New Moratorium Petition Sends Letters to Obama & Your Representatives

One of our supporters just set this up- you don’t need to become a member and based on your location the letter will automatically be sent to your Representatives!

PLEASE SPREAD THIS NEW PETITION- Click Here

(note: if you signed the last petition we’ll still be delivering to Obama and Salazar– but please sign this one too and have your comments sent directly)

4 Responses to “New Moratorium Petition Sends Letters to Obama & Your Representatives”

  1. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Every petition is more people to count and knowing they are demanding change. Mar

  2. Roxy Says:

    OK, how does this work? Were there some instructions that I couldn’t detect? I signed up, got confirmaiton from Change . ORG, but how do I select who I want to send the letter to?

    I have printed several and will send by mail, but looks kind of goofy “we the undersigned” and just my name.

  3. Louie Cocroft Says:

    IN LOOKING BACK IN THE ARCHIVES, I SAW THE POSTING FOR OCT 18 AND THE REQUEST FOR PEOPLE TO SIGN THE PETITION FOR THE COYOTE CANYON HORSES–IT IS STILL THERE AND ONLY 357 PEOPLE HAVE SIGNED–THEY ARE TRYING TO GET 1000. IT IS ON THE CARE 2 PETITION WEBSITE.

  4. paul roush Says:

    It is just simply a shame that this kind of resistance to managing horses and burros on public lands has found so much support. I have been a wildlife biologist in this country for the last 32 years and I can assure you that this movement has no ecological justification whatsoever. It anthropomorphizes these animals. It generates emotion. It brings in money. I don’t hear anything about the silent suffering of bighorn sheep who cannot get to a water source because it is dominated by horses or burros and their populations dwindle. I hear nothing about migratory birds who have had stopover riparian areas completely denuded and demolished by horses and die in flight over the sagebrush. I guess they’re hard to photograph. The only fact I have found on this website that I can agree with is that the BLM horse population estimates are wrong. They are definitely wrong and probably understimate the wild horse population by at least half. This is a sad effort by this organization and will assure the continued degradation of these habitats into perpetuity. I am truly disappointed that Sheryl Crow has signed on to this. I think she has been sadly misinformed. I suggest she come to Nevada to talk and tour with those of us who have dealt with this issue firsthand for our entire careers and learn something. The first stop would be a refuge where there is no authorized livestock grazing to see the horse impacts.

Leave a Reply

