH SOMETHING. I THINK THAT EVERYONE NOW UNDERSTANDS THE PROCEDURE.

  27. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Sorry Louie, I worked hard to get this done…

    From: Makendra [Edit Address Book]
    To: Craig Downer
    Cc: MARILYN WARGO
    Subject: Re: Mar and the Boys, letter for vehicle
    Date: Mar 1, 2010 5:05 PM
    Hi Craig and Mar, let me just check with Ginger but I think the best
    way would be for Craig to write a letter of intent (short is fine) and
    then people could donate to a vehicle fund to the Cloud Foundation and
    that $$ would be transferred to Craig to purchase a vehicle. Then the
    Cloud Foundation would provide donors with receipts.
    We could also leave Craig out of it and just start a fund for the
    vehicle that would be used by Craig and Elyse
    All best
    Makendra

  28. Jill Says:

    Marilyn had written the Ford Company also, and received a very nice letter about donating vehicles to non-profit organizations and it sounded like The Cloud Foundation fit right in with the requirements.

    It was forwarded to Elyse who had not mentioned this to the Cloud Foundation, possibly because she was considering going non-profit herself. I spoke with Makendra who wanted me to send it to her two weeks ago, and sounded excited about the possibility of that!

    I spoke with her yesterday, and she had not even opened my email. ):

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      Jill does not mean me, I have no idea about this… Shelley heard something and then told Barb W. that it was grants only.. that is what I heard.

      If Louie is a friend of Craig’s then why did you not volunteer to do this as it seems important…. ? I was trying to help…

      I sure wish I knew what was going on with all of you, sort of…

      Please keep me out of this. mar

  29. Jill Says:

    Yes, this is another Marilyn who was trying to help. Not, Marilyn Wargo here, but another Marilyn who contacted Ford in behalf of the needed vehicle.

    Sorry about this confusion.

  30. Jill Says:

    THIS IS THE LETTER: and ARE NOT the MUSTANGS an AMERICAN LEGACY?

    From: crcfmc@ford.com
    Subject: Ford Motor Company
    To: mjwilson4978@yahoo.com
    Date: Monday, February 8, 2010, 1:54 PM

    Dear Marilyn Wilson,

    Thank you for contacting the Ford Motor Company Customer Relationship Center regarding vehicle donation.

    Ford Motor Company’s charitable donations are primarily handled by the Ford Motor Company Fund (Ford Fund). Ford Fund is a not-for-profit corporation organized in 1949. Made possible by Ford Motor Company profits, Ford Fund supports initiatives and institutions to improve opportunities for those who live in the communities where we do business.

    Ford Fund supports not-for-profit organizations in three major areas:
    1) Innovation and education
    2) Community development and American legacy
    3) Auto-related safety education

    Ford Fund does not, under any circumstances, provide assistance with vehicle donations to individuals. Ford Fund only considers grants to not-for-profit organizations holding United States IRS 501(c)3 status. For further clarification on the programs that Ford Fund supports, please visit:

    Online:
    http://www.ford.com
    Enter Ford Fund in the Search Field

    Sometimes e-mail communication does not allow us to gain additional information that may be helpful in responding to your inquiry. Should you feel that we have not adequately addressed your questions, please feel free to contact us via telephone at (800)392-3673 between the hours of 8am and 5pm, local time, Monday through Friday. Hearing-impaired callers with access to a TDD may contact 1-800-232-5952.

    Sincerely,
    Angel
    Customer Relationship Center
    Ford Motor Company

  31. Sandra Miller Says:

    We’re all going to leave this site but we never do! I have a suggestion that could help a little, about information retrieval. I copy and paste all my significant comments from the Blog onto my “Compose” screen, title them with something that makes sense to me, and store them in my “Draft Folder”. I don’t know about other services, but I have gmail. When I want to Google something, I have a choice between looking on the Internet and looking on my own computer!! That, Kathleen, is how I found the information about New Mexico – in my own Draft folder. gmail searches Inbox, Sent Mail, Drafts, and then you can add more, like Trash. Much of what I work on I am writing about all the time – to my Friends and Relatives or on the Blog. I just make sure that anything that would not appear in other places, I save in my Draft Folder for later
    reference. Now, if you’re all laughing because this is all old news to you, until last fall I used a 1996 IBM computer, a very reliable workhorse, but I ran out of memory. My niece gave me her practically brand new Gateway, my nephew found a computer technician and hired him to come to the house and set everything up, and also set me up with AT & T high speed Internet and gmail (prior to that I had juno, using the phone line). So, everything is new to me! But most fascinating is this ability to use Google to search my own computer! Hope you have something like it, too.

  32. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    MAR, WE ARE ALL JUST TRYING TO HELP. DONATIONS WILL GET SENT WHERE NEEDED. I GUESS WE HAVE ALL BEEN TRYING ON OUR OWN–IN DIFFERENT DIRECTIONS SINCE WE DON’T HAVE A MEETING HALL. WE NOW ALL KNOW THAT ANY DONATIONS WILL GO TO THE CLOUD FOUNDATION–RIGHT? WE JUST WANT FOR CRAIG AND ELYSE TO HAVE THE NEEDED VEHICLE. AS FAR AS I AM CONCERNED, THEY ARE BOTH FRIENDS TO ALL OF US BECAUSE OF THE NECESSARY WORK THAT THEY DO.

  33. Nora Morbeck Says:

    The rally on the 25th will, I’m sure, be a huge success. High fives to everyone going!!
    For those — like me — who can’t make it, I’d suggest meeting locally with senators or representatives or their aides.
    I put a call in to one of my senator’s offices to schedule an appointment with an aide. Waiting for a call back to confirm the appt.
    Meeting in person, even if it’s with an aide, puts our faces out there with the letters, e-mails and phone calls we make. It lets our elected officials see that we aren’t just a bunch of crazy horse huggers. We’re voters, taxpayers and active members of our communities with legitimate concerns about the way government programs are run.

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      Yes, Nora.. this is very important for us to be visible and a presence that the reps recognize. As Spring comes and we get moving further from home again, we should all be meeting our reps and or aides and talking to them for the wild ones. I promise to do this as soon as I can. Good Luck all and wish I could be there… will keep trying.

      Hey, Louie, You are right and we want for them to have transpo that will do them the most good out in the field. Just had a very crowded day yesterday and many irons in the fire… mar

  34. jan Says:

    I KNOW YOU ALL ARE WORKING HARD ON THE MARCH BUT I GOT A LINK YESTERDAY – ITS ON YOUTUBE – JUST GOOGLE WE THE PEOPLE ON YOUTUBE – SHD COME UP – TALKS ABOUT FREEDOM – OUR FREEDOMS AND HOW WE WILL NOT GIVE UP OUR FREEDOMS – I THOT OF THE HROSES AS I WATCHED THIS VIDEO – THEY HAVE ALREADY GIVEN UP THEIR FREEDOM AND THEIR LIVES – WHAT IF IT HAPPENS TO US – GOOD VIDEO

  35. Ronnie Says:

    Good Morning,

    Does anyone have an estimate of how many to be in DC March 25 for the protest/rally? I know there is only a list of speakers.

    It would helpful if TCF could set up a link.

    I know when going to DC before, on Alex Brown Racing (ABR) & Americans Against Horse Slaughter (AAHS), it was good to know about how many going, where staying, & so on. This also encourages others to make the trip, if possible.

    Thank You

Leave a Reply

