American Herds Blog Posts

Excellent, informative and in-depth blog posts from American Herds.

Forage Anyone  http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2007/10/forage-anyone.html

Four More Out The Door http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2007/10/four-more-out-door.html

Planning Obsolescence http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2007/10/planning-obsolescence.html

Land of the Lawless http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2007/10/land-of-lawless.html

How Muddy the Mountains http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2007/12/how-muddy-mountains.html

Every Step of the Way http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2008/02/every-step-of-way.html

Last Herd Standing http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2008/09/last-herd-standing.html

For Everything Else http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2008/02/for-everything-else.html

Prove It  http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2008/03/prove-it.html

Devils in the Details http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2008/04/devils-in-details.html

Final Solution http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2008/05/final-solution.html

Breaking Through Del Rio http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2009/03/breaking-through-del-rio.html

ON ZEORED OUT ELY DISTRICT:

Slight of Hand http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2008/11/slight-of-hand.html

Watch the Rabbit Disappear http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2008/12/watch-rabbit-disappear.html

For Our Next Trick http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2008/12/for-our-next-trick.html

Nothing Up Our Sleeve http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2008/12/nothing-up-our-sleeve.html

The Magicians  http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2008/12/magicians.html

The Prestige  http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2008/12/prestige.html

Abracadabra Addendum http://americanherds.blogspot.com/2008/12/prestige.html

8 Responses to “American Herds Blog Posts”

  1. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    I HAD NOT KNOWN ABOUT ANY OF THIS PRIOR TO THE PRYORS. AS WE ARE FINDING OUT–NOT MANY DID. THEY KNOW NOW! ALSO KNOW THAT WE CAN NOT EVER RELAX OUR GUARD.

  2. Morgan Williams Says:

    Hey Makendra, Ginger, Christina and Ben:

    DO YOU EVER SLEEP ANYMORE???????????

  3. Angela Valianos Says:

    I am reposting in this blog since the last blog is closed…..

    Dearest Everyone-

    There is so much information surrounding the closure(s) of the plant here in Illinois and the 2 plants in Texas. After all these years we have been surrounded by many that have educated themselves on a completely different arena concerning Horses, and that would be the facts of slaughter as a whole. I know many of you joined into this battle to save Americas Mustangs and Burro’s and many had never realized the slaughter of these magnificent animals was even a remote possibility, I realize that the process of learning what has come before the battle you have engaged in, is very important so that you all know what you are up against. It has taken many years to get to the point of full knowledge yet we are surprised everyday !

    Now we are fighting a different battle, however still concerning the major VICTIM and that is the horse, wild or not.

    One thing I can assure everyone is the game has not changed, the rules change daily and that is where all of you come in.

    I feel that we need to pick apart the 5th Amendment for the Wild Horses and Land:

    http://caselaw.lp.findlaw.com/data/constitution/amendment05/14.html

    I know there are many questions and I will try to answer any and all, if you should have a question that needs answering ASAP please email me privately. Be assured that the PRO Slaughter folks read this forum along with all the others so be careful what you say, it will be used against the horses. annabell81824@aol.com

    Cavel was finally shut down after State Legislature signed a bill into law in the State of Illinois to make Horse Slaughter Illegal, in September of 07. However, during the battle/war we had many different TEAMS which would gather information on EVERY level of horse slaughter and attack CAVEL, along with the plants in Texas; towards the end, we took on the Offensive role instead of the defensive, we beat them at their own game.

    Texas was attacked with environmental issues along with a law that had been in standing within the State of Texas for many a year that made Horse Slaughter Illegal; the plants scoffed at us and the law (they are ALL foreign owned so they assumed the laws did not affect them) why should they; they made millions and only paid $5.00 in TAXES, anyhow, the plants in Texas fought with all they had, taking monies from the BIG CATTLEMEN ASSOC. to fight their battle. In the end losing of course but the brutal nature will stay forever in the hearts of those that witnessed it and still reside around the plant.

    Here in Illinois, I decided to take on the drug issue along with Dawn Mancina. We figured all punches counted. Dawn Mancina took on the responsibility of researching ALL the drugs common place in horses, on and off the track; she designed a packet with over 300 drugs labeled “NOT INTENDED FOR HUMAN CONSUMPTION”. The last part would be the beginning of the end in shipping USA horse meat overseas. I will get into that in a minute. The DeKalb Sanitary District here in Illinois was not enforcing fines which CAVEL owed due to overages in contamination in their offal going into the Sanitary Plant to clean and then release into the Kishwaukee River. These fines were up in the 10’s of thousands: blood money yet a good way to hit them, where it counts. The District and CAVEL didn’t think we were that smart, well, we were and are. Dawn flew in and we attended yet another meeting with the District with CAVEL there to answer to our allegations. We had a MEDIA TEAM that sent out our Press Release to EVERYONE EVERYWHERE because this would be the only way to get word to the people in the EU that this was a serious matter, the drugs. We were called upon to speak, only because they had to; Dawn and I presented our facts and findings. The people were concerned, the District and CAVEL NOT ! They again, were above the law, so they thought. We were dismissed but only after the information was made public and now used today with the EU.

    The District CLAIMED they knew nothing of these drugs, however the President, Dennis Collins is a very wealthy Pig Farmer here and deals with many of the common drugs on a daily basis. The District blamed it on the EPA, which is another story I shall get into later.
    The District kept giving CAVEL chances to get their output corrected and the reasons are (in my opinion and others):

    1.) They were ALL good ole boys and friends.
    2.) James Tucker ( the plants Manager) was big in with NIU (university) another long story.
    3.) They all played golf on the same green which one year the horses escaped and ran over the hill and ended up on the green, only to
    be rounded up and sent right back over the hill to their final destination; CAVEL.
    4.) The people here had been in fear of CAVEL, Monsanto and the Former Mayor Greg (the keg) Sparrow.

    You see the USDA and the EU were not completely honest with their consumers overseas. Women were miscarrying after ingesting the meat, children were dying and everyone wondered why ! Which brings me to the PZP, I have been informed by a very reliable source that the HSUS is paying for these drugs to be administered. Which would explain why they have not been active in trying to help. The ONLY time the HSUS tried to help me/horses was when ALL the homework was done so that they could get their names in the paper and up their donations. Even then, I had to hire couriers to get pamphlets to the Federal Judges with the facts because the HSUS would not present a case in ANY of my interactions with them, I did not receive donations after this, THEY DID ! ANOTHER long story.

    If you wish to visit Animals’ Angels website, here you will find other avenues and courageous people who have taken this battle further with the hope of directing ALL FACTUAL documentation to the EU and the people who have been fooled by the USDA and the GOLDEN HALOS which have have now shown their true HORNS: http://www.animals-angels.com/index.php?pageID=start_us&sessionLang=us

    Animals’ Angels have been deep in the trenches not only here, or circulating the drug issue but they have put their lives on the line to get deep into Mexico, a horror you will never begin to understand or one you shall never forget. We have further documentation showing 3 FULL truck loads of horses been turned away from KILLER BUYERS and yes RESCUES, taken down deep into Mexico and dumped in old mine shafts; if not already dead upon arrival, they (you would) wish they would have been, this death will take longer and much more cruel then anything you may have ever seen. Please join the mailing list of Animals’ Angels, they are truly angels sent from GOD !

    What we do know are several of the BLM horses ended up here in Illinois at CAVEL !!! CAVEL still holds ownership on the slaughter plant here, they are merely leasing it to a Muslim group, they have NOT taken down their signs, why? Because they have every intention on reopening, and the BLM is already selling horses 3-4 cents a lb to KILLER BUYERS. And, we do know that horses are disappearing from the BLM lots, fast !

    I have almost 9 years of who, what, why, where and when. Too much for a simplified explanation.

    What I do need is a TEAM of people passionate enough to follow through on getting the facts from the BLM. If anyone is interested in taking action then PLEASE let me know. This will be a learning experience and a very emotional roller coaster, so I do know first hand that it can make a person get lost.

    I feel I need to say a bit about myself in defense of some personal attacks on me, just so you all know. I have nothing to hide and will answer all questions. I spent so many days and nights at the plant and witnessed so many awful actions that even as strong as I am, I could not seem to deal with what I was so deeply passionate about and deeply involved with. I made a promise to ALL the horses; that I would see this through to the very end, I intended on keeping those promises, at any cost.

    About 2 years before we succeeded in closing the plant I witnessed 2 truck loads of babies entering the gates. At first, the trucks looked empty and I wondered why. With deeper examination, I seen legs at the bottom, then I seen little eyes trying to peek through holes just above them, through the tainted metal trailer I seen BIG, unsure, scared BROWN EYES peering back at me.
    OH MY GOD THEY WERE JUST BABIES !!!

    More later on ALL the illegal activities that ALL the plants engaged in.

    That, along with so many other things in my personal life sent me right over the edge. I had to leave and went directly to my Doctor who prescribed me Xanex. Some days it would help me but others I needed more, more help to carry through with my promises to the horses so, I drank. I mainly drank at night and I would drink alot, don’t get me wrong, I am not defending my behavior I am explaining. No one else was right in the trenches here at the plant every single day as I was, so who is to say how anyone would handle it, this is how I felt I could. Right after the plant shut down I found help outside of the bottle but not before my damage had been done.

    I can say that I have gotten into heated discussions, emails and said some pretty awful things to others in defense of myself and my battle, my battle with myself and for the Horses. That being said, yes, I have done and said some things that the average person might not have, but who is to say unless they were doing what I had been doing.

    I have been accused of many things that are simply not true, however, some are. I might have done or said several things to get my anger out but, I am the first to admit them. Should you have any questions on something you may have heard on what I might have done, I would appreciate a forthright question, I am sorry for what I truly have done and will pay for that for a very long time. I can say my first and foremost duty was to the horses, and it still is….always !

    That being said, if anyone has any questions about my past, please ask me. I felt this needed to be said should anyone wish to work with me on my next plan to get to the core of the BLM’s accounting on heads within their so called holding area’s and the plan to reopen CAVEL to send our horses EAST !

    I have never been in this battle for the glory and many have, thus the attacks. So, we need TEAM members that can look beyond what I did to myself and things I said to others while in my anger. So, again, if anyone wants to help me get the info we need, please email me privately, we cannot have the topic in a public forum.

    Thank you all for reading and I hope you NEVER give up, this will be a battle-war and it will last longer then most think.

    Angela Valianos
    815-260-1722

  4. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    ANGELA, YOU ARE AN ANIMAL ANGEL. A WHOLE TRUCKLOAD OF XANEX WOULD NOT BE ENOUGH.

  5. Angela Valianos Says:

    Thank you Louie…

    However today I do not feel like I am an angel in any sense; I am regressing, just in my heart ! I have been crying all morning and when I read your short yet very sweet comment I felt hopeless, still do.

    I drove by CAVEL and they are SHINING up the place !

    OUR Wild Mustangs and Burro’s will be going here, drug free…..

    Angela

  6. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    ANGELA, EQUINE WELFARE ALLIANCE IS VERY MUCH AWARE OF THE SITUATION– CONTACT THEM.

  7. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    ANGELA, YOU NEED A BUFFER ZONE, SOMEHOW. YOU CANNOT BE IN THE KIND OF WORK YOU ARE IN UNLESS YOU HAVE SOME KIND OF REFUGE FOR YOURSELF. ALL PEOPLE IN CRISIS WORK–FIRST RESPONDERS, CARETAKERS, TEACHERS, SOCIAL WORKERS, NURSES, –ARE AT GREAT RISK. YOU HAVE TO TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF IN ORDER TO BE ABLE TO HELP ANYONE OR ANYTHING ELSE. I COMPARE IT TO BEING A LIFEGUARD–YOU HAVE TO BE ABLE TO SWIM IN ORDER TO SAVE SOMEONE ELSE FROM DROWNING. THERE ARE MANY HERE AND ON OTHER WEBSITES YOU CAN NETWORK WITH THAT UNDERSTAND AND HAVE THE SAME COMPASSION. FIND ONE GOOD THING, EVERY DAY, THAT RAISES YOUR VIBRATIONS.

Leave a Reply

