Updated Humane Observer’s Blog

New reports, videos and photos on Elyse’s Humane Observer blog: http://humaneobserver.blogspot.com/

7 Responses to “Updated Humane Observer’s Blog”

  1. morganjservices Says:

    http://humaneobserver.blogspot.com/

    Please follow Elyse’s blog. There is a button to click on the right hand side of the page about 1/2 way down.

  2. Nora Morbeck Says:

    Again, thank you for the updates. It’s really helpful to get on-the-ground reports. I wish I could be there with you in person, but am there in spirit.

    As Elyse mentions … Winter time is hard on wild horses, some get very slim, and some do die. That’s part of the natural cycle. In the wild, nature takes care of itself, and I think we all understand that not every one of these beautiful animals, if left on the range, would have had a long life span. But living and dying in freedom is certainly preferrable to dying in abject terror in captivity.

    Overwhelmingly, however, Elyse and others are seeing healthy horses in these pens — not dozens of starving, young horses on the brink of collapse. The horses that ARE collapsing were forced to use up the last of their reserves by running in front of helicopters and driven by plastic bag whips through corral panels. Added to that, stress alone can cause horses to drop weight, colic, and so on. Anyone who’s ever owned a horse or who knows anything about them can tell you what stress can do to them.

    Some horses at Fallon are dying simply because the hay is too rich. The BLM has acknowledged this in veterinary reports. This is the same BLM that wants to move thousands of horses to preserves in the Midwest — where the grasses are richer, which the BLM has stated in their press materials.

    In the e-mail I received today from the BLM, the preserves in the Midweat and East are said to have “productive grasslands.” In other words, there are more nutrient rich grasses that the horses may struggle to metabolize. Some wil never survive the transition — at which point the BLM will shrug its shoulders and say, “Well, we tried to give them a better life…”

    • Karen L. Says:

      Yes, their reasoning (or lack thereof) is terrifying. Their own reports confirm what Dr. Winand of Cornell said about the situation—that the horses develop metabolic issues from changing/enriching their diets, and that the BLM is clueless in dealing with these nutritional alterations. Again, she stated it perfectly, by decrying their “lack of good science”.

  3. Michael J Ahles Says:

    A mustang Ride
    I went out to see the mustangs today and their terrible destructive ways. But not to my suprise I found them living at peace with nature, and nature at peace with them. They were causing no harm at all, and they were free.
    But on my way home I saw a meadow once teaming with life, drained dry and dead. I saw the scared Earth of a gravel pit and trucks hauling it like the horses away. I saw oil soaked asphalt roads that went to nowhere. Signal lights for no one. Miles of fences to keep nature out or perhaps to keep us in. No rabbits at all, no birds. I saw plastic bags in trees, and an occasional car that ruined the sound of nature and left the smell of unspent fuel behind. I saw homeless hungry hopeless people, and others who ate too much. I saw the real problems and wondered who should I call? The President, our Senators, the BLM?
    We need some serious rounding up in our once beautiful Truckee meadow, that’s for sure. But who do I call?
    You?

    =
    MJA
    Reno

  4. Nora Morbeck Says:

    Michael – Very thoughtful response to what’s going on with our wild horses. I live in the South, and I haven’t had the opportunity to visit the ranges out West, though there is a wild herd here in GA that I’ve visited. These animals are very much at peace — and unmanaged. They don’t disturb the environment, though I know some people think they’re a nuisance. All I see is a group of horses living where their ancestors have been for generations, side by side with all of the other wildlife.

    I received an e-mail today from my congressman, David Scott, who supported the House version of ROAM. It was an actual response, not simply a form letter saying “Thanks for contacting me.” This gives me some hope and lets me know that I’m not just sending my thoughts into cyber space, unheard or unheeded.

    I think there are people in office who are willing to help. I guess, at this point, pressure needs to be put the Senate to pass ROAM. I’m not saying this a perfect pieve of legislation, but I think it will force some level of accountability with the BLM. That’s a step in the right direction.

  5. Michael J Ahles Says:

    Thanks Nora,

    Preasure needs to be put on the beef industry, the BLM.
    Boycotting beef will set the mustangs free again.
    Choose wisely what you eat.
    And this action needs no fundraisers, politicians, or attorneys, its free as America and all that live here was truly meant to be.
    Tell a friend,
    Thanks,

    =
    MJA

  6. mustangdreams... Cat Kindsfather Says:

    I am in on the boycott meat!
    Save our mustangs, burros and rain forests in one pop!

Leave a Reply

