Return America’s Wild Horses to Their Rightful Ranges and Current Press

The Cloud Foundation’s Press Release – please cross post! Return America’s Wild Horses to Their Rightful Ranges- a response to the DOI Plan. 10-8-09

Cloud in corrals prior to release 9-9-09

ARTICLES:

New York Times Article by Jim Robbins article 10-8-09 “7 Preserves Envisioned to Manage Wild Horses”

Missoula Independent Article by Erika Fredrickson 10-8-09 “Alone on the Range”

CNS News “Interior Secretary Wants to Move Surplus Population of Wild Horses from West to East at a Cost of $96 Million”  10-9-09

Arizona Daily Star “Grijalva lauds Obama plan on preserves for wild horses” 10-9-09

Washington Post “Salazar Presents Ambitious Plan to Manage Wild Horses” 10-8-09

Associated Press: “Salazar Wants to Move West’s Wild Horses East” 10-8-09

***NEW POST FROM RT FITCH HERE! “Wild Horse Expert Claims BLM Cheated Wild Horses out of Half Their Habitat”***

50 Responses to “Return America’s Wild Horses to Their Rightful Ranges and Current Press”

  1. Becky Says:

    If there are any readers from Wyoming – please take the time to write our senators and representatives in Washington. The responses I have received to the letters (I wrote) are quite shocking. They truly want to rid Wyoming (and the other states) of its wild horses. Keep fighting!!

    • Morgan Williams Says:

      Becky,

      What did the responses to your letters say that was shocking? Do you mind sharing? There is one woman from Wyoming named Lona who has been on this blog from time to time. I also see her on Facebook

      Morgan

  2. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    New York Times is not very balanced and obviously does not have enough background to know what is really going on. I am sad that the press is so far behind. Maybe the program this weekend on the CBS affiliate(?) in Nevada will get further coverage.

    I do like that Horses originated in North America. Homebodies.

  3. Angela Sellitto Says:

    Isn’t the NYtimes usually more liberal? I cannot believe they are speaking of zero reproduction. They are truly waiting for these animals just to die off. They are a native wild species that is THREATENED and done so by the US GOV!!

  4. Morgan Williams Says:

    Here is my point of view from my horsemanship experience. Perhaps TCF, R.T. or other bloggers will voice in with the sense God gave a horse, for crying out loud.

    If stallions are gelded and no mares go into season, there will be a tremendous loss of wild herd behavior not to mention the loss of horse life itself! The mustangs or burros will still be ‘wild’ in that supposedly no human hands will feeding, handling, gentling them. Then what are they called? Oh yah, FERAL! Back to square one we go.

    IF supposedly the new herd areas are managed by government rangers on the tax payer’s dime, wouldn’t that be like, oh what’s that called again………. long term holding pens?

    IF the dept of Interior was truly entertaining Madeleine & Boone Picken’s offer, wouldn’t that have been a done deal by now? Before the Dept of Interior’s new Appropriations bill passed so NO increase was necessary?

    My concern that IF this is true about BLM wanting to create herd area in the midwest or eastern states for public viewing, then the mustangs are reduced to a circus act for some sort of monetary gain (maybe park entrance fees?). Then the BLM & dept of Interior come out looking like knights in shining armor. “Look! WE saved the mustangs & burros! Look what WE did for them” diverting the public’s attention from the underhanded truths. The mustangs and burros will be forced to adapt to unfamiliar habitat. I understand there are already wild horses in the Appalchians. Are they gonna throw unfamiliar horses in established herds and expect everyone to coexist?

    The newly introduced mustangs could even be considered a nusiance by locals already using the land for other practical purposes. Many locals may have no love or regard for this special species of wildlife about to become extinct. I’m in the midwest. I know the mindset of the people (not trying to over generalize here). Wild DESERT burros are not going to be able to adapt in the midwest or eastern states without tremendous assistance.

    I don’t think for one minute these supposed new herd areas (far from mustang home territory) will be anything like the fantastic work done on behalf of the Ausseteague ponies and Chinoteague ponies. NO comparison whatsoever.

    Bait and switch.

    • Nora Morbeck Says:

      The horses on Cumberland Island, GA are not managed. They are not culled, treated for illnesses or fed/watered through drought, etc.. Occasionally, an animal is put down if t’s clearly at death’s door, suffering an agonzing death, such as an alligator atttack or becoming tangled in barbed wire, etc. Starving horses are left alone. This may seem cruel to some, but it’s the way nature works. Bodies of dead horses are consumed by scavengers. Circle of Life…

      So, the Cumberland Island horses live, re-produce and die on NPS land without human interference.

      The population has maintained itself at consistent numbers and the population is well documented.

      If these unmanaged wild horses, on an island, are kept in check by nature, surely horses on thousands of acres can do the same.

      • Marilyn Wargo Says:

        Nora, Totally cool. The Pryor horses and others, that were in isolated areas for hundreds of years, did just fine. They can do good again and have protection and people watching over them who respect them. The madness of BLM must be stopped. mar

      • K.P. Says:

        Nora, couldn’t agree more. Also, the notable example of Sable Island, off the coast of Nova Scotia. The horses of Sable Island are not managed or looked after in any way, and their populations remain low. Horses do die in regards to natural accidents, disease, and weather conditions, and they are not rounded up or interfered with in any way- researchers collect genetic data only after a horse has died a natural death.

        What I find funny is that horses in the Pryors and other mountainous regions have to deal with predation, and no horses on Assateague, Sable Island, or Cumberland Island have to deal with it on the scale the range horses do.

        This is not an argument about management styles, although that is important too- this is, and always has been, a game of “follow the dollar”. Documents leaked from the BLM’s own meetings testify that the Pryor horses are being phased out to make way for a population of Bighorn sheep to take a tighter hold. Bighorn sheep = hunters. Hunters = licenses. Licenses = DING DING DING YOU GUESSED IT – MONEY!

  5. Nora Morbeck Says:

    Salazar’s proposal is absolutely absurd! We already have land for the horses and burros to live on. It’s called PUBLIC LAND! If grazing is so bad out there, why clear off horses then lease the land to ranchers grazing cattle?

    What’s this “showcase the herds” BS? Showcase?! Is that a DC suit talking or what? That’s like the fake old west shows that “showcased” the “Red Indian.” Geez, leave the horses and little burros alone. Honor them in their natural habitat, not in some preserve where they aren’t truly wild.

    Basically, once wild herds are removed from the range, they’re no longer wild — and that’s the point. Remove these animals and the DOI can do whatever they want to with the land. Excuse me — OUR land.

    The NY Times, sadly, is like so many other bird cage liners these days. No investigative reporting, no hard questions. Spoon fed, poorly written, dismally researched. I’m disappointed, but not surprised. Too bad Walter Cronkite passed away … We need more thinking, ethical journalists in the world …

  6. Suzanne Moore Says:

    What really bothers me is that Grijalva actually approves this disastrous plan! How CAN he? I thought he was supposed to be a FRIEND of the wild horses.

    • Morgan Williams Says:

      Suzanne:

      Why don’t you call Congressman Grijalva’s office & see what his reasoning is behind his support. Because of his past work, this man must have insider information we are not aware of that helped draw his current conclusions.

      I am NO fan of the swift action either, but I should have kept quiet until I spoke to those higher up, those that we admire so much, and found out more details.

    • Morgan Williams Says:

      U.S. Rep. Raúl Grijalva of Tucson praised the proposal, although it didn’t go as far as the bill he has proposed that would free up 19 million acres across the West for horses to roam. That bill has passed the House and is pending in the Senate.

      “It’s a step forward in the right direction, even though it’s not everything we want,” said Natalia Luna Rose, Grijalva’s press secretary. “The administration is listening. The congressman is happy to see this in motion.”

      http://www.azstarnet.com/metro/312481

    • Roxy Says:

      Sounds more like they only talked to his press secretary, and perhpas the lead title is misleading – imagine that!

      I suggest we all add him back into our calling and mailing.

      • Marilyn Wargo Says:

        Roxy, The story is still a footnote to many. Did RT Fitch scare everyone off?
        He may have been right to say what he did but here, there has been a different take, and the way we have held together is quite profound to me. When I visit other blogs I feel like people are NOT doing things together like we have. It is sad because people rarely say enough and disappear. Calamity said she would coordinate for round ups and I have not heard a thing. I think Shelley Sawhook said that she was, too. But I can’t find anyone doing it. I have ordered the book by Lisa Dines, “The American Mustang Guidebook” to see if it has locations as I think RJ said at one of the photographers sites. He was going to try to see some holding facilities on his trip.

        I Have to wonder sometimes what Ginger and Makendra are doing, if they have another law suit which is possible. I know they are busy. I wish I could help them. Mar

      • Roxy Says:

        Mar, I can’t help feeling that the build up to the Pryor roundups and the roundups themselves were so intense for all of us and now there is no blow by blow happening. That, I can only speak for myself, I’ve even become rude on here for lack of information. And apologize to all.

        I keep findig more and more wild horse sanctuaraies and rescues, wish I’d kept a list – but R.T. did and it really depressed him. I’d like to work on a simple Coalitioin, but I’m finding that difficult with us spread around. Lost 2 people here locally that were going to help, but thev have thier own lives and don’t really care about the wild horses – and I feel a failure for not enlisting their passion. I keep forgetting my limitations too, have made suggestoins that I am not physically able to carry out like going to the Lake Pleasant roundup.

        I don’t think R.T. scard us off, I think we are all reflecting somewhat, and will come out better and stronger – we need to campaign for converts – he is right about that.

        We’ll just have to keep the faith in Ginger and Makendra and R.T., If we get down, well, whats that saying, “get back in the saddle right away!” WE will hold together – I have no doubt!

        As an aside, I spent yesterday in the blogs about Obamas peace prize and how arrogant we are to tell Norway who or why they should or should not give THIER prize to who ever they please – that was my take anyway.

        I tend to write too much – keep the faith!

      • Roxy Says:

        Mar, also – Ginger and Makendra have to work for a living and have commitments I’m sure they have to keep. Probably very fortunate to have been able to take the time they have so far.

        I’m just retired, and wishiing I could do more for them too and will continue seeking ways. But I will be working again sometime next year, hopefully just part time.

      • Marilyn Wargo Says:

        Roxy, do not worry, we all have got so intense and there has been roundups happening that we have no news of. That makes me sick. we need people in the field. I am at i do want to try and get help to put people at roundups. There are others in Arizona. I am not so far that I could not come down there, I have so little money. but I hope we can work off the blog on some thing, not secret, just out of view… What do you say? get in touch. mar

      • Marilyn Wargo Says:

        lightprint1949@earthlink.net

      • Marilyn Wargo Says:

        Roxy, get in touch with me!, above. mar

      • Marilyn Wargo Says:

        Roxy, we are all in this together, and I think we will all see it through. Jan is afraid that ROAM will not pass. That would not mean the horses would stop needing us. There are times a bill goes through more than once and still makes it. You cannot give up because of time or fear. Where is JF? I do hope
        all the hearts and spirits inspired by the wild horses will be back soon. Mar

  7. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Morgan, I talked to Grijalva’s office and Rahall’s, yesterday. They are still for ROAM. They were also being very careful what they said. To have DOI/BLM make ANY move, was considered progress. I was told that by staff. Both office’s said they are behind ROAM. Call them again, please satisfy your question for yourself. It may make them realize that playing a political game can hurt how people perceive ROAM. mar

  8. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    “Alone on the Range” is a great piece by an excellent Paper. mar

    • Roxy Says:

      Agree. I was very touched – I’m going to keep track so I can get news when the “new” horses arrive – wish I could go visit there and the Pryors!

      They do some things though that we have already opposed, maybe opposed is too strong, they kill the horses when they are old or hurt and they are all sterile – better than penned up or slaughtered, I’m thinking that is what Salazar has resolved himself to – if we can just get the time the ROAM Act would provide.

  9. Janet Ferguson Says:

    On Nokota Horses’ Facebook there’s a discussion — here it is, copied from there:
    ***
    William Schlichter (San Diego, CA) wroteon August 31, 2009 at 9:17pm
    This October, approximatley 90 Nokota horses will be taken from the Theodore Roosevelt National Park (TRNP) and auctioned off in Dickinson ND. Please see the article at http://www.theveonline.com which will be published in 3 parts (Aug, Sept, Oct) where you can obtain a huge amount of information on the auction.

    this is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to own a yearlying born in the Park and make them your best friend.

    You can contact Eileen Norton at emnorton@aol.com for additional information.
    ***
    (I’m just throwing this in here for what it’s worth?)

    • Morgan Williams Says:

      Jan,

      I am going to calling Frank back at the end of the month to find out how the Forestry round up went & if things went well with the adoption. I will have to ask again about the mustangs being true Nakotas.

  10. Janet Ferguson Says:

    I just posted a comment October 9, 2009 at 7:05 p.m.
    Got a Your Comment is awaiting moderation note.
    Isn’t added at top of page under “total comments”.
    It is about an October auction of approx 90 Nokota horses which are to be taken from Theodore Roosevelt National Park (TRNP) and auctioned off in Dickinson ND. Article to be published in 3 parts (Aug., Sept., Oct) at http://www.theveonline.com, according the Facebook Page post.

    I’m just adding info because it is another park situation.

    • Morgan Williams Says:

      Jan,

      I saw your post and was alarmed. I did not think the Park service had any Nakota Mustags. I have been following these people for a few years:
      http://nokotahorse.org/cms/

      I even sold a saddle to a Lakota man in North Dakota who has Nakota horses.

      I called the conservancy to see if they know anything about this auction coming up. I left a message.

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      Janet and Morgan, I put the documentary up from the Nokota Horse Conservancy, thanks for the links. These are special horses. It is great these brothers and family are caring for them. I am reading much today and posting to my blog. Recently I seem to write here more than there. That so many articles are out is good. Those who hear alarming things will look for more information. So, sometimes it is the bad stuff that gets a person interested. That is always true for me. mar

    • Morgan Williams Says:

      Jan,

      I spoke to the man who runs the Nakota Conservancy. Great fellow with 30 years of experience fighting on behalf of the Nakota Mustang. He says that there may be some Nakota horses in the roundup, but because of introducing Bookman, Shire and Quarter horses into Roosevelt National Park, those Nakota Mustang bloodlines are watered down greatly out there in the Park.

      He and the other members are going to the Park’s round up and to the day of auction. They will be on site the whole time. I can call after the 26th to get information again.

      • Roxy Says:

        I saw on their Conservatory website that at some time, they had to sell some of their true Nakota horses to pay some medical bills. How sad.

  11. Angela Sellitto Says:

    The CNS news article has some quotes from the CATO institute that make me want to puke.

  12. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Yes, CNS is very bad, another ad for BLM that is not journalism but a press release. A very rabid crowd commenting. The haters. They are not worth responding to. mar

  13. Morgan Williams Says:

    From the very beginning of my joining up to become an active warrior in the battle for S.1579 & S.727, my thoughts were turned to the near extinction of the native buffalo. That was a government tactic to make room for cattle & sheep grazing, selling of buffalo hides for huge profit AND to exterminate the native Indians.

    Again, my thought turn to the deception and brutal lies told to the native Indians when signing peace treaties for the right to own smaller portions of land, as all Indians were pushed further west. Then as soon as the Federal Government wanted that off-limits lands, the government would break treaties & force Indians onto federal reservations. One of my relatives marched on the Cherokee Trail of Tears. Elder Boggess told me that this death march was done all because someone found a chunk of raw gold on Cherokee land. The government immediately wanted to mine. No further gold was ever found.

  14. Christine Says:

    Did anyone catch that nevada CBS show tonight? I’m wondering what was said.

  15. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Christine, Not me, I hope I can find it online tomorrow. I hope every one had a good day away from all the intensity that RT has found spilling into his blog site. I did not catch Ginger. Kept getting distracted waiting. Tomorrow…

  16. Linda Says:

    Just found Daryl Hannah’s website. where she posts different topics, one of which is Wild Horses. Check out this great video:
    http://www.dhlovelife.com/v2/show/archive/?wk=42
    She now lives in Colorados and now works on issues relating to the environment.

  17. Linda H Says:

    The first segment of the George Knapp video is posted on the KLAS website. It’s good! I guess they’ll put it up in 4 segments, this being the first.
    http://www.lasvegasnow.com/Global/category.asp?C=28259&nav=menu102_5&clipId=4203862

  18. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Thanks Linda, I have begun to watch. This is excellent. It is hard to watch for some moments. The horses are not to blame and this makes it clear. mar

  19. Roxy Says:

    Perhaps the George Knapp program will make it even further up the line in the media. He held back no punches and put the blame and questions squarly where they belonged.

    However, it was specific to Nevada and did not mention ROAM!

  20. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Roxy, But what happened there was and is as bad and worse than anyplace else. All the same tactics by the same people. Nevada was put under the microscope years ago when Thelma Johnson told people what was going on. Notice how many people spoke out. They knew it was bad and wrong. It is good for all the horses that this was done. It is still going on.

    I have been communicating with people you know, off the blog. We are trying to do something more. Please contact me lightprint1949@earthlink.net

  21. Amy Chappelle Says:

    Just a question, How many acers has the BLM leased out to rancers for their cattle, goats, and livestock since 1971? I know the land set aside was roughly 20 million acers, but how about what they are living on now? How has that number dropped since 1971 with the Wild Free-Roaming Horses and Burros Act?

    I’m doing 2 different presentations, both in favor of returning our mustangs back to their home, but need the facts for them, and am running out of sources. Thank you so much for your insight and knoweldge. We will not give up the fight to return the Mustangs to their true home out on the range.

    -Amy

    • Morgan Williams Says:

      In 1971, the BLM estimated that 17,000 mustangs and burros were roaming. The number was amended to 47,000 head 3 years later.

      http://www.wildhorsepreservation.com/resources/1971_act.html
      Definition of the 1971 Act

      http://www.thomas.gov/cgi-bin/cpquery/?&sid=cp111SczUN&refer=&r_n=hr177.111&db_id=111&item=&sel=TOC_25282&

      “While the 1971 Act originally identified 53 million acres of public land on which wild horse and burro herds could roam freely, the BLM has since systematically removed horses and burros from nearly 19 million of those acres. Further, since 1971, more than 200,000 wild horses and burros have been rounded-up from public lands and either adopted or placed in long-term holding facilities. Critics assert that the round-ups are unnecessary and aggressive, and that the BLM has yet to provide adequate justification for their removal and the loss of the 19 million acres. However, of greater concern recently was the announcement in the summer of 2008 that, due to a combination of a lack of funding, facilities and options, the BLM would be required to kill as many as 30,000 healthy wild horses and burros.”

      Hope this is helpful!

  22. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Amy, Craig Downer’s work has some newer figures, acres when the 1971 act was passed and how many were taken away. We have a link to it here. Or it is at RT Fitch which you can jump to from our first page with the list down the side. They have lost over 20 million since 1971. The info is here, you got to look or someone may tell you. There is a lot of info here! mar

  23. Janet Ferguson Says:

    Found this from Senator Landrieu’s website, under “Press Releases 2009 search”

    http://landrieu.senate.gov/releases/09/2009A08443.html

    Sorry if this has already been posted.
    I am now going to read it!

    • Janet Ferguson Says:

      Here’s one that goes ‘way back to last June

      http://landrieu.senate.gov/releases/09/2009629309.html

      • Marilyn Wargo Says:

        With all that has been said to BLM at this point and by SO MANY, you would think their little kingdom would collapse. I am waiting for that Day. Now that we know that Obama has defected to the other side, he is fair game.
        no prisoners. mar

    • Marilyn Wargo Says:

      JF, I read it and some of the figures on horse numbers are the same and seem inflated. but she says 7,000 are captured and BLM wants to half that? I wish!!!
      Thanks for all you are digging up.

      I saw that the cottonwood pack is done in. My wolfies are getting slaughtered.

      Saw Jicarilla horses today. very quiet experience down in New Mexico. The two ladies there are good people doing their best to get these ‘little brown horses’ ready to be adopted. They care where they go and do not want to see them ‘in holding’ ever. I will go back. mar

Leave a Reply

