Write Letters to the Editor

You’ve called your congress people, told your friends, attended protests, now please write Letters to the Editor of every newspaper in your area and where Secretary Salazar and Director Abbey’s op-eds appeared.

Here is one excellent sample letter re: “At home on the range,” Secretary Salazar Opinion, Jan. 14 in LA Times

It is obvious after reading Secretary of the Interior Ken Salazar’s Op-Ed that he understands even less about financing and balancing a budget — as evidenced in his proposal to gather, move and warehouse thousands of wild horses at taxpayer expense — than he does about the habits of wild horses.
Reports have found the Bureau of Land Management’s care and accountability of America’s wild horses to be unsuccessful. It is nothing short of stupidity to believe that doing more of the same will deliver a more successful solution.
Continuing to gather wild horses off of land that has been reserved for them since the passage of the Wild Free-Roaming Horses and Burros Act of 1971 is not the answer. Salazar needs to look at his program. His premise that America’s wild horse advocates and celebrities are arguing an unrealistic and environmentally irresponsible campaign is as damning as it is costly to us all.
—Nancy Cole Silverman – Publisher of the Equestrian News

Wild horses and burros need to be in every newspaper in America and the world! Thanks for your help, remember to keep them short and to the point. Please send us copies of your letters too! Kids, get articles and letters in your school newspapers. Our friend, Alex, just got an article in his school newspaper in ROME!

6 Responses to “Write Letters to the Editor”

  1. Sandra Miller Says:

    Unbelievably, but far too typically, I’m afraid, our local “South Bend Tribune” (of Indiana) has published nothing about the issue of our wild horses and burros being removed from their legal ranges in the West. I have been mulling over the best way to approach this matter, and last Sunday I decided on a letter to our “Voice of the People” column. I know there is a pro horse slaughter sentiment in this area, because I have already talked to a retired veterinarian, Dr. Carol Ecker, who is presently a full time volunteer at our local humane society, after serving for twenty years or so as chairman of their Board. Her husband raises and trains quarter horses, and they have a horse farm. Under the direction of Dr. Ecker, as of two years ago, and in the face of enormous opposition from many in our area, our humane society became a no-kill adoption center! Yet, Dr. Ecker is one of those veterinarians who believes that we need slaughter houses to keep people from abandoning their horses to starvation and death. I am afraid her beliefs may be typical of this area, so I have tried to write something that encourages those who are WITH US to do the research I have suggested without arousing a great negative reaction among the pro horse slaughter group.
    I’m sure that Dr. Ecker will read my letter, because she knows me, and I have a feeling she will immediately go to the report by our Humane Observer, Elyse Gardner. Then I will have her roped and tied, because Elyse’s reports are so compelling! Here is my letter, which could not be longer than 200 words:

    With public protests ongoing from San Francisco to Boston and points in between, I have yet to read a word in the “Tribune” about our U. S. Bureau of Land Management’s removal of our wild horses and burros from our U. S. Public Lands. Concerned citizens should research this matter on the Internet. The wild horses and burros are ours, and they should legally reside on millions of acres Congress set aside for them on our Public Lands in 1971 (google 1971 Wild Free-Roaming Horse and Burro Act). The organization In Defense of Animals (IDA) has launched a lawsuit against the BLM on behalf of our wild horses and burros, with noted wildlife biologist, Craig Downer, and author Terri Farley as plaintiffs (google In Defense of Animals lawsuit against the BLM). The Cloud Foundation is an excellent source of information (go to thecloudfoundation.org), particularly their Blog. Read the report by Humane Observer, Elyse Gardner, of the roundup in the Calico Mountain Complex in northern Nevada 1/16/10 (go to humaneobserver.blogspot.com/). Protest these illegal actions to our U. S. elected representatives, our President, the BLM, and the U.S. Department of the Interior headed by Ken Salazar. Help save our wild horses and burros from extinction!

    Note to the “Tribune”: There is simply no way I can explain this matter in 200 words or less, but at least I can give readers directions to research this matter for themselves. The “Tribune” could do this also!

    I have already heard from the “Tribune” that my letter will be published. It usually takes a couple weeks because we have a very active “Voice of the People” column. The “Tribune” may well decide to do a feature article on the topic, too. When I suggested two years ago that we needed an article about our humane society’s courageous decision to become a no-kill adoption center, they obliged with a 7 day series!

  2. SU Says:

    In my area of Northeastern Pennsylvania, I too, have heard very little if anything regarding the removal of the wild horse herds from their ranges. I did try to contact our local PBS station, but got no results. They did air the Cloud Foundation’s latest video, but have not let the people know what is going on. I also tried to contact some other news sources, but they too did not publish anything. I did not receive any reason for this lack of reporting the news.
    I am still trying and have contacted my Congressmen and sent letters to Washington. Only 1 representative replied in a positive manner.

  3. Kathleen Bauer Says:

    I was pleased to read the letter from Sandra Miller and to learn she has made some headway with the South Bend Tribune. For asine timne I have forwarded round up nformation to editor Gayle Danyzler hoping she would pick up on this issue…but without success. I have never understood why. The Trib has, in the past, supported animal advocacy efforts such as banning canned hunts and live bait use in dog runing enclosures. Gayle’s husband, now deceased, was an exceptional field investigator for HSUS and did some work exposing the gathers for what they are.
    I will try to follow up on Sandra’s letter and am so pleased she has made some headway in our area. Kaye Bauer

  4. Sandra Miller Says:

    I really don’t think there is anything to be read into the situation of the “news blackout” East of the Mississippi we are in about the situation of our wild horses and burros except our geographic location. Kathleen, I am so glad to hear from someone in my area about this matter who is a friend to the wild horses and burros. I think a letter to the “Voice of the People” column is the best way to go, as a beginning. With the humane society situation, I wrote a letter to the “Voice of the People” but included a much longer letter “To Whom It May Concern” and expressed my amazement that I could live in South Bend all my life and know NOTHING about our local humane society’s decision to become a no-kill adoption center, which I considered the most wonderful development imaginable! Several weeks later a series of articles about our local humane society appeared in the “Tribune”. I have so much admiration for Dr. Carol Ecker, because she took a pounding for her decision, because, at the time, they had a growing backlog of pets on premises, mainly cats. It has all worked out wonderfully, as

  5. Sandra Miller Says:

    I really don’t think there is anything to be read into the situation of the “news blackout” East of the Mississippi we are in about the situation of our wild horses and burros except our geographic location. Kathleen, I am so glad to hear from someone in my area about this matter who is a friend to the wild horses and burros. I think a letter to the “Voice of the People” column is the best way to go, as a beginning. With the humane society situation, I wrote a letter to the “Voice of the People” but included a much longer letter “To Whom It May Concern” and expressed my amazement that I could live in South Bend all my life and know NOTHING about our local humane society’s decision to become a no-kill adoption center, which I considered the most wonderful development imaginable! Several weeks later a series of articles about our local humane society appeared in the “Tribune”. I have so much admiration for Dr. Carol Ecker, who took a pounding for her decision, because, at the time, they had a growing backlog of pets on premises, mainly cats. It has all worked out wonderfully, as ALL GOOD AND ETHICAL DECISIONS, MADE FROM THE HEART, DO! As a member of the humane society now, I get their quarterly newsletter, and I can tell from reading it that they are blossoming under the support of our community. A new building is starting in May, after 30 years of planning and hoping. It will have a surgery! As I said, I discussed horse slaughter with her, and she favors it (I was very surprised – it seemed inconsistent with what she was doing at the humane society!). However, I think favoring horse slaughter could be very widespread in our area, with many horses being used for basic transportation, as in the Amish and Mennonite communities of Elkhart and LaGrange counties, as well as for recreation. I am the only person I have ever noticed with a “Stop Horse Slaughter” bumper sticker! So, we have to get people away from their natural mind set and into the research of this matter. This is a struggle not just for the wild horses and burros, but for our very Democracy and for the rule of law. People must understand that these wild horses and burros have a right to the ranges where they have been living, by US law, and that is why they belong on our Public Lands. If citizens familiarize themselves with the 1971 law and look at the matter through the eyes of that law, they will understand the situation and not just take sides for and against the wild horses and burros themselves (hopefully).

  6. Sandra Miller Says:

    Sorry about that! I hit the Submit Comment button by accident when I was typing at the bottom of the Comment box. Please ignore my incomplete submission!

Leave a Reply

