Flint, Cloud’s stepson just rounded up

*4:55pm*

Flint and his two mares and first and only son, Jasper, just came down off the mountain. Operations on Commissary Ridge were finished this morning with the unfortunate capture of the proud Conquistador. Now horses are being driven by helicopter down the mountain. It is 90+ degrees here in the lowlands and they traveled 10-12 miles. Flint nearly died when he was rounded up as a foal. Jasper looks to be fine. Flint’s new dun mare was tagged for adoption and separated. Flint, Jasper and Feldspar had blue dots painted on their rumps and will be released. 

FlintJasper in corrals- TCF AE 9-09

Flint above, Jasper today in corrals

10 Responses to “Flint, Cloud’s stepson just rounded up”

  1. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    Ginger and Makendra, Was Flint driven down the mountain by the helicopter or was he captured at a trap and then loaded and trucked down to Britton Springs? Marilyn

  2. Barb Beck Says:

    There are just no words for the sadness I feel.

    • Sharon Crumb Says:

      Hey Barb, I have been praying for you along with all of these babies.

      I know you are in worse shape then I am.

      I am SO sick by all of this and really feeling betrayed by the government.

      Be strong, we will NOT give up.

      Prayers for all the horses, God be with them and keep them safe.

      American Freedom is definitely NOT for Americans.

  3. Shirley VerHoef Says:

    This is just so heart breaking. The gov. people doing this and the people they hire have no respect for God’s creatures. They have no empathy and do not understand science of genetics.
    They are selling Cloud’s MOTHER.!! Where will be the older horses to lead the young ones to where the good food and water is.
    This is just outrageous. I have written Ken Salazr, all the congress men I could find.
    NBC today show had a brief segment on it on Monday. I think you can find it on U Tube or My place.

  4. Barb Beck Says:

    Hi, Sharon. Thanks. Yes, I am beyond tired and exhausted, beyond tears. We have ALL tried so hard. We are all so upset. We have called, written, emailed, faxed our feelings about this. There must be hundreds and hundreds of communications to our government about this. THEY are not listening. Just UNBELIEVABLE.

    AND, as bad we all feel, can we possibly imagine how Ginger, Makendra, Valerie, and all of those at the Cloud Foundation are feeling? Ginger, who has known these horses for years and years, generation after generation. No, I cannot fathom how she deals with this.

    Yup, when we have drained our very last drop of energy, we will need to pick ourselves up off the floor, and continue to do what we are doing. We can NEVER stop.

    Prayers for these horses and for all who care about them!

    • Cynthia Says:

      If contacting the government officials does not help (petitions often end up in the trash, and all they have to do is erase the voice mails), what about airing public service announcements across the country? they can air as early as this week on a variety of channels, targeting a wider audience. Many people are proud of the icon of the American West, and if explained in a simple way and targeted to a variety of audiences, the spots might make a difference. Some stations might have free spots, if not, it is at a discounted rate because the foundation is a non profit. I also agree with the comment from Carole in the section “Bodler’s Filly Thin”.
      I have contacted sales execs in Los Angeles, started writing thirty second spots and and contacting industry people. I have not met a single person in Los Angeles who knows of the plight of the wild horses. But if it is explained in a simple way, having the general public informed on the matter would provide a stronger voice for change. And I do agree that the spots need to have a difference format than the regular show.

  5. Morgan Williams Says:

    Barb,

    I have been praying, seeking God’s wisdom & pleading for help. I feel so helpless and useless with my living so far away. I wrote to Valerie with Scriptures verses last week & this morning. She and I were able to talk several time last week especially during the court hearing – hoping for the best possible news. These Verses show just how much God cares for HIS creatures.

    Psalm 36: 5-6: Your mercy, O Lord, is in the heavens; Your faithfulness reaches to the clouds, Your righteousness is like the great mountains; Your judgments are a great deep; O Lord, You preserve man and beast.

    People may think me goofy that I pray so hard for animals (though I do spend more time on humans), especially when it seems God is not answering requests. Our eyes are limited in vision. This morning I felt very downhearted and almost surrendered to the crimes being committed by the BLM & it’s evil cohorts. I read this in Psalms:

    Psalm 141:8-10
    But my eyes are upon You, O God the Lord;
    In You I take refuge;
    Do not leave my soul destitute.
    Keep me form the snare they have laid for me,
    And from the traps of the workers of iniquity.
    Let the wicked fall into their own nets,
    While I escape safely.

    Psalm 142:5-7
    I cried out to You, O Lord:
    I said, “You are my refuge,
    My portion in the land of the living.
    Attend to my cry,
    For I am brough very low;
    Deliver me from my persecutors,
    For they are stronger than I.
    Bring my soul out of prison,
    That I may praise Your Name;
    The righteous shall surround me,
    For You shall deal bountifully with me.”

    I am using King David’s words for the Pryor Mountian horses, the Challis horses of Idaho, the horses & burros in holding pens and the October planned roundup in the Dakotas. I cry out on the horses behalf for rescue from their prison and the snares of the wicked. The prayers of the righteous can surround the horses.

    Because of my faith in God, I know He has ultimate control and authority. He will not forget the wickedness committed against His creation. Remember when Cain killed Abel? The EARTH cried out to God over the blood spilled. Scripture also says that if people keep quiet about the power of God Almighty, the rocks and trees will cry out.

    If a way was made, I would be out there right now to give all support I can give. I wish with all my heart I could have prayed with Ginger, the team and the Crow Indians. I watched the prayer ride and the ceremony Wednesday night. My spirit flew to the sky to be a part of this event. I have Cherokee heritage.

    I did a lot of research this morning on American Mustang history and other advocates of the mustang. I read a story about the “Saved Six” in Maine. I wonder if that is our only next step. Should the effort now be on buying up all the Pryor horses being sold?

    Morgan
    Wisconsin

  6. Marilyn Wargo Says:

    I am just getting back on some of the older posts. Mar

  7. DS Says:

    How dare they round up flint!!!!!

  8. Shirley VerHoef Says:

    I still wish the newer posts would show up first!

Leave a Reply

