Stop the Eagle Roundup- Easy Action

This petition from allows you to send a letter directly to President Obama, your Senators and your Congress person. Numbers to call for follow-up will show up below sample letter. Please spread around! Each call or original letter is generally considered as the equivalent to 600 votes. Your voice is powerful– stand up and speak up for wild horses!
Thank you, just click below and be sure to “tweet” and post to your “facebook” if you are able.
STOP THE EAGLE ROUNDUP- TAKE ACTION


88 Responses to “Stop the Eagle Roundup- Easy Action”

  1. sandra longley Says:

    , give me land, lots of land under starry skies above,
    Don’t fence me in.
    Let me ride through the wide open country that I love,
    Don’t fence me in.
    Let me be by myself in the evenin’ breeze,
    And listen to the murmur of the cottonwood trees,
    Send me off forever but I ask you please,
    Don’t fence me in.

    Just turn me loose, let me straddle my old saddle
    Underneath the western skies.
    On my Cayuse, let me wander over yonder
    Till I see the mountains rise.

    I want to ride to the ridge where the west commences
    And gaze at the moon till I lose my senses
    And I can’t look at hovels and I can’t stand fences
    Don’t fence me in.

    Oh, give me land, lots of land under starry skies,
    Don’t fence me in.
    Let me ride through the wide open country that I love,
    Don’t fence me in.
    Let me be by myself in the evenin’ breeze
    And listen to the murmur of the cottonwood trees
    Send me off forever but I ask you please,
    Don’t fence me in

    Just turn me loose, let me straddle my old saddle
    Underneath the western skies
    On my Cayuse, let me wander over yonder
    Till I see the mountains rise.
    Ba boo ba ba boo.

    I want to ride to the ridge where the west commences
    And gaze at the moon till I lose my senses
    And I can’t look at hobbles and I can’t stand fences
    Don’t fence me in.
    No.
    Poppa, don’t you fence me in

    by Bing Crosby…”freedoms” theme song on his way back across the desert

    • sandra longley Says:

      Even better, watch Roy Rogers sing this with trigger, in an old b/w during WW2…its great, adds new words to the song..enjoy..

      ://www.youtube.com/watch?v=93argkjkRxk

  2. Michael J Ahles Says:

    Choose wisely what you eat, a beef boycott will set the mustangs free.

    =
    MJA

    • true15 Says:

      mustangs end up as pet food as well, here and overseas.

      • Margaret Says:

        Actually that isn’t so true for this country. Horse was excluded from dog food in the late 70’s. You CAN render a horse for zoo food which is different than slaughter. The horse is already dead. I don’t know if the rules about drugs for rendering are the same.

        I do however TOTALLY agree that mustangs can/have/will end up being slaughtered for human consumption via Kennie Salazar and Co. if something isn’t done.

      • reveil39 Says:

        Keep in mind that horse meat in most of Europe is not a delicacy.
        In France horse meat is much cheaper than beef and not commonly used.
        I don’t think anyone would purchase mustang either.

      • true15 Says:

        Furthermore, in Europe horse meat is not considered a delicacy, since it is much cheaper than beef over there.

    • Laura Says:

      And forget the idea that horse meat is a delicacy in Europe. The cost is low, for folks who can’t afford beef.

  3. Laura Evans Says:

    My daughter and I watched Spirit last night. We’re going to get the soundtrack. There are alot of really good songs on there.

  4. Sharon Kennedy Says:

    I want to know why this round-up is happening and horses are terrorized and dying when the American people have spoken against this cruelty.

    The greatest Americans in history loved horses and protected them with kindness…..Jefferson, Madison, Monroe, Washington, Kennedy, Truman…in fact, Mr. Truman had the opportunity to blow an entire German regiment off a hill…he refused to order the command to fire as the Germans were rushing their horses off the field of battle to safety.

    When Truman subordinate inquired why aren’t we firing….we have them right in range…Truman replied….let them get their horses to safety…we’ll get them when they come down the hill.

    Gen. Patton saved the famed Stallions of Vienna, and here we are in 2010 killing the descendents of the horses that served the United States cavalry, the tribes of Cochise, Sitting Bull, etc. This a travesty and an offense against God’s generosity.

  5. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    THESE BLASTED PASSWORDS!

    • Karen L. Says:

      Louie, Were you able to sign? I had been given a password previously to this change.org site and didn’t even know it! They sent it to my e-mail this A.M. in ~5minutes; then everything went well.

  6. jan eaker Says:

    I just received word that BLM has deferred this roundup to a time later in the year, has anyone else heard this!!!!!!

  7. jan eaker Says:

    here is the link:
    http://www.blm.gov/nv/st/en/info/newsroom/2010/february/blm_defers_proposed.html

  8. jan eaker Says:

    it was sent to me on an email from another poster, I checked it out and that’s what is poated on their website, also on the Ely district web page,

    • Karen L. Says:

      Yeah, I found it! There’s also news that Salazar is immediately beginning to act pursuant to Obama’s proposed budget. They are up to something—a) “we” ARE making a difference, b) they are not prepared to meet up with Mr. Spriggs tomorrow on the injunction hearing, and c) they’re planning something else while we are diverted from Eagle.

      • jan eaker Says:

        all of that is probably true, but right now, for this moment, I am celebrating the fact that wild horses will be left alone on their range, to have their babies in peace, and perhaps by the time BLM will reschedule this roundup, things will have changed forever, I am joyous for these horses. and on Tuesday, in the snowstorm we are supposed to be in the midst of, and I am in the vigil for the Calico horses, I will hold on to the thought that those 2 babies, the foals that were aborted and the others who lost their lives, did not die in vain.

      • Karen L. Says:

        Yes, sorry, I’m talking to you on two different threads. I, too, am joyful and thanking God as we speak!

  9. jan eaker Says:

    BLM has received over 9,000 comments about this proposed roundup, also too many comments about the Calico debacle w/dead babies, the adult horses may not move a lot of people, I don’t know, but those 2 babies and all the miscarriages, that got a LOT of people outraged,

  10. Karen L. Says:

    Mar, What’s your take on this???

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      Sorry I was out in the truck to get online today. This evening I finally got a signal inside.
      I expect some trickster moves, but I do believe that BLM has looked so bad that this was Tom Gorey getting the Agency clear. PR man. The site they set up I guess I should visit but it will make me feel dirty going there. I only want to tell them I do not want them managing the wild ones and leave them all alone and let them go home. I do not trust what they are up to. I have been hacked several times and had things at my space messed up. These people are dangerous. They kill horses. They hire killers to do their dirty work, and they are all unprofessional and way out of line with al they have done. All my opinion…

      Today I had an advocate tell me that BLM will not allow me to document and photograph the wild horse herds about the West!!?? It was a shock and so much so I was afraid this woman might try to stop me as she has tunnel vision. JF said I need a break. So did Rox. I don’t know. There is too much to do. I want to save the stallions. Can we?? I do not want to ask or tell BLM to do it because then they will enjoy cutting them all the more.

      I hope TCF will keep the Freedom Fund alive so we can save some horses. mar

      • Karen L. Says:

        Thanks, Mar. That’s essentially what I think. I did visit the new site once—only once last night. If you are feeling a little bit paranoid, it is justified!

        I’m also for continuing or restarting the Freedom Fund.

      • Janet Ferguson Says:

        If 25 people could send $10.00 per month to the Freedom Fund, that would begin to add up really fast. We send a small check every so often and have send 3-4 checks by now.

      • Marilyn Wargo Says:

        Great, I think the freedom fund is a great buffer to have. JF I hope that 100+ people will do $10. a month!! mar

      • Barbara Steele Says:

        The Freedom Fund was money well spent. I am in for the Fund for the Calicos but how and who will listen to us. Is there a sanctuary that could step in and purchase some of these stallions now and get them out of that hell hole?

  11. jan eaker Says:

    go to http://www.doi.gov, the DOI wants us to join w/them in conversations about “an open government.” topics include transparency and FOIA, this would be a good place to be in numbers, LOUD numbers, they’re asking for our dialogue, let’s give them what they say they want!

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      But what will they do to us?? I am not trusting this. Please ignore me, as it is just my instincts saying I must not go there… Why there? have we not been giving them hell for, months already? Why is it we must be lap dogs all of a sudden after this bloody roundup??

      Well, Karen, this is my take on this I guess. My apologies for being abrupt… mar

  12. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    COMMENTS ON THE RUBY PIPELINE ARE DUE IN BY FEBRUARY 15. DOES ANYONE HAVE A SAMPLE COMMENT THAT WE COULD SEE?

    • Lisa LeBlanc Says:

      Louie – I found the Environmental Impact Report yesterday on ferc.gov. It details everything from decontruction to reconstruction and everything in between.
      It’s 312 pages long and they’ve dotted all their i’s & t’s. There is a mention, briefly, about measures to be taken to avoid causing issues for the Wild Ones, but overall we’re going to have some difficulty disputing it. For every argument the Advocates may have, the companies building this have an answer.
      This, of course, presupposes that the protocols will actually be followed and the appropriate government agencies will watch and follow through.
      Even after reading it from start to finish, I’m still not convinced this is necessary or even a marginally good idea. But in the long run, it’s going to make those two companies very wealthy, indeed.

      • Marilyn Wargo Says:

        Lisa, They still shoved this down the nations throat and for the cost it is absurd and it will not create enough jobs. It a placating action by the administration. You told me yourself it is on seismic active land!! It uses too much water. It goes through Pristine wilderness!!!

        Stop the Ruby Pipeline. Normally that would be where I was, trying to stop an overpriced destructive and dangerous, maybe not necessary, huge project.

        Just because the Sierra CLub is not taking action against this doesn’t mean others should follow suit. mar

      • Marilyn Wargo Says:

        Lisa, Come back, we need you, I am a grumpy old lady>>> mar

  13. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    LISA, HOW HAVE THEY ADDRESSED THE WATER USE ISSUES AND THE FACT THAT THEY ARE CUTTING THROUGH SOME OF AMERICA’S MOST BEAUTIFUL AND PRISTINE LAND? FROM WHAT I UNDERSTAND, IT TAKES QUITE A BIT OF WATER PRESSURE TO GET THE NATURAL GAS THROUGH THE PIPELINE. THIS IS GOING THROUGH AREAS WHERE WATER IS ALREADY AN ISSUE. THE PEOPLE NEED TO REALIZE THAT THEIR WATER RIGHTS ARE AT STAKE.

  14. Carole Photiadis Says:

    I have recently DEMANDED the resignation of Ken Salazar with a written letter to Hatch, Matheson and Benson. While this seems only a trifle, if we are willing to back up letters of protest with actions and protests to the BLM concerning the violations against the animals that are being hurt and distroyed by the very protectors that are meant to carry out the edicts of the Wild Horse and Burro Act, maybe we can bring to public attention the miscarriage of justice that is going on.

  15. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    MAR, THAT IS WHAT I FORGOT TO SAY–THE SEISMIC GEOGRAPHY OF THE LAND. DOES ANYONE HAVE A SAMPLE LETTER?

  16. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    MAR, NOT SURE WE SHOULD GO ONTO THEIR WEBSITE–THEY LIKE TRAPS TOO MUCH. REMEMBER THE “SPIDER AND THE FLY”?

  17. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    MAR, AS YOU SAID, THEY ALREADY KNOW WHAT WE THINK–WE HAVE BEEN YELLING AT THE TOP OF OUR LUNGS. WITH THE THOUSANDS OF COMMENTS ON THE CALICO AND EAGLE ROUND-UPS–THERE SHOULD BE LITTLE DOUBT AS TO WHAT WE ALL WANT.

  18. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Right, Louie, they do know and in detail. Now they want us to explain it all again? For whose benefit??? You have official comments in your name and more to write and Those are the ones that count as well as what you write to them on your own. People thought that stopping the Calico roundup was a ploy. It was more ‘save face’. But this site is a ploy. If you want to mess with them that is one thing. Maybe that is the way to go. I am not buying. But this is just me. mar

  19. sandra longley Says:

    The comments section @ the DOI are open til the midlde of march, that and the fact the BLM has comments to the first part of march in susanville says the intend to start gathering again after that point..they knew a lawsuit was to be filed today…but unless the judge issues an injuction-nothing has to stop…I would imagine it sunk in their heads that things went horribly wrong at Calico with a winter gather and they are hoping march will be better…i don’t really think we had anything to do with their decision making

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      Sandra, Do not forget the Burros. the need our attention. Cibola – Trigo Wild Burro roundup starts in Arizona on March 4 followed by two more in Arizona and one in Nevada. Volunteers are needed for all to observe… I will be at the Black Mountain, Arizona roundup;

      MARCH 2010 BLM WILD BURRO ROUNDUPS IN WESTERN ARIZONA

      THIS MARCH THERE WILL BE 3 WILD BURRO ROUNDUPS CONDUCTED BY BUREAU OF LAND MANAGEMENT CONTRACTORS, THE CATTOORS, IN WESTERN ARIZONA. THIS IS A REQUEST FOR VOLUNTEERS TO ATTEND THESE ROUNDUPS, TO BE WITNESS TO THE ACTIONS OF THE BLM AND CONTRACTOR WHO WILL BE ROUNDING UP AND REMOVING WILD BURROS FOR ADOPTION, SALE AND LONG TERM HOLDING. YOUR PRESENCE MAY HELP TO LESSEN THE STRESS THE WILD BURROS EXPERIENCE AND MAY SAVE LIVES BY BEING AN INFLUENCE UPON THE ACTIONS OF THE CONTRACTORS. PLEASE BE COURTEOUS TO ALL.

      CIBOLA TRIGO HMA ROUNDUP WILL TAKE PLACE APPROXIMATELY FROM MARCH 4TH TO 10TH. PLEASE CALL YUMA DISTRICT BLM OFFICE AT 928-317-3200, AHEAD TO VERIFY DATES AND PLACE WHERE CAPTURE AND OBSERVATION WILL OCCUR AND BE PLACED ON A RESERVATION LIST. THIS SITE IS ALONG THE ARIZONA/CALIFORNIA BORDER WHERE THE IMPERIAL DAM IS LOCATED ALONG THE COLORADO RIVER, BETWEEN HIGHWAY 95 AND THE COLORADO RIVER, AND INTERSTATE 8 AND 10, 20 MILES SOUTH OF YUMA. POPULATION SIZE MAY BE ABOUT 145 WILD BURROS. THERE ARE TO BE 90 CAPTURED AND ALL THESE REMOVED. THERE ARE 1 MILLION ACRES HERE AND ALSO 145 WILD HORSES. IF YOU ARE ABLE TO DISCUSS THE NUMBERS REMOVED AND THE NUMBERS TO REMAIN, PLEASE ASK FOR AN EXPLANATION TO WHY THE HERD WILL BE SO SMALL AS TO BE GENETICALLY NOT VIABLE IF ONLY 55 BURROS WILL BE LEFT IN THE WILD. ASK IF THERE ARE ANY LONG TERM PLANS TO LEAVE THESE BURROS ON THIS RANGE OR TO EVENTUALLY ZERO THEM OUT.

      ALAMO HMA WILD BURRO ROUNDUP WILL BE HELD APPROXIMATELY MARCH 11TH TO MARCH 14TH TO CAPTURE 35 BURROS TO BE REMOVED FROM A HERD THAT MAY BE 200, ACCORDING TO ARIZONA BLM. PLEASE CALL AHEAD TO LAKE HAVASU DISTRICT OFFICE AT 928-505-1200, TO VERIFY THE DATES AND PLACE FOR THE CAPTURE AND OBSERVATION AND TO BE PLACED ON A RESERVATION LIST. WILD BURROS ARE LOCATED ON 341,000 ACRES OF SONORAN DESERT LAND. THE BURROS LIVE WITHIN AN AREA BORDERED BY ALAMO LAKE, BILL WILLIAMS RIVER, SANTA MARIA RIVER AND BIG SANDY RIVER WEST OF WICKENBURG ON HIGHWAY 60; 50 MILES TO WENDEN, 30 MILES NORTH ON COUNTY ROAD TO ALAMO LAKE STATE PARK. IN THE 1970S THERE WAS A HERD OF 1000 WHEN REMOVALS BEGAN. AGAIN, IF YOU ARE ABLE TO DICUSS THE NUMBERS BEING REMOVED AND THE NUMBERS TO REMAIN, DO SO. ASK IF THIS HERD WILL BE PLANNED FOR IN THE FUTURE OR IF IT WILL BE ZEROED OUT.

      BLACK MOUNTAIN HMA WILD BURRO ROUNDUP WILL TAKE PLACE APPROXIMATELY MARCH 15TH TO THE 20TH. 90 WILD BURROS ARE REMOVED EACH YEAR FROM THIS HERD OF ABOUT 475. CALL KINGMAN DISTRICT OFFICE AT 928-718-3700 TO VERIFY THE DATES AND THE PLACE OF CAPTURE AND OBSERVATION AND TO BE PLACED ON A RESERVATION LIST. BLACK MOUNTAIN NWAR IS LOCATED 15 MILES WEST OF KINGMAN ALONG THE COLORADO RIVER, 80 MILES FROM HOOVER DAM SOUTH TO HISTORIC ROUTE 66 AND OATMAN, ARIZONA, AND NEEDLES BRIDGE ON THE ARIZONA AND CALIFORNIA BORDER. THERE ARE 1.1 MILLION ACRES HERE AND 2/3 OF THE HERD IS LOCATED IN THE SOUTHERN PART OF THE HMA. IN THE 1970S WHEN REMOVALS BEGAN THERE WERE 2000 WILD BURROS HERE, ACCORDING TO ARIZONA BLM. IF YOU HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY TO DISCUSS THIS HERD AND THE NUMBER THAT WILL BE REMOVED AND THAT WILL REMAIN, PLEASE DO. ASK IF THE HERD WILL BE PLANNED FOR IN THE FUTURE OR POSSIBLY ZEROED OUT.

      REMEMBER TO DO AS BLM ASKS, PLEASE ARRIVE ON TIME AND BE CALM REGARDLESS OF WHAT YOU SEE OR IF YOU ARE ASKED TO WAIT. HOW YOU ACT MAY DETERMINE IF OTHERS WILL BE ALLOWED TO OBSERVE. TAKE PHOTOS AND VIDEO WHENEVER POSSIBLE AND TAKE NOTES AND COUNT THE BURROS YOU ARE ABLE TO SEE, HAVE BINOCULARS. ASK ANY PERTINENT QUESTIONS THAT MAY HELP YOU AND OTHERS UNDERSTAND HOW THESE WILD ONES ARE HANDLED AND MANAGED. WEAR A HAT, HAVE SUNSCREEN, PLENTY OF WATER AND COMFORTABLE SHOES OR BOOTS. BE AWARE OF THE WEATHER THAT DAY SO YOU WILL NOT BE UNCOMFORTABLE.

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      The first wild horse roundup after foaling is the zeroing out of the Bordo herd near Socorro, New Mexico in June. I will be at this roundup also. Mar

    • Karen L. Says:

      If the IDA and its team continue to file suits before each gather, the BLM will have to cancel each roundup or face them in court. Mr. Spriggs et al will obtain at least preliminary, temporary injunctions and wait for a court date on a permanent injunction for each one. (See Calico) Then the BLM has to fight the permanent injunctive action as it comes up on the docket. Even if the permanent injunction is denied, a court date may be set for the case in chief. Did “we” have anything to do with what happened yesterday? Who knows? Did the filing for an injunction by IDA have anything to do with it? Absolutely.

      • Marilyn Wargo Says:

        I have no idea if IDA will venture into New Mexico. This is not an old herd. The Jicarilla herd is partly on Forest Service but the reservation is there and those horses are used by the Apache and much loved. I wish we could save them. The horses off the charts are not so easy for us to help. Locals need to do all they can Linda from NM has been involved… The Bordo horses came from the Bosque del Apache in the 50s. mar

      • Karen L. Says:

        I don’t know either regarding the New Mexico herds. All of the gathers are a travesty. I’m trying to get sandra to show us how we and the IDA injunctive actions are not making a difference…

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      BLM states the Calico roundup ‘went well’ and they do not care about what we care about. They were looking very bad to the American Public and Tom Gorey is the Very Most Likely person who was doing damage control. The site you go to is also Damage Control. Many of us have been working on this issue for years, decades and nearly all our lives. The numbers of people who have become advocates and the emails and phone calls have done So Much. They have been ignoring us all the time. We have gotten the attention of the White House now and we need to keep after them… We are doing all we can and much more, believe me. It is not all here at the blog and will never be. This is not a source of commiseration, if you go back and read this blog over and read the links that have been researched by some great women, you would have a very good education and would be up on all the various aspects of this complex issue. I speak only for myself when I say I am not playing BLM’s games. If you go to the site and tell them all you desperately want they will not be forthcoming in any way shape or form, but yes, you will have ‘cooperated with them’ as we all have done over and over. Go for it, but realize we are much more here than just talking among ourselves. Thousands read here and learn. This is a powerful tool. mar

  20. sandra longley Says:

    IT is VERY important to express your thoughts on the public forum offered at DOI…that is what is called a paper trail…proof..that we came, participated, and offered solutions. that were sane sensible and workable..what we want to do is to save the horses…by what ever means is necessary…talking among ourselves is good resourcing and encouraging for the dark days…but we as individuals can only do so much…as a group is where we can have an impact…I can understand your distrust of the BLM and DOI-but this is not about them and personal feelings -is about doing-everything humanely possible to stop this and make a future for these horse for the next 100 years not just today.

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      My paper trail is very long. I do want to save the horses.. it is very personal to everyone I know and we have been been doing everything humanly possible. If you have no strategy at all then you will not put your efforts out in the best places at the right time. That counts for much here. i am just giving my opinion and it is a respectable one with experience behind it.

      Asking BLM to stop gelding horses will not work but telling the world they are risking more horses lives by doing this may put pressure on them once again to cease and desist. I try to never assume anything… and we have brought public outrage to bear on BLM and it is effective. The suits are also and may give us satisfaction. All of it matters.

      Sandra, you said,
      “i don’t really think we had anything to do with their decision making” and in my opinion you are so very wrong… This is all happening because of “US”…
      mar

      • Karen L. Says:

        Yes, Mar, I just can’t type as fast as you! My paper trail stretches from one end of this nation to the other! The cause is personal, but I am not personally afraid of the BLM. And I, too, believe we are making a difference.

    • Karen L. Says:

      sandra, As Mar and I have both said, they have offered this SAME type of public forum before. The problem with commenting has nothing to do with personal feelings (for me); it has to do with the fact that they have used the public input AGAINST the horses. They use it to continue their intended agenda by learning how the public feels/thinks and then going around it. It is a form of espionage. Having said that, I did make a substantial comment last night on the very outside chance that this is legitimate.

      In regard to my above comment on this thread at 8:03 P.M., how are they going to avoid facing IDA and Spriggs in court forever? Yes, the BLM intends to start roundups again full force, but how are they going to avoid continuing injunctive action? The IDA is approaching these legal proceedings differently than the BLM has ever seen. “Somebody” is making a difference.

  21. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    O.K. WHERE DO WE START FOR THE BURROS–APPARENTLY THEY HAVE BEEN HARRASSING THEM FOR A LONG TIME.

  22. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Louie, I do not know where you live and I do not know where many of the newer people are located. We should be finding people to attend the roundups or else we will be asking what happened, again, because there were no advocates there.
    mar

  23. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    ‘They’ have been known to shoot all the burros in corrals. That will not happen here, I think, but it is part of recent history. mar

  24. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    WE NEED SOME CONTACTS THAT CAN GET THE INFORMATION PUBLIC AS HAS BEEN DONE WITH THE HORSES. NEWSPAPERS, LOCAL NEWS, ETC. HAVE TO FIND MULE AND BURRO PEOPLE THAT ARE PASSIONATE–AND THEY ARE–JUST AS PASSIONATE AS HORSE PEOPLE! BURROS ARE VERY AFFECTIONATE–ALMOST LIKE DOGS–AND VERY INTELLIGENT.

  25. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    THE THING THAT WE HAVE TO KEEP COMING BACK TO, IT THAT THIS IS A LAND GRAB–ON A HUGE SCALE AND THE ANIMALS ARE BEING MADE TO PAY THE PRICE.

  26. sandra longley Says:

    Informing the public is how you get them on the side of the horses-there are no frount page articles out there, no prime time coverage0-no marches on DC..public awareness is criticle…this is not 1976/78-people are struggling to survive have lost their jobs are afraid of of the economic future-have lost their retirement are worried about healthcare, and focused about their own future..This is an up hill job…we can’t make it to the frount page, and get the attention Annie got..We have to use EVERY available avenue to get public awareness….the internet gives us an ability to organise, and share information and research, and thank god for the observers who are able to share what is happening thru the internet-but there are vast resourses of people who do not come here and who are not involved and need to be reached and educated. I also know how the law works, how politics works, have been breeding horses for 40 years, worked on cattle ranches in Nevada and lived among the wild horses-and worked in the energy business-and researched for the US attorneys office…Everyone has a part to play and experience to bring to the table..we need EVERYONE to be a friend to the the wild horses, no matter if they start today-if the goal-is to save them

    • Karen L. Says:

      sandra, No one is disputing the value of informing the public! Those of us who have used the “federal portal” before have seen the input skewed against the animals. That is a fact.

      Again, please tell us how the BLM is going to avoid injunctive action by IDA et al in the future?

  27. sandra longley Says:

    An injuction is only a temporary fix, You can’t keep getting them based on the same challenge..I understand this one focuses on different point of law, narrower perhaps..and you just have to hope its a judge who can interpret it in our favor. That has not been the case-except when the BLM was arrogant and said they did not have to prove–anything..My understanding is that the burns amendment has circumvented the original bill…and it will take legislative action to change that.

    • Karen L. Says:

      sandra, Of course an injunction is a temporary fix. The actions have to be addressed on a case by case basis and this takes time and resources for the BLM to address. Way back on this blog I linked William Spriggs’ resume—try Googling his name. He’s up to just about any challenge at any level. The Burns Amendment allowed for the sale of mustangs ‘without restriction’—a potential problem since 2003 or 2004. The CURRENT LITIGATION has to do more with the multi-use provisions of the Federal Land Policy Management Act of the late 1970’s and whether or not it trumps the 1971 WH&B Act. (Go back and read attorney Laura Allen at the Animal Law Coalition site.) We have discussed all this extensively on this blog over the past week, as well as that both federal court action AND federal legislative action will probably be necessary to make real changes for the horses. Did you miss the part where Mar posted an outstanding piece from the chief researcher for IDA? He agrees. Several of us are trying to respond to your posts in a thoughtful manner. It is difficult to tell if you are even reading ours.

  28. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    We are all here together. mar

  29. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    MAR, WHAT I MEAN IS PEOPLE WHO RIDE MULES IN COMPETETIVE EVENTS AND PEOPLE WHO HAVE BURROS FOR PACK ANIMALS/FAMILY PETS. PEOPLE WHO ARE RAISE THEM.

  30. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    WE HAVE LONG-TIME FRIENDS-NEIGHBORS WHO HAD THEM FOR PACK ANIMALS DURING HUNTING SEASON, BUT THEY WERE ALSO ALMOST MEMBERS OF THE FAMILY. THEY HAVE A LOT OF GOOD BURRO STORIES TO TELL–I’M TRYING TO GET SOME OF THEM. I REALIZE THERE IS A DIFFERENCE BETWEEN WILD AND DOMESTIC, BUT DOMESTIC ANIMALS CAN GIVE US INSIGHT INTO THE WAYS OF AN ANIMAL. ALSO, THERE IS AN OLDER POST HERE WITH A COMMENT TELLING OF THE REAL REASON FOR THE SLATED REMOVAL OF BURROS–COMMERCIAL INTERESTS IN THE LAND THEY ARE ON.

  31. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    IT MIGHT BE A GOOD PIECE FOR HUMANION FILMS(NOT SURE IF I SPELLED THAT RIGHT). KATIA LOUISE IS THE ONE, I THINK, WHO WE COULD CONTACT. BRAIN STORM–IS THERE ANY WAY THAT THE BURROS COULD HELP BRING SOME COMMERCE TO THAT AREA? COULD THEY BRING POSITIVE INTEREST AND SOMEHOW PUT THAT AREA “ON THE MAP”?

  32. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    louie, at Black Mountain they are a tourist attraction. It is near the old Route 66. The herd is well maintained. But I do not know how that may change as they went after Cloud’s herd for no good reason as they had natural predators and all.

    There are many people who visit burro herds in the SW and Cal. but they are nearly gone and the few include the little herd at Twin Peaks which is one of the last viable herds left in California. the people out there need to fight for them hard and not let them be zeroed out in the coming years. as we are all trying to help, also, the local and state people have been making themselves heard for a long time. They are sad to see burros gone from Death Valley and other popular places. Children love to see them. mar

    • Karen L. Says:

      Remember when Steve Irwin brought his family over to tour nature areas? He went to some of the horse and burro ranges. Much nicer to view the equines in their natural habitat than at potential sanctuaries.

  33. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    BEING THAT CORPORATIONS HAVE TAKEN AMERICAN JOBS OVERSEAS, IT JUST MIGHT BE THAT TOURIST ATTRACTIONS ARE SOMETHING TO REALLY LOOK AT–ESPECIALLY FOR PEOPLE FROM OTHER COUNTRIES. THEY OFTEN DON’T HAVE WHAT WE HAVE AND THEY APPRECIATE IT! THAT MIGHT BE ONE WAY TO BRING SOME OF OUR MONEY BACK HERE–BUT IT NEEDS TO KEPT IN THE CONTROL OF THE LOCAL COMMUNITIES.

  34. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    MAR, YOU SAID SOMETHING THAT MADE MY WARNING BELL GO OFF-THE BLM SITE–DID YOU SAY YOU HAD BEEN HACKED? SOUNDS AS THOUGH THEY HAVE CLOSED IT ANYWAY. IF IT IS SAID THAT WE DIDN’T RESPOND WHEN GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITY–WE DID RESPOND WITH THOUSANDS OF LETTERS OF PROTEST TO EACH OF THE ROUND-UPS. THE DIALOGUE HAS TO BE ENTERED INTO BY BOTH PARTIES. IT SEEMS THAT WE RESPONDED. THEY RESPONDED BY CARRYING OUT THE ROUND-UPS DESPITE ALL OF THE PROTESTS.

  35. jan Says:

    speaking of roy rogers – i live in town that he lived in – apple valley, calif – streets are named after him and dale – wish he was here today – boy he would not let the blm harm horses – on another note got frantic email frm email friend in new mexico and noticed she sent to ginger too – about the blm doing a sneak roundup in placitas, new mexico – just wondered if anyone else had heard

  36. jan Says:

    how did wild horse annie get the school kids involved in writing letters – she must have been able to reach someone who helped

    i think the burns amendment set aside all that the 1971 law protected – that is when blm started mass roundups was in 2004 – so would love to burn burn – and he was in prior adminstration

    • Karen L. Says:

      The Burns Rider of 2004 allowed for mustangs to be sold “without restriction”; meaning they could be sold for slaughter. Prior to that they were protected, although some probably did go to slaughterhouses in secret. Did you see this interview with Conrad Burns?
      http://www.vickitobin.com/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderfiles/hb-burns09.16.09.pdf

      • sandra longley Says:

        Karen: I have tried to open this file on the link 3 times and it keeps telling me ..this file is damaged and adobe acrobat cannot open it….., is there any other way I can get to this, I am very interested in reading or viewing it.thanks

      • Karen L. Says:

        sandra, It’s interesting that you ask! I have linked it before several times, and it came up when I checked several hours ago; BUT I tried to Google other stories/interviews from Horseback Magazine about an hour ago and most everything I tried is suddenly missing. There was great coverge of Burns, the Pryor Roundup, the HSUS opinions on assisting the BLM with PZP, etc. Most of their stuff is eventually saved on the vickitobin.com site—I can’t find any of it. I don’t know what’s going on, maybe something technical. Makes you understand some peoples’ paranoia…

      • Karen L. Says:

        Okay, I can still pull up that link. Don’t know.

      • Karen L. Says:

        sandra, This is a different story, but similar. Try going here.
        http://www.wildhorsepreservation.com/resources/burns_story.html

      • jan eaker Says:

        Karen L. good story, but if a real effort was made to use better management methods, such as in the field fertility control, the Cattoors and Cooks would be out of business, plus all the collar businesses, such as hay suppliers for the long term pens, etc. think those might factor into the BLM’s continued refusal to consider any humane method of herd management? I do, these people appear to be thick as thieves.

      • Karen L. Says:

        sandra, This one’s a little more comprehensive.
        http://www.wildhorsepreservation.com/resources/burns_amend.html

      • Karen L. Says:

        jan eaker, Of course! The point of Steven Long’s interview was to show Burns for the duplicitous person he is/was. I am all for field fertility control.

      • jan eaker Says:

        Karen L., Matt at the Pryor Wild Horse Center has been doing a series of posts on PZP, they are very informative, it would be a wonderful thing if there roundups could become a thing of the past, and soon

      • sandra longley Says:

        I got in to tobins site on the link above you gave me-thanks-heading back to do some more reading thanks

    • Karen L. Says:

      jan eaker, I’m aware of Matt and PZP. I researched it last fall, and although Ginger’s not keen on it, it’s the best we have right now. I’m totally in agreement with Jay Kirkpatrick et al on its usage. Yeah, the roundups should become a thing of the past, and the BLM should be removed from stewardship of the animals. That’s my new mantra.

  37. jan Says:

    i did post on another part of blog that i was shocked to finally get a email frm the humane society going against what the blm is doing – i think the shocking deaths at calico woke up even the humane society – and the blm dropped roundup – the fact so many horses died and two colts ran off their feet SHOULD BE ON NEWS MEDIA AND EXPOSE THE BLM FOR WHAT THEY REALLY ARE – HORSE KILLERS!!

  38. jan Says:

    i have a friend in another group – went and met her – she lives in big bear city in san bernardino mountains and she said they have wild burros up there – they walk out in front of cars and present a road hazard – she did not say how many there are but there might be several as on her side of the mountain is off of highway 18 that comes up off of lucerne valley – which is all desert

  39. jan Says:

    does blm use helicopter to round up burros too – they cannot run as fast as horses – hope they hide in brush – how cruel

Leave a Reply

