Make a call for the burros

California is losing the last of its wild burros, please make a call today– read more here on the American Herds Blog

14 Responses to “Make a call for the burros”

  1. Janet Ferguson Says:

    I called Boxer and Feinstein and talked to staffers direct.

    Stated roundups are illegal.

    Stated immediate moratorium is needed, and BLM needs to be investigated for illegal activities.

    Gave my name, state, and zip code.

  2. Karen L. Says:

    I e-mailed and asked for immediate action. Reminded them that ROAM is in committee and could be bringing in a new era of responsibility and accountability for the BLM.

  3. Barbara Steele Says:

    Emailed both and asked for an immediate stop of the burro roundup. Emphasized the historic importance of the burro to California history and right of burros to their historic range.

  4. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Congressman Grijalva has not stopped his support of ROAM. Talked to his office and am contacting his Policy Advisor, Glenn Miller for a statement of this. mar

  5. Angela Sellitto Says:

    I’m getting very confused. Could someone help me get back on mission? Who should I call? Who should I write. What can I do?

  6. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Angela, Stress burros and add that they are nearly gone. To everyone, all over again. mar

  7. Angela Sellitto Says:

    The white house hung up on me. I wish that they would cover this on NPR maybe the Diane Rehm show. I call my senators everyday, but I am from Illinois so I’m not sure what good that does. Sen Burris did cosponsor S727. Sen Durbin writes back these letters like he supports the BLM. I told him to support cattle farmers in his own state. I post on facebook everyday. I still feel lost. I would like to physically do something. I feel horrible still that I could not get to DC.

    • Janet Ferguson Says:

      Mustangs need a big bus like Dr. OZ. To make the rounds, take people to Washington and get the word out

  8. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Angela, I have just got back to Colorado after 6 years in Illinois, where I cared for my old Mom and then, after she went to a home, I stayed at the house until it was sold. In that time I had a very active advocacy, on line for the first time, and I was amazed at the results. Obama and Durbin were my senators. Obama and his people were very responsive, and Durbin, too. I like Durbin, he is a good man, go after him. He is really open, he may need more input.

    We all feel like you over these terrible problems that feel impossible to defeat at times. We have been compared to David and Goliath more than once. We need your help. You make us stronger.

    Go to your local NPR station or national web and fill out there form for a news
    story. I am writing them also. The more of us who say we want a story covered, the better the chance they will pick it up. Good luck, you are helping very much. Sorry the White House hung up on you. Now you have a story to tell. mar

  9. Angela Sellitto Says:

    I tried the white house again and this time got a very sincere operator. I was happy about that. Also, I emailed the people about the post card campaign and if they send me some I will take them to all my local saddle and trail riding clubs.

    I believed in Durbin until I received his response letter that sounded like he sided with the BLM. I didn’t know I would, but I have more faith in Roland Burris however he may of landed the office. There is a kid from my hometown (Alton, IL) that worked for Obama on his campaign. He was even mentioned in “The Audacity of Hope.” My husband is good friends with his older brother so maybe I could get to him. I’ve already tried to get through to Obama through a state senator (Bill Haine) that is a friend of the family, but that didn’t come to much.

    http://www.returntofreedom.org/pdf/nativeWildlife.PDF

    We should include the above letter in our faxes and mailed letters.

  10. Morgan Williams Says:

    Craig Downer said last week that only 2,500 head of Burro remain roaming free now. All along, when I speak or write, I make sure to include desert burros.

  11. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Angela and Morgan, thanks for the link, we have been at this for weeks and if I got it before, it is buried now. Since we began this blog there has been some shifts in our thinking and what we find important. Burros, for example. Mar

Leave a Reply

