America’s Wild Horses in Peril

New film from Sandy Elmore

28 Responses to “America’s Wild Horses in Peril”

  1. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    I love this, Sandy. Great narration, well written and informative. This is a sweet addition to the videos we love and need to educate our nation about the graceful
    wild horses of North America. Long Live the Mustang, Wild and Free!!! mar

  2. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    HOW DO WE SEND THESE VIDEOS?

    • sandra longley Says:

      excellent educational video that counters the misconceptions being passed along…good companion to the other videos I have been sending.
      Louie, I don’t know how anyone one else sends it…but you can either forward the blog from your e-mail alert from Cloud-or click on the URL next to the video and drag to the end then copy and go to your e-mail and paste..I have a file where I put these videos to send out to people..someone may have a better method..I am self taught on the computer, its about like discovering the wheel for me..today i am installing some new memory chips in the computer..its like donald duck doing surgery!

  3. jan Says:

    time for more digging – did not know a carcass had been found in alasaka – knew they had found dinosaurs – frozen not fozzilied in that area

    tks for info

    posted video to some of my email groups

  4. jan Says:

    i have friend that knows how to download videos – to save to her computer – will ask her if she can save this one

  5. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    SANDY, THANK YOU TO ALL OF YOU WHO PRODUCED THIS WONDERFUL VIDEO.

  6. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    WHAT A WONDERFUL INFORMATIVE VIDEO!

    LOUIE, AS FAR AS SHARING IT, BESIDES WHAT SANDRA SAID, YOU CAN CLICK THE UTUBE SHARE OPTION AND A WINDOW COMES UP TO TYPE IN AN EMAIL ADDRESS AND MESSAGE TO GO WITH IT. ALSO YOU CAN CLICK ON THE FACEBOOK ICON TO SHARE, OR TWITTER AND OTHERS.

    BY THE WAY, FOR ALL OF YOUR INFORMATION,,,,,
    I WENT TO THE FALLON HOLDING FACILITY TODAY WHERE ALL OF OUR MUSTANGS FROM CALICO ARE BEING HELD AND PROCESSED. BLM IS CURRENTLY ALLOWING ONLY TEN PEOPLE PER WEEK ON SUNDAY EXCLUSIVELY, FROM 11:00 AM TO 1:00 PM!! THATS RIGHT PEOPLE! TEN PEOPLE, FOR 2 HOURS PER WEEK!

    …….TERI FARLEY WHO WRITES “THE PHANTOM STALLION” AND STARTED “HEARTS FOR HORSES”, HAD AN EXTRA RESERVATION AND I WAS ABLE TO GO ON THIS RESERVED SLOT AS THE PERSON SHE INVITED COULD NOT MAKE IT!
    I FELT FORTUNATE FOR THIS AS I IMAGINE IT WILL BE HARD TO GET IN THE FIRST COME FIRST SERVE RESERVES FOR THE WEEK. A WOMAN NAMED DENIZ WAS THERE VIDEO TAPING, DOCUMENTING FOR IDA. SHE WAS WITH A MALE FRIEND. TERRI AND I WERE LATE BY FIFTEEN MINUTES AS HER GPS LED US ASTRAY. SOME OTHERS WERE LATE BY AT LEAST A HALF AN HOUR! I
    IMAGINE WE GOT IN AN HOUR AND A HALF OF THE ALLOTED TIME FRAME. DENIZ AND HER FRIEND DROVE FROM THE BAY AREA, (SAN FRANCISCO AREA)
    WHICH HAD TO BE ABOUT 5 9R 6 HOURS AT LEAST!
    WE TOTALED ONLY SEVEN VISITING.

    WE ARE NOT ALLOWED TO VIEW THE PROCESSING PROCEDURES. ITS A GUIDED TOUR BY ONE WOMAN THAT WAS NOT PARTICULARLY PLEASANT, ALWAYS RUSHING US ALONG PACKING US TOGETHER. ( BLM HERDING QUALITY , HA HA.) IT SEEMED THAT EACH TIME I GOT INTO PHOTOGRAPING A PARTICULAR HORSE OR AREA, SHE WOULD TELL ME I HAD TO MOVE ON. I BIT MY TONGUE SEVERAL TIMES. EVERY SO OFTEN SHE SEEMED A BIT FRIENDLY, BUT IN GENERAL, NOT CASUAL OR TOO FRIENDLY. JUST GOING THROUGH THE MOTIONS IT SEEMED. WHAT CAN WE EXPECT?
    HEY, WE JUST WANT TO SEE OUR HORSES!

    WE STARTED AT THE SICK PENS. THEY DID INSTALL WIND BREAKS ON WHAT I THINK IS THE NORTH SIDE. TWO HORSES HAD A HUGE PATCH OF SKIN RIPPED FROM THEIR HIND FLANKS AND WE ASSUMED IT WAS FROM THE CHUTES. I TOOK SOME SHOTS OF THEM AND THEIR INJURIES. ONE I NOTICED TO BE LAME. THE IDA REP GOT THE TAKE ON VIDEO.

    ANYWAY, THEN WE WALKED DOWN A ROW OF LARGE PENS THAT HAD STALLIONS (INTACT WITH JEWELS IT SEEMED) ON THE LEFT SIDE AND MARES ON THE RIGHT. HAY BALES WERE STREWN ALONG THE OUTSIDE LENGTH OF THE METAL BAR FENCES, SEEMINGLY JUST OUT OF REACH OF THE HORSES MOUTHS. DENIZ NOTICED SOME STRESS INJURIES ON SOME OF THEIR NECKS FROM PUSHING HARD AGAINST THE FENCE BARS, TRYING TO REACH THE FOOD SHE THOUGHT. THE BLM WOMAN BEGAN KICKING THE HAY AND ALFALFA CLOSER TO THEM AND WE ALL JOINED IN. SHE UTTERED THAT SOMEONE WOULD BE COMING AROUND TO DO THIS, BUT I NEVER SAW AYONE WHILE WE WERE THERE.

    WE ROUNDED THE CORNER AND DOWN ANOTHER ROW, WHERE ALL THE YOUNGSTERS WERE RUNNING AND PLAYING IN LITTLE HERDS, DANCING AS IF THEY KNEW NOTHING WAS ASKEW. IT WAS ACTUALLY VERY SWEET AND THE GORGEOUS DAY WITH BLUE SKIES AND WHITE FLUFY CLOUDS, SNOW CAPPED PEAKS ALL AROUND, ALMOST MADE YOU FORGET THE GRIM REALITY, THE HORRORS ENDURED AND YET TO COME. EVEN THEIR FUTURE AS A SPECIES,
    THREATENED.

    IN GENERAL, MOST OF THE HORSES LOOKED PRETTY GOOD. ALL THE ONES WE SAW ANYWAY. A FEW THIN MARES AND STALLIONS THAT NIPPED ON EACH OTHER I SUPPOSE.

    I JUST FINISHED CHARGING UP MY CAMERA BATTERY AND I AM GOING TO LOOK OVER THE SHOTS I GOT TODAY AND UPLOAD SOME. YOU CAN GO TO MY FLICKR.COM SIOTE TO VIEW NEW SHOTS AND OLD ONES TOO.
    ……ARTATTACKCAT…….on flickr.com

    ( and yes, flickr does not have an “E”)

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      Cat, Wow, what an unexpected gift from you. I am glad you had this chance and thank you for sharing. Maybe you can do a post here with photos and descriptions?? I hope you go again. Your experience there is valuable. I am glad to hear the young ones were playing. I had hoped they were able to and you confirmed this for me… mar

  7. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    PLEAE EXCUSE SPELLING ERRORS IN MY POST, ALTHOUGH THERE REALLY IS NOT EXCUSE FOR THAT!!!

    You can go to my flickr.com user site………”artattackcat” Cat Kindsfather

    If you would like to view the Fallon shots I captured. I should have some on the site by Monday, and more to follow over the next few days.

    Thanks for all your comments, videos, information and horsie hearts. I love to read all the great input and sharing here.

  8. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    PLEASE!!! I did it again! Sorry, I think I am very tired from the day.

  9. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    CAT, THANK YOU– WHAT A TROOPER YOU ARE! THEY DON’T MAKE IT VERY WELCOMING FOR THE PUBLIC DO THEY? VISITORS LIKE YOU PROBABLY MAKE IT A WHOLE LOT BETTER FOR THE HORSES. IT SOUNDS AS THOUGH THEY ARE NOT STAFFING THE FACILITY AS THEY SHOULD–PROBABLY SPENT ALL OF THE MONEY ON THE ROUND-UP AND PRIVATE RANCH.

  10. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    Here they are, running and playing. I have some more. This one is special to me as I feel very much that the black one in foreground is Freedoms son! He looks like a smaller image of the proud stallion running away from the capture pens!!

    Do you agree??
    Mar, I am dedicating this one to you as you were concerned about the kids.

    Please do not use my photos without permissions. Do enjoy them however.

  11. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

  12. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    For some reason, the photo link is not posting! That is very strange!

  13. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    I am trying one more time to post this shot.

    Thanks Louie for your comments to me. Your’e a doll.

  14. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    I HAVE TESTED THE LINK AND IT APPEARS AND WORKS FINE FOR ME ELSE WHERE.
    I FEL BAD ITS NOT SHOWING UP HERE. THE ONLY THING I CAN SUGGEST IS TO GO TO THE PHOTOGRAPHY GROUP……… flickr.com …….type it into your webrowser or google it.

    When you get to flickr, try doing a search for me as
    artattackcat ~ Cat Kindsfather and see if you can view my photo stream there.

    I have shared photos with Craig Downer via his email address. I have done the same with Bonnie Matton of wild Horse Preservation, plenty of them!
    I do not understand why the link and photo will not show up here!

    So sorry!

  15. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    I just posted the link here, but now when I submit my comment, it disappears!

    Let see…….

  16. Janet Ferguson Says:

    The link is as wild as the horses

  17. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    HA ha, good one Janet! My frustrations are so apparent in this.

    I hope some of you did get to see them on flickr! You can sign up for a free account @ flickr.com, (there is no “e” in that word by the way) and make comments there also on shots. I put up some from the sick pens. You really should have a look at them. going now to get some more uploaded.

  18. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    CAT, I FINALLY GOT TO YOUR PICTURES–FINALLY. I GOT LOST THE LAST TIME I TRIED. I DIDN’T COMMENT THERE AS I WOULD HAVE TO GO THROUGH THE WHOLE PROCESS OF SIGNING UP ALL OVER AGAIN. I’LL COMMENT HERE. THANK YOU FOR SHOWING THE HORSES’ SIDE OF THE WHOLE SORDID STORY. YOUR PICTURES SHOW HOW DISMAL IT IS FOR THEM. IT LOOKS AS THOUGH YOU HAVE A FOLLOWING ON THE FLICKR WEBSITE–A FOLLOWING OF LIKE-MINDED SOULS THAT UNDERSTAND. THAT BRINGS EVEN MORE INTO THIS BATTLE THAT WOULD OTHERWISE NOT EVEN KNOW ABOUT IT. THANK YOU.

  19. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    LOUIE!!! YOU MADE IT! THAT IS SO AWESOME! I AM HAPPY YOU GOT TO SEE MY SHOTS. DID YOU GO ABCK PAST BLM FALLON FACILITY TO THE “TRUTH RALLY” ?
    AND PRIOR TO THAT IS THE MUSTANG AUCTIONS @ THE PRISON HERE INS CARSON. IF YOU GO BACK AGAIN, PLEASE TRY SIGNING UP FOR A FREE ACCOUNT. I WOULD LOVE TO HAVE YOR EDUCATED COMMENTS THERE,
    YOU CAN ALSO COMMENT ON OTHER HORSE GROUP SHOTS. IT SNOWBALLS AROUND. I DROP LINKS AND VIDEOS ALL THE TIME AND I DO FEEL IT IS A STRONG NETWORK! IF YOU GO BACK, DO A PEOPLE SEARCH FOR…..REMMEPARK……THAT IS HER USER NAME. SHE IS A PROFESSIONAL HORSE PHOTOGRAPHER AND MOSTLY HAS GYPSY HORSES. HER SHOTS ARE ON THE COVERS OF HORSE MAGAZINES AND ARE EXTREMELY GORGEOUS, SHE IS WITH US TOTALLY. I DO HAVE MANY FOLLOWERS ON FLICKR.

    THANKS FOR THE VISIT LOUIE!!! YOU DO SEE WHY I AM SO FRUSTRATED THAT I CANT SEEM TO GET THEM ON THIS SITE! FEELS GOOD THAT YOU SAW MY PHOTOS, ESPECIALLY FROM FALLON. I STILL HAVE MANY TO LOAD, SO COME BACK AND VISIT AGAIN!

  20. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    OMG! SPELLING ERRORS AGAIN, PLEASE EXCUSE THEM,
    PAST MY BEDTIME, AGAIN!

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      Cat, i will go see your pics when I get online with a server this week… it is hard where I am to get strong signal. Am looking forward to seeing them and the Vanners… I saw many in Balinasloe Horse Fair, County Galway, Ireland in 2005. mar

  21. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    Oh Mar, Great!! I hope you will make it there soon! You can join for free to comment on shots. Also, if you click on someone elses icon, it will take you to their photo stream. Enjoy them, but try not to cry @ Fallon shots. Not all are sad, but even the pretty shots, their eyes tell the sad story in their hearts. : (

    My dream headlines!!

    Federal judge says, “Put “em back! Rules in favor of IDA and wild horses! : )

  22. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    CAT, I WILL TRY. YOU HAVE TO UNDERSTAND THAT I AM STILL AT ALMOST A BEGINNER LEVEL ON THE COMPUTER–TAKES ME TIME AND I GET LOST, SOMETIMES. WHEN I DON’T RESPOND, THAT IS USUALLY THE REASON. I JUST JUMPED INTO THIS IN SEPTEMBER, WHEN THEY WENT AFTER THE HERDS IN THE PRYORS. I WAS NEVER THE SLIGHTEST BIT INTERESTED IN COMPUTERS BEFORE THAT. I AM HERE, ON THIS BLOG, WITH “OLD PROS”. THANK YOU FOR THE COMPLIMENT. I HAVE TO HAVE A BLOCK OF TIME THAT I “MINE, ALL MINE” TO GO DOWN A NEW ROAD.

  23. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    SEE, I DIDN’T EVEN SPELL RIGHT. HAVE TO POLISH OFF THE RUST.

  24. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    CAT, ALSO, I DID SEE YOUR PICTURES OF THE RALLY. I LOVED THEM! THERE IS SOMETHING THAT I THINK YOU WOULD ENJOY ON YOU TUBE. I DON’T KNOW OF ANY OTHER WAY TO POST IT HERE, BUT IT IS SO UPLIFTING. HORSES WERE MAROONED ON A PIECE OF LAND IN THE NETHERLANDS. THE WATER WAS RISING AND ALL ATTEMPTS TO RESCUE FAILED UNTIL A GROUP OF WOMEN ON HORSEBACK WENT OUT AND LED THEM BACK–YOU JUST HAVE TO WATCH IT:
    WHERE DO I PUT THIS SO THAT EVERYONE WILL SEE IT? GO TO
    YOU TUBE AND PULL THIS VIDEO UP AND WATCH IT. IT WILL LIFT YOUR SPIRITS.
    Netherlands Horse Rescue 2006 with names of rescue riders (6:

Leave a Reply

