Opeds, misinformation and excellent rebuttals– wild horses & burros in the spotlight

Give Wild Horses Their Land Back – Interior Secretary Ken Salazar’s Plan for Managing the American Mustang Population Repeats Past Failures

Jack Carone of Return to Freedom sets the record straight: read his LA Times Opinion section “Blowback” here

Read the Cloud Foundation’s response to the Secreatary’s plan here Managing Wild Equids on Public Lands- a response to the DOI Plan 10.8.09

Comments needed!

“Sheryl Crow and Co. ride off in the wrong direction” (create an account and correct this blog- important, thank you)

57 Responses to “Opeds, misinformation and excellent rebuttals– wild horses & burros in the spotlight”

  1. Renee Antaya Says:

    Who and what gives you the right to touch and abuse and murder the horses an American Icon. Leave them alone. The people of the United States are tired of what is being done to OUR Horses. STOP the ABUSE STOP THE ROUNDUPS!

    • Gemma McQuillan Says:

      Have too agree with you and I think most of the horse lovers over in the UK will agree too! It is shocking and the terror those poor horses must feel when being rounded up like that is heartbreaking it needs to be stopped!!

  2. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    AS WE GO INTO THESE ONLINE BATTLES IN THE PRESS–REMEMBER THE POST FROM 12/30/09–THE ONLINE PRESS INFORMATION KIT. ONE THAT I JUST PULLED UP IS FROM THE ANIMAL WELFARE INSTITUTE. IT COUNTERS THE MYTHS WITH SOLID DATA–MUCH OF IT FROM GOVERNMENT REPORTS. THIS GIVES YOU SOME REAL MATERIAL TO PUT OUT THERE FOR EVERYONE TO SEE, SUCH AS:
    CORPORATE INTERESTS HOLD AND CONTROL MORE THAN 76.2% OF GRAZING PERMITS.
    LESS THAN 3% OF NATIONAL BEEF PRODUCED ON PUBLIC RANGELANDS
    70% OF RANCHERS OWN T H E I R O W N L A N D.
    LET THE PUBLIC CONNECT THE DOTS.

  3. Lisa LeBlanc Says:

    Hey!!
    I’m starting to feel a little paranoid here; every time I try to register to post a comment, my computer gets the hiccups.
    I can’t possibly imagine we poor ignorant horsie huggers would garner special notice, would we??!

  4. Kate Bremer Says:

    I am unable to leave a comment on the silly article that mentions Sheryl Crow.

  5. Lisa LeBlanc Says:

    Seriously – has anyone tried to post a comment on the Cheryl Crow story?
    I posted over an hour ago and it still hasn’t shown up.

  6. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Lisa, I signed up and then could not log in. i thought I would go back and try and i will… mar

  7. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    I also swear this is written by the same person who has said basically the same things before… mar

  8. Elnoma Reeves Says:

    I wanted to leave a comment RE: Cheryl Crow story, but site would not allow me to log in despite having to register. Big suprise the guy who wrote it is a retired BLM employee and that he failed to mention the number of cattle allowed to overgraze the same land the horses are currently being removed from! It’s always the same old lies. I live in Nevada and have had the opportunity to see some of these beautiful animals up close. It is a magical thing to see wild horses and burros free on the range. We must keep up the fight for the sake of our future generations! I can not stand to imagine a future where only cows roam free over the open range. A future that deprives my daughter from experiencing the wonder of wild horses and burros living free as nature intended!

  9. Glenda McClure Says:

    Hello,

    I tried to post a comment on that website as well; and even after creating an account it will not let me login. I even tried to create a letter to the editor, due to the fact, that there was one there supporting the BLM; same results cannot even login.

  10. Laura Evans Says:

    I was not able to log in

  11. jan eaker Says:

    I signed up but can’t login, either, maybe they disconnected the link on purpose, you know how noisy we all are!

  12. Lisa LeBlanc Says:

    If you folks don’t mind…just in case I end up at Gitmo tomorrow or my computer mysteriously catches fire, I’d like to share what I wrote in rebuttal to Ben F. Collins:

    “Your intimation that anyone who advocates for the wild equine can’t possibly have the intelligence to understand the ways of the range is, to say the least, insulting.
    Which, I assume, is the point.
    We’d like to understand, for instance, how herd size in the various ‘management areas’ can vary so drastically from year to year. Because we possess basic math skills & scores of us understand how long it takes for a foal to come to term, your ‘data’ repeatedly doesn’t add up.
    Last year, in the throes of an historic economic downturn, which would in part account for the adoption fall-off, a BLM spokesman bemoaned the department’s inability to care for the 30,000 already in captivity. Yet their gentle ‘gathers’ continued, unabated. And they began accelerating those ‘gathers’, gushing out more taxpayer money.
    There is still no publicly-accessible data base for these herds. Many of us would be interested in how the BLM identifies and tallies individual herds and their members. Because to count those herds over the 20,000,000 acres alloted would require a huge staff of field operatives, if we are to truly believe the numbers posted by the BLM.
    The lack of public input, allowed observation and oversight further alienates Advocates from the BLM and it’s inbred assertions that they & NO ONE ELSE know what’s best for the range, the equines and the taxpayer’s money.
    And it s that very contempt that fosters our continuing disbelief in your data and your methods.”

    You can’t tell me, when a Horse and Burro ‘expert’ calls the captive ones ‘critters’, he means it in the best possible way.

    Anyway, Fellow Constituants, thanks fer listenin’.

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      Good one Lisa, This is such a blind. We are set up to fail and told ‘no, we know what is right’ as we witness BLM break their own laws and throw ethics out the window. How small a problem did they tell Obama we would be? Salazar says he likes the challenges and the controversies. Will he like the scandals as well? It is scandalous what they do. mar

  13. Lisa LeBlanc Says:

    Oooh!! Oooh!!

    According to this Collins fella, the budget for the entire Wild Horse and Burro program for fiscal year 2009 was 50 million dollars.
    25 million of that went to feed the captives.
    Basing this on the reliability of my calculator and the BLM’s Floating Numeral System of approximately how many are on the range and how many in holding, around 67,000 equines, that brings to us a total of $746.27 for care and feeding of each and every Wild and Captive Wild equine on the BLM’s ‘watch list’. Per equine. For the entire year.
    If we only account for the feed budget, each Captive cost the BLM (and by extension, the Public) $675.68 for the year.
    That, my friends, is a helluva good deal. My board bill last year for two horses was more than that A MONTH.
    However, I have to wonder, as with so many branches of the Department of Whatever, how much of that budget was actual and how much administrative?
    I can see $675.68 to feed the Captive Ones. But how was the other 25 million spent on the Wild Ones??! They are neither vaccinated nor shod, groomed, trained, supplemented, grained, fed, watered, wormed or vetted.
    Am I just being sensitive or does this smell funny?
    Mr. Collins, Mr. Salazar – where’s my money??

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      Lisa, We need some more rebuttal pieces to the newspapers who ran Salazoo and some other silly essays. Feel like brushing these up and offering them?? Mar

      • Lisa LeBlanc Says:

        Oh, heck yeah! I wrote 2 ‘rebuttals’ to the Salazar op-ed on the LA Times website. However, I’m still waiting for those to be published and that was four days ago.
        Which has done nothing to add to my personal calm…
        If you can give me the wheres, I’ll do the words.
        I have commented massively on the Reno Gazette Journal’s Wild Horse stories; there’s a 30-60 shot at making your point there. Many Round-up advocates are also hunters and ‘conservationists’ and man, they can be brutal. But I don’t care. I’m Right and they are not.
        God, I’m giggling again.

      • Marilyn Wargo Says:

        Lisa, I hope you get more in print. Tell us when you do! Then we can comment and back you up.. mar

    • theandbetween Says:

      Lisa, I think you should contact The Reno Gazette Journal and ask if they will publish a rebuttal by you as an opinion piece. If they won’t agree, see if one of the other small news organizations following this story will run a piece by you.

      We need to get out of the “comments” section and onto the “Opinion/Editorial” pages with fully-developed articles.

      The paragraphs you put together here are a great start. IMO.

  14. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Lisa, Giggle on and maybe visit the Miami Herald and the St Louis Beacon?

    Who else has been dissing the horses out there?

    You are covering the West nicely. Yes, those are the ‘snipers’ Louie talks about. mar

  15. Leslie Wolfe Says:

    You have been elected to represent the people, NOT make decisions for them! The people are speaking at the top of their lungs! Stop the round-up! Why in the hell aren’t you people listening???????

  16. golde w Says:

    Hey..my fellow wild horse advocates..the whole paper that published that Sheryl Crow piece was down…no comments to any articles….i have written the paper regarding an opportunity to have ‘our’ say.I will call them tomorrow to see if I can get equal time with an article FOR the wild ones. But if I may make a suggestion…all of this Blog writing that we do here is Here….how about if all of us write our own Editorials in our local papers…countering all the BS from the BLM folks. Comments are comments…good….but an editorial would reach more people…..let’s try to reach out to every corner….as I have said before…there is no time to waste…every minute that goes by another wild horse is run down, castrated, given birth control, or euthanized…Let’s try to be as effective as we can with our writing….and reach out to every possible publication….

  17. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Writing letters to the editors of newspapers is very effective as people do read them. We can do that online these days, also. Mar

    • Janet Ferguson Says:

      That’swhat I’m starting to think — these online comment things are great sources of info and must be responded to but our time is precious!I wonder if you can still send ol’ fashioned snail mail letters to the editors! Wonder if those addresses are on Makendra’s media link she posted — talk it up at your local paper, county papers, and cities and states! We all live in our states (!) and as such most of us are lucky to be registered voters! We have “gravitas” as registered voters, more than as online commentors. But comments are needed too! But our time and energy must go to top of foodchain activities, whatever those are — and as Louie says, there’s good advice online how to proceed!

    • Karen L. Says:

      I agree, editorial pages have consistent readers from all walks.

  18. Lisa LeBlanc Says:

    Mar – I just submitted a comment to the Miami Herald in response to Mr. Salazar’s great Balanced note. It’s a little past late, I think. The last comment was submitted a few days ago. But at least I got to say something.
    I’m on my way to St. Louis now.
    I’d like to either write a letter to an editor or maybe an actual editorial but I’m not sure 1) where and 2) how. Advice would be appreciated, and I’ll send you a preview for critique if it’s ok.
    I think this is good for me: my neck wattle has disappeared, my crow’s feet have grown fainter and I think my gray hairs are darkening down a little. Heck, by mid-week, I should be 30 pounds lighter, right??

  19. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    Lisa, GO BACK TO THE JAN 17 POST–THE ONE THAT ASKS US TO COMMENT ON THE ARTICLE THAT TELLS OF THE SIERRA CLUB AND THE SAFARI CLUB SUPPORTING THE ROUND-UP. JUST CLICK ONTO WHERE IT TELLS YOU. GIVE THEM SOME COMMENTS. THERE ARE SOME REAL ANTI-HORSE COMMENTS THERE.

    • Lisa LeBlanc Says:

      Louie,

      There’s about five guys who consistently sound off on this issue in the Reno Gazette; I was surprised they hadn’t left any comments this article. What kills me the most, what makes me wanna smack ’em around a little is falling back on ‘horses taste just like…’ Whatever. Those are the type who no amount of logic or stats will shake their absolute conviction – Ferals are Evil. I used to take it personally but now I know they hate everything and everyone who doesn’t agree with them. Because they spout off on other issues with exactly the same phrases and beliefs.
      Next time there’s a story in the Gazette, I’m coming here to get you!
      p.s. If you go back to RGJ, go to Kellisgirl’s Page. You can read comments I’ve posted, if you’re totally bored and have nothing else to live for.

  20. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    I STILL CAN’T FIND ANY INFO. ABOUT THE MASSIVE STARVATIONS OF HORSES AND WILDLIFE IN THE GERLACH AREA DURING THE MID 1970s. THE HORSES AND THE HORSE ADVOCATES SEEM TO GET ALL THE BLAME. I HAVE A FEELING THAT WAS JUST THE BEGINNING OF THE SPIN. IT COULDN’T HAVE BEEN TOO LONG AFTER THE WILD HORSE AND BURROS ACT WAS PASSED.

    • Lisa LeBlanc Says:

      Back in the 70’s the paper was called the Reno Evening Gazette. Maybe there are archives somewhere on line.
      Other publications were the Mason Valley News and The Lahontan Valley News.

      • Marilyn Wargo Says:

        Yep, Louie, just what I was about to say.. get a person to respond who works in archives and ask for them to look. Then go to a larger paper and look there… mar

  21. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    Lisa, I THINK THEY JUST WANT TO PUT THEMSELVES ON THE MAP–ALL THE BETTER FOR US–GIVES US A PLATFORM TO PUT FORTH MORE INFORMATION THAT NEEDS TO BE MADE PUBLIC. WHO KNOWS HOW MANY ARE FOLLOWING THESE ONLINE DEBATES. I WOULD IMAGINE THE PAPERS LIKE IT.

  22. Joette Snyder Says:

    How about letting Wild Mustangs stay free where they are. That would save alot of Tax Payers money. The storys about Wild Horse Annie tell it all. http://www.joettesgallery.com/drawing/

    And this information comming from an X’BLM Employee, well that speaks for itself…

  23. Lisa LeBlanc Says:

    Can anyone direct me toward this: Are there any available stats for infant mortality or spontaneous miscarriage in wild equines?
    I realize this would require an actual accounting system within the BLM, which seems to be non-existent. I’m hoping someone out there might be able to give me a small representation.
    I worked at a ranch a few years ago during foaling. We lost about 1 in 5 full term infants, but these were vet assisted births, and the mares were given excellent pre-natal care.
    Tht’s the only baseline I have to work with.
    I’m working on a ‘piece’. I have no illusions of grandeur that it will get published anywhere but, on the off chance, I need as accurate an accounting as possible so it doesn’t come back and bite us in the South End.

  24. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    HOW ABOUT A LETTER TO THE EDITOR IN THE SAN FRANCISCO EXAMINER? WE WOULD HAVE TO GET AN ADDRESS.

  25. Lisa LeBlanc Says:

    Thanks, Karen.

    • Karen L. Says:

      You are welcome. The authors of the cited study, “Foaling Rate and Survival of Feral Horses in Western Nevada”, are D. Siniff, J. Tester, and G. McMahon. Also, try Googling the name William McCort—he comes up a lot in demographic studies of wild horses.

  26. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    ON THE ARTICLE ABOUT SHERYL CROW–ANNIE’S ARMY PRETTY WELL COVERED IT WHEN THE COMMENTS FINALLY GOT THROUGH.

  27. Jerry F. Cook Says:

    There is a story in the Billings Gazette sunday Jan. 24th issue regarding a judge’s decision to deny the horse advocates appeal on a BLM management plan to put in water guzzlers, which is supposed to give the horses dispersed watering and help spread them out over their management area. I was wondering what advocate group was against this plan and why. There is also comments from the Pryor Mountain Wild Horse Center in Lovell, Wyo. that there are 156 horses in the HMA and 21 that are less than a year old. That has be an old report, maybe from the BLM since we know that 51 horses were removed with many of the new ones and yearlings. I read another articile in the Gazette, last year that one of the BLM officials was interviewed and he said the dispersed watering “guzzlers” would also spread the herd out so they would not consentrate in just one area so much, therefore they may not have to remove them. So that is what I question what group was appealling this move and maybe Makendra or someone could help explain what I may be confused about. You can get more information on this story or they say read the IBLA’s ruling by clicking on the story at billingsgazette.com.

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      I read this and sent it to Makendra. If Cloud Foundation was party to this there was good reason and if so they cannot talk about it. Maybe someone else can tell us… I would like to know more… mar

  28. LindaH Says:

    I found a new blog (to me) that has some good information on it–resources to other sources. Many of you may already be aware of it, but I thought I should share.
    http://themustangproject.wordpress.com

  29. T.A. Paxton Says:

    I had no idea there could be such hatred for horse lovers! The responses on these articles to the pro mustang reminds me of racial slurs its so flaming and intense! So if anyone dares to question the BLM on its truth telling, animal treatment ethics or the legality of its practice they are verbally attacked! Some don’t even bother to answer the arguments. And you have to give information on many sites to register, some say in terms of service they may give out your e-mail address. Risk giving my e-mail address to horse haters? If I had any doubts this is becoming a war, a real war- they’re gone now. I just hope it doesn’t get worse than verbal!

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      TA It is worse than verbal. Not for us? Think about how it makes you feel and all the other people here. This is why a class action suit would be appropriate. There are laws against hate crimes. mar

  30. LOUIE COCROFT Says:

    THE PEOPLE MAKING THOSE MEAN-SPIRITED COMMENTS ARE USUALLY THE KIND THAT ARE BRAVE WHEN NO ONE KNOWS WHO THEY ARE–JUST LIKE DRIVERS WHO TURN INTO MANIACS WHEN THEY GET BEHIND THE WHEEL. THE REAL WILD HORSE FOES USE THEM WHILE THEY STAY MOSTLY SILENT AND OUT OF THE LIMELIGHT.

  31. Janet Ferguson Says:

    Thoughts over the kitchen sink:

    The reason it is important to comment — is not because you can change the other person’s mind, but you are, at that point, possibly influencing the person who hasn’t yet made up their mind about the issue — if you can by your comments, raise enough doubt in the undecided reader’s mind about the verity of the “other side’s” arguments, then you can begin to influence people who are not familiar with the issues.

  32. Lisa LeBlanc Says:

    Today’s tidbit:
    A small piece of armament for the Captive Ones
    In various rantings from the DOI, one of the justifications for alternatives to the Captives program was the rising costs of feeding and caring for them in the tumultous economic downturn. Fuel costs and the rising price in hay is causing the Bureau to spend 2/3 or 1/4 or more than half (depending on which official is doing the ranting) of the WHOLE BUDGET for the BLM’s WH&B management program.
    Well, folks, gas prices have stabilized and are no where near $4.00 a gallon and hay prices, nationwide, have settled at between $85.00 – $180 a ton, depending on what hay you’re buying. Is the BLM is still paying $300 a ton for hay? (and as the Department of Agriculture is a partner affiliate, shouldn’t they be getting a discount?)
    And WHO is ignorant of the facts??!

    • Janet Ferguson Says:

      Haven’t you ever heard of the proverbial $700 toilet seat??????

      • Lisa LeBlanc Says:

        Janet – I’ve been coming across a lot of contradictions but I think it may be worth posting. If I were to post say A Tidbit A Day, would you be able to find a niche?
        Most of it is throwing the DOI factoids back in their face, but it might garner some interest higher up on the chain.

      • Janet Ferguson Says:

        I was truly a great factoid you posted about the lower cost of hay and everything. I just couldn’t resist mentioning the $700.00 toilet seat once again.

    • Laura Evans Says:

      How about buying gas from Bush for his motorcade?

  33. Lisa LeBlanc Says:

    ===========FROM MARILYN WARGO===================

    >THIS MARCH THERE WILL BE 3 WILD BURRO ROUNDUPS CONDUCTED BY BUREAU OF LAND
    MANAGEMENT CONTRACTORS, THE CATTOORS, IN WESTERN ARIZONA. THIS IS A REQUEST FOR
    VOLUNTEERS TO ATTEND THESE ROUNDUPS, TO BE WITNESS TO THE ACTIONS OF THE BLM AND
    CONTRACTOR WHO WILL BE ROUNDING UP AND REMOVING WILD BURROS FOR ADOPTION, SALE
    AND LONG TERM HOLDING. YOUR PRESENCE MAY HELP TO LESSEN THE STRESS THE WILD
    BURROS EXPERIENCE AND MAY SAVE LIVES BY BEING AN INFLUENCE UPON THE ACTIONS OF
    THE CONTRACTORS. PLEASE BE COURTEOUS TO ALL.
    >
    >CIBOLA TRIGO HMA ROUNDUP WILL TAKE PLACE APPROXIMATELY FROM MARCH 4TH TO 10TH.
    PLEASE CALL YUMA DISTRICT BLM OFFICE AT 928-317-3200, AHEAD TO VERIFY DATES AND
    PLACE WHERE CAPTURE AND OBSERVATION WILL OCCUR AND BE PLACED ON A RESERVATION
    LIST. THIS SITE IS ALONG THE ARIZONA/CALIFORNIA BORDER WHERE THE IMPERIAL DAM IS
    LOCATED ALONG THE COLORADO RIVER,BETWEEN HIGHWAY 95 AND THE COLORADO RIVER, AND
    INTERSTATE 8 AND 10, 20 MILES SOUTH OF YUMA. POPULATION SIZE MAY BE ABOUT 145
    WILD BURROS. THERE ARE TO BE 90 CAPTURED AND ALL THESE REMOVED. THERE ARE 1
    MILLION ACRES HERE AND ALSO 145 WILD HORSES. IF YOU ARE ABLE TO DISCUSS THE
    NUMBERS REMOVED AND THE NUMBERS TO REMAIN, PLEASE ASK FOR AN EXPLANATION TO WHY
    THE HERD WILL BE SO SMALL AS TO BE GENETICALLY NOT VIABLE IF ONLY 55 BURROS WILL
    BE LEFT IN THE WILD. ASK IF PZP IS USED AND HOW OFTEN. ASK IF THERE ARE ANY LONG
    TERM PLANS TO LEAVE THESE BURROS ON THIS RANGE OR TO EVENTUALLY ZERO THEM OUT.
    >
    >ALAMO HMA WILD BURRO ROUNDUP WILL BE HELD APPROXIMATELY MARCH 11TH TO MARCH
    14TH TO CAPTURE 35 BURROS TO BE REMOVED FROM A HERD THAT MAY BE 200, ACCORDING
    TO ARIZONA BLM. PLEASE CALL AHEAD TO LAKE HAVASU DISTRICT OFFICE AT
    928-505-1200, TO VERIFY THE DATES AND PLACE FOR THE CAPTURE AND OBSERVATION AND
    TO BE PLACED ON A RESERVATION LIST. WILD BURROS ARE LOCATED ON 341,000 ACRES OF
    SONORAN DESERT LAND. THE BURROS LIVE WITHIN AN AREA BORDERED BY ALAMO LAKE, BILL
    WILLIAMS RIVER, SANTA MARIA RIVER AND BIG SANDY RIVER WEST OF WICKENBURG ON
    HIGHWAY 60; 50 MILES TO WENDEN, 30 MILES NORTH ON COUNTY ROAD TO ALAMO LAKE
    STATE PARK. IN THE 1970S THERE WAS A HERD OF 1000 WHEN REMOVALS BEGAN. AGAIN, IF
    YOU ARE ABLE TO DICUSS THE NUMBERS BEING REMOVED AND THE NUMBERS TO REMAIN, DO
    SO. ASK IF THIS HERD WILL BE PLANNED FOR IN THE FUTURE OR IF IT WILL BE ZEROED
    OUT, AND IF PZP IS IN USE AND HOW OFTEN.
    >
    >BLACK MOUNTAIN HMA WILD BURRO ROUNDUP WILL TAKE PLACE APPROXIMATELY MARCH 15TH
    TO THE 20TH. 90 WILD BURROS ARE REMOVED EACH YEAR FROM THIS HERD OF ABOUT 475.
    CALL KINGMAN DISTRICT OFFICE AT 928-718-3700 TO VERIFY THE DATES AND THE PLACE
    OF CAPTURE AND OBSERVATION AND TO BE PLACED ON A RESERVATION LIST. BLACK
    MOUNTAIN NWAR IS LOCATED 15 MILES WEST OF KINGMAN ALONG THE COLORADO RIVER, 80
    MILES FROM HOOVER DAM SOUTH TO HISTORIC ROUTE 66 AND OATMAN, ARIZONA, AND
    NEEDLES BRIDGE ON THE ARIZONA AND CALIFORNIA BORDER. THERE ARE 1.1 MILLION ACRES
    HERE AND 2/3 OF THE HERD IS LOCATED IN THE SOUTHERN PART OF THE HMA. IN THE
    1970S WHEN REMOVALS BEGAN THERE WERE 2000 WILD BURROS HERE, ACCORDING TO ARIZONA
    BLM. IF YOU HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY TO DISCUSS THIS HERD AND THE NUMBER THAT WILL
    BE REMOVED AND THAT WILL REMAIN, PLEASE DO. ASK IF PZP IS IN USE AND HOW OFTEN,
    AND IF THE HERD WILL BE PLANNED FOR IN THE FUTURE OR POSSIBLY ZEROED OUT.
    >
    >REMEMBER TO DO AS BLM ASKS, PLEASE ARRIVE ON TIME AND BE CALM REGARDLESS OF
    WHAT YOU SEE OR IF YOU ARE ASKED TO WAIT. HOW YOU ACT MAY DETERMINE IF OTHERS
    WILL BE ALLOWED TO OBSERVE. TAKE PHOTOS AND VIDEO WHENEVER POSSIBLE AND TAKE
    NOTES AND COUNT THE BURROS YOU ARE ABLE TO SEE, HAVE BINOCULARS. ASK ANY
    PERTINENT QUESTIONS THAT MAY HELP YOU AND OTHERS UNDERSTAND HOW THESE WILD ONES
    ARE HANDLED AND MANAGED. WEAR A HAT, HAVE SUNSCREEN, PLENTY OF WATER AND
    COMFORTABLE SHOES OR BOOTS. BE AWARE OF THE WEATHER THAT DAY SO YOU WILL NOT BE
    UNCOMFORTABLE.

Leave a Reply

